Ratings based on 1,170 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester

Ideal Hotel for Hamburg

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Staff are excellent, good breakfast facilities, close to U-bahn station, close to restaurants and Opera
Cons: Rooms a bit bland, wood floors - could do with a rug throw on the floor.
Location: Close to restaurants, Opera, Kunsthalle - easy walking distance of old Hamburg
The Alster-Hof is ideally situated for central Hamburg. In fact, it's only a minute from the U-Bahn so an airport transfer is smooth and one-stop. The staff are very welcoming and helpful at all times. The breakfast room is very pleasant and well-laid out, with a wide choice. The bedroom we had was on the quiet side, large, with an excellent bathroom. Very comfortable sleep
5 out of 5
by Clare

Great hotel with excellent breakfast

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
I was able to check in early which was a lovely surprise. My single room on 5th floor was of a very good standard. The staff on Reception were very pleasant and helpful. Buffet breakfast was excellent and exceeded expectations. There was a great selection of fresh fruits, breads, jams, meats, cereals, bacon and eggs, cheese, juices. And the coffee was plentiful, as was hot milk. The staff in the breakfast room were very attentive and very pleasant. The location of the hotel is ideal, near a U station Stephanplatz, and within walking distance to the Rathaus. The Hamburg State Opera house is but a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Overall, I would highly recommend the Hotel Alster Hof for a city break.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Dukart, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your splendid review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel a lot! Kind regards, Team Alster-Hof
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds England

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Ebookers
Yards from u bahn short walk to shops. Next door to hofbrau haus
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
Always a great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Dukart, Hotel Management
Thank you very much!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Near the opera house.
Cons: Hot water supply (5th floor)
Location: Many good restaurants and bars nearby.
I came to Hamburg for the opera and looked for accommodation near the 'Staatsoper' and found this reasonably priced gem ... a short, 5 -10 minute walk away. Check-in (and out) was seamless with very helpful staff. My 'single' room, to the back of the hotel, was larger than my experience of European 'single' rooms and 'quiet' (if you exclude folks who cannot close a door quietly) ... with a very comfortable bed, a large amount of storage in cupboards and drawers and a good, reasonably priced minibar but intermittent 'hot' water needs attention. I did not take breakfast because I overslept (body clock toppsy turvey !) Nevertheless, when I return to Hamburg, this is where I shall stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Olga, Hotel Management
Dear guets, thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us! Kind regards, team Alster-Hof
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

Lovely hotel in fantastic location

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Central location and spacious room.
Cons: n/a
The hotel was perfect - lovely clean and spacious room, staff were extremely friendly and very efficient. The location was great, very short walk to the beautiful lake and really close to the main shopping area and restaurants. Breakfast was really good with a great selection of hot and cold food. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend it to anybody planning a trip to Hamburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Orbitz
It was very hot when we checked into the hotel. As there are no airconditioned rooms we were in a pretty uncomfortable position. When asked, Receptionist Martin was kind enough to get us a small table fan. This was a heavenly boon to alleviate the hot conditions, making our stay bearable in the heat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so good

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Poor wi-fi; very poor internet speed and you have to log in each time you check your device. Breakfast not that tasty although very good service. Room looks tidy but the toilet and bathtub weren't clean up to a hotel level. Room service nice and welcoming.
4 out of 5
by roshanak

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales UK

Lovely hotel good location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Great location would stay at hotel againdid tried to book for later in the year but fully booked