Ratings based on 1,913 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel couldn't be more central

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Hotel was excellent. Very helpful staff and very central to the city centre and all sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrington

good for a city break

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: clean tidy staff very good only slight complaint not enough coffee in the room
it is a good hotel as a base for a week in Hamburg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham, england

great location, top hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: everything, great stay.
Cons: maybe sell croissants , fruit and snacks in the spa,
Location: Great shopping , there is a bar, restaurant called" alex" on the water, great location to have a drink and take in the sights,
the staff were warm and friendly , especially in the seven heads bar and the little cafe inside the hotel. the swimming pool in the spa was brilliant. we stayed in a queen room, the bed was so comfortable.the sofitel alter wall is in a perfect location in hamburg for sight seeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Business stay for JOC conference

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Excellent, friendly hotel, great breakfast, Staff were awesome and location perfect . Look forward to my next stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The hotel is very nice, rooms are clean, staff is very friendly. The breakfast is very good. Location is perfect , all major sites are in walking distance and the Rathaus is just around the corner. The hotel also has nice terrace overlooking the a canal where you can have breakfast/lunch.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst checkin front desk & found socks in room

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We did not end up staying in the hotel. Even though we paid for 2 nights and Expedia has still not responded to our complaint. Upon arrival at the front desk, the receptionist JULIANE, was extremely rude and unprofessional. When I gave her the check in name, she could not find the name, and insisted I booked under another name, I then showed her the Expedia booking where it showed clearly that the booking was in my name. After looking at the booking she typed into the computer and said oh yes I found it! But your booking isn't for today! Today is the 29th! Your booking is for the 30th. I corrected her and clearly gave her my phone to see the booking was on the 30th and told her that today was the 30th. my husband asked her if it was possible to get a room with the river view after checking she said it would be possible with a fee of 30 + euros a night. My husband kindly asked if it was possible to get that upgrade without a fee, (as he was in shock of the unprofessionalism and is only natural for her to have even suggested an upgrade due to her mistakes) her reply was "and why would I do that"? My husband accepted the fee and said we will take the river view room. The receptionist then called the Filipino Man To take us to our rooms (ONLY employee that was Professional deserves to manage them all)When we got to the room we found left over socks from the guest before us in the bathroom, when we showed julian her reaction was rude and said nothing can be done
4 out of 5
by Grant

Service is awful

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
The bed is fantastic, the bathroom as well. The 'free bottled water' as sent by hotels.com is a lie. It is a 'welcome bottle (single) of water'. None of the staff except the rude Person on duty who laughed in my face seemed to know that. The coffee in the room was either not there or only enough for one person. The spa was good and relaxing. I don't think I will go back there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Superb hotel centrally located great for high end shops,although not local to many restaurants and bars if you like to stay local
5 out of 5
by William

Good hotel and location - stairs for all

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
This is a good business hotel on a quiet street in the heart of the city. It was excellent -- except for one thing. The hotel appears to be built in two buildings which have different floor-to-ceiling heights. What this means is that after you get off the elevator you will have something like 4 or 5 stairs to negotiate to get to the rooms-wing/building. i have no idea how they handle handicapped guests. Also there was not bellman on duty when we checked in on a Sunday night so we had to handle these stairs ourselves.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad. Only got it for the location

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Location was great. Staff were great.
Cons: Room service menu.
Bathroom had a wierd glass wall. The "art" photos in the rooms and hallways were not nice. I have been to Sofitel London and chose this hotel based on that stay, and the location. Was disappointed. Even breakfast and roomservice menu were not nice. Staff were great though. Very helpful and spoke english. Clean rooms.