Ratings based on 1,908 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Okay for the price, but it is not a 5*

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Ideal location, across the road from the metro station and high end shopping district (Neuer Wall). Friendly staff, clean and spacious room, but the WiFi was incredibly slow and the hotel itself is not up to 5 star standards. I only stayed here for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Bernd A. Zängle, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your review. We are very happy to hear about your satisfaction because of our central location and our service quality. On the other side, we are very sad to learn about your inconveniences because of our WiFi and hotel equipment and we really would like to apologize for them. We will discuss your points of concern with our team, to avoid such situations in the future and ensure our guests enjoy the best service. Furthermore we would like to point out that we are already planning the renovation of the hotel! It would be the greatest pleasure to welcome you again soon. Best regards from Hamburg Bernd A. Zängle General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from preston

excellent hotel, central location

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: loved the location and the atmosphere
Cons: possibly tea and coffee facilities could be provided in the room.......
Location: great location within easy walking distance of many shopping areas, bars and restaurants......
very friendly and helpful staff.....very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. hotel very clean and in good location over looking canals etc.....close to shops bars and restaurants.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Bernd A. Zängle, Hotel Management
Dear Victor, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your positive review. We are very happy to hear about all your satisfactions! For us as hoteliers with passion, guest satisfaction is the most important achievement! On the other side , we are very sad to learn about your inconveniences and we really would like to apologize for them. We will discuss your points of concerne with our team, to avoid such situations in the future and ensure our guests enjoythe best service. It would be the greatest pleasure to welcome you again soon. Best regards from Hamburg Bernd A. Zängle General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Excellent location and service. Friendly staff and very prompt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Bernd A. Zängle, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your positive review. We are very happy to learn about your satisfactions because of our servicequality! For us as hoteliers with passion, guest satisfaction is the most important. It would be the greatest pleasure to welcome you again soon. Best regards from Hamburg Bernd A. Zängle General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Wunderbar

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean and comfortable.
Location: Harbor tour, Miniatur Wunderland, Hamburg History Museum
Excellent location for visiting the main sites of Hamburg. Breakfast is pricey, but there's an excellent, very reasonably priced bakery just over the bridge a short distance away, which offers more than just sweets. Just across the courtyard is a wonderful, reasonably priced restaurant. The hotel's restaurant and bistro also offer a nice selection of meal options and beverages, more reasonably priced than the breakfast. The S-Bahn, which goes to the airport, is a very easy walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Bernd A. Zängle, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your positive review! We are very happy to learn about your satisfactions because of our hotels services!! For us as hoteliers with passion, guest satisfaction is the most importent issue. We really hope you have spent a view wonderful days in Hamburg. It would be the greatest pleasure to welcome you again soon. Best regards from Hamburg Bernd A. Zängle General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Good location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
A pleasant stay in a lovely hotel -very central. There was an issue when we were first arrived in that our room was only set up for one person - 1 single duvet /1 set of pillows/1bath towel etc etc. We told reception on our way out and housekeeping had sorted it by the time we had returned. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that but found the staff helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Bernd A. Zängle, Hotel Management
Dear Ali, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your review. We are very sad to learn about your inconveniences and we really would like to apologize for them. We will discuss your points of concerne with our team, to avoid such situations in the future and assure our guests get the best service. It would be the greatest pleasure to welcome you again soon. Best regards from Hamburg Bernd A. Zängle General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
It was great hotel great location great serves begroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Lovely hotel very central

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very central location, ideal for sightseeing bus trips, river trips, shopping, The Dungeons were a must and all within walking distance.
Came to watch the Iron Man race the first that Hamburg have hosted. Ideally situated as within walking distance of all that we wanted to see and do. We have had an amazing time, the hotel was spotless, well appointed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again, loved Hamburg, the Dungeons were great, terrifying and fun all at the same time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

5 star

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Orbitz
The Steigenberger hotel was wonderful. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff friendly and great location.
3 out of 5
by oren

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
Bad internet connection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Bernd, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your feedback. We are very sad to learn about your inconveniences because of the internet connection and we really would like to apologize for them. We will discuss your points of criticism with our team, to avoid such situations in the future and ensure our guests enjoy the best service. It would be the greatest pleasure to welcome you again soon. Best regards from Hamburg Bernd A. Zängle General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable hotel in very central ocation

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and well equipped bathrooms
Cons: Decor could be updated but I heard that the hotel will soon under-go refurbishment
Location: Very central; near the smartest shops, the Innenalster lake and also the Speicherstadt and the new philharmonic hall.
Although somewhat bland the Steigenberger is a very comfortable hotel with spacious rooms most of which have views over waterways with excellent service and courteous, friendly and professional staff. The location is very central and convenient for both shopping and the attractions of Speicherstadt and the new philharmonic hall, the Elbphilharmonie