Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Cozy, comfortable accommodation

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Room space, cleanliness and comfort. Not the best location aesthetically (Altona), but good in the sense that it's close to transportation and the CBD
Cons: Add conditioner to bathroom amenities. Iron and ironing board for every room and coffee and tea can be included.
Location: Location isn't the most pleasing aesthetically, but it's convenient as it is close to public transport. Very accessible from airport and CBD.
Only 15-20 minutes by taxi from the airport. Located in Altona, Hamburg, which is less than 10 minutes by train to the CBD. Quick and easy check-in with friendly staff who speak fluent English and who are very helpful. The room had generous amount of space and a king sized bed. The ambiance is both cozy and comfortable. Buffet breakfast is a must with a wide selection. It's also a 2 minute walk from the grocery store and 5 minutes from the bus and train stations and taxi rank. If required, staff can call on taxi to pick you up from the hotel. Will definitely consider staying at this hotel again next time I'm in Hamburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Such a friendly hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Clean comfortable and especially welcoming
Cons: Some brighter lighting, softer toilet paper!!
Location: We are great walkers so walked all over the city, went to the art museum, the river, the lake and the most beautiful gardens Planten in Blumen.
The hotel staff were all so friendly and welcoming, the hotel was clean and very pleasant but our stay in Hamberg was during a very wet, dark and cloudy weekend and I found the dim lighting throughout the hotel a bit too dim. I do understand the aim to provide a pleasant ambience but it would have been good to be able to make our room bright when needed. Breakfast was lovely and for us visiting our son nearby the location was perfect. Transport is close, clear and easy to use with all announcements also in English, one of the most welcoming cities I have ever been to, well done the locals of Hamberg
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Nice rooms, friendly staff
Cons: Pillows, adding a treadmill to the fitness center
Location: Nice location, quiet, many options for dining within walking distance.
Very nice hotel rooms in a quiet area. The friendliest and most helpful hotel staff that I have encountered in a while.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Very Nice Boutique Hotel, with Great Service

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The level of personalized service is commendable. The size of the room was great, the quality of food also great.
Cons: The rooms need to have air conditioning, better pillow selection and very important is to have many more ENGLISH TV channels, than ONLY CNN!!!
Location: Not much to do.
Boston Hotel, is a very well run boutique hotel in Hamburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Grant from Alberta

Enjoyable and productive stay on business.

Posted Jul 30, 2013
I picked this hotel because of its location to a company I was visiting. While outside the downtown core, the amenities to this hotel were terrific. Train station was across the street and a 10 minute walk put you in the middle of a variety of restaurants and shops. I also chose this hotel because of the excellent reviews on the internet access which is not accompanied with a surcharge. The connection was very good and I used it heavily to conduct my business which is mostly done on remote access. Very impressed with this aspect of the hotel. Staff was great. Stayed in a suite on the 4th floor that was massive and the cleanliness was terrific. While there wasn't A/C, the June temperature and humidity could be tolerated with generous opening windows and a fan provided in the room. Very much enjoyed the stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gavin from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC), 776 North Terminal Drive, Salt Lake City, UT 84116, USA

Great hotel with great amenities!

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Pros: We really enjoyed the room which had a huge tub which easily fits two adults, the gym was awesome!, and the breakfast was great. Wi-fi was super fast.
Cons: Had to get internet access codes every 24 hours and sometimes had to enter them every time you log in and they are not easy numbers to remember.
Location: A little outside of the main flow of things, but not a scary area. Area was scary looking at first, but after being there it wasn't.
This Hotel was awesome! We really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was fantastic with all kinds of juice, meats, eggs, granola, yogurt, etc. It was great! The other reason we chose this Hotel was for the exercise facility which appeared to be good in the pictures and it was in person as well. The gym was more than sufficient to get a good workout with dumbells up to 20Kg each, a sauna, and huge shower and lounge are as well. The staff all spoke english very well, and the Wi-fi was very fast as well. The only thing that was a little scary about this hotel was that their was quite a bit of grafitti outside the hotel on neighboring buildings, but the longer we were there the more we realized that it was nothing to worry about. We never felt scared walking around in that area. The train station is 1 block away and there is a big Grocery Store even closer, along with a couple little restaurants including a pizzeria. The walk into the city center is only an hour and provides plenty of things to see along the walk. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any of you looking for a great hotel at an affordable price. Oh, and one last thing that I really liked about this hotel was the fact that there was not a million rooms. I think there were 4 or 5 floors total, and each floor had probably 10-12 rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boston Hotel - March 2013

Posted Mar 25, 2013
The hotel overall was good. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff were all extremely pleasant and efficient. The restaurant and room service meals were very good and of high quality. In terms of drawbacks, the first floor (where they have the hotel rooms, not the lobby, or restaurant area) smelled of cigarette smoke. Also, the buffet breakfast was limited. Not enough vegetable dishes, mostly just dairy and meat products.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Florida

Delightful stay

Posted Oct 22, 2011
It was such a treat to check into this delightful hotel. We were greeted upon arrival by cheerful staff and a glass of something slightly alcoholic and restorative after our long trip there. The room was spacious, clean, well equipped and included wifi. We had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast the next morning. Everything was wonderful. Our only regret was not being able to spend another night there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA. US

A truly pleasant experience

Posted Mar 12, 2010
The design of the hotel sets it apart. It is modern but fits comfortably with its classic surroundings. The rooms and public areas consistently reflect a simple posh luxurious exclusiveness while still maintaining a soothing cozy non-fussy atmosphere. The complimentary wireless access was reliable anywhere within the hotel. Even the basic rooms had soaking tubs & a mini-refrigerator. I would recommend the hotel consider offering in the future an in-room coffee/tea station. The food was outstanding in taste and very attractively prepared, although limited in vegetarian items. On all levels I was treated by staff with the utmost professionalism, they demonstrated a genuine pleasure and pride in offering the very best. Balancing outgoing assistance, attentiveness and polite discretion. My trip was for pleasure however the small hosts of business professionals using the other hotel services seemed quite pleased. The staff is quick to call a taxi at all hours or you will find there is a taxi waiting area just a short stroll away in addition to the public transportation. The neighborhood itself is quiet. If you are fit and the weather is good it is possible to walk as far as Planten un Blomen however most other area attractions were too far to be reached via walking. A trade off to a good quiet nights sleep perhaps. I will certainly be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2009
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. It was also within walking distance to the S-bahn.