Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Nice hotel and close to the subway station

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: I like the location, the service, attention and willing to solve any issue. The checkin and checkout process was very fast.
Cons: The lifts starts on first floor so climb the stairs could be a problem for some people.
Location: Close to Altona, there are a place called Mercado where you can find a lot of stuff to buy, also the bus station is just a block away from the hotel.
The location of the hotel is one of the best pros. Very close to the Altona subway station and a lot of easy access of buses and other transportation. The 24 hours service is also great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

low cost, but good value

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The room had a nice warm electric storage heater. I spent a lot of time sitting in front of it.
Cons: The concierge requested that I leave the key in the hotel every time I leave. Meaning you couldn't get in and out unseen.
Location: This is within a two minute walk of Altona station. Lots of food and shopping opportunities very close nearby, and excellent public transportation.
This was a hotel at the lower end of the cost spectrum. Thus I knew I'd probably have to compromise a bit, but it was actually not so bad. A bit worn down, but it had everything I needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Good Location. Very close to Altona Station.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: The breakfast is the same every single day.
Location: Very good location. On one side there is a park, on the other there is a shopping centre. Just 300 meters away is the Altona station
I stayed seven nights in a single room at the end of July. Though I requested a quiet room, the room I received was on the street side and it was very noisy. It was impossible to close the window since it was very hot. The second day I told the manager that I couldn't sleep due to the noise all night. He promised to move me to a quiet one soon as there was a vacancy. He was kind enough to move me to a double room without extra pay on the fourth night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
nice hotel within walking distance of altona railway station from where one can get to almost everywhere in hamburg with the s-bahn, good people there with nice service, good variety at breakfast table. Only draw back was I had to leave the bathroom door open to sit on toilet, but all in all good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location, decent place, good breakfast

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: Location. Price. Breakfast.
Cons: The whole hotel is getting a bit old.
Location: Altona is full of shops and restaurants. (They now have Ikea!) Try Past & Co. in Mercado, the best fresh pasta in the world at great price.
I stayed here before as I quite like to stay near Mercado shopping centre, and this place is only 5 min away from that, and 4 min away from the station. Staff is always nice and rooms are reasonably priced. The place is getting on a bit and has a mixture of dated feeling and homely atmosphere. The place is not fashionable in anyway but is cozy. Serves good breakfast in a dining room made with glass block walls filled with impressively large house plants which makes you feel at home. Room is always comfy and warm though they could do a bit more dusting on shelves etc. Tiny bathroom with plenty shower gel. Wifi is there but can be weak depending on the room location. There is NO lift. You leave room key at the reception which is open 24 hrs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from England

Hugely overpriced

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: 24 hour reception, generally friendly staff.
Cons: Prices, level of finish in the rooms (currently not even a kettle) - as somewhat spartan and basic.
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants in Altona, also some good places to eat fish down on the quayside.
This hotel is located in the trendy area of Hamburg called Altona, but it is pretty basic and room prices can be hugely over-inflated given the level of comfort offered. It is a little tired and almost verges towards being a hostel. However, there are few other options in this part of the city and so I have needed to use it several times, even though I would have preferred not to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erica from UK

Convenient location

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Location.
Location: If you like pasta you have to try "Pasta & Co." stand in Mercado. Their fresh pasta is gorgeous!!
Hotel is less than 5 min away from Altona station, nearby which is a decent shopping mall (Mercado) and many other shops. Hotel itself was very basic, with warm and comfortable room, with minimum facility (shower gel/hand soap, towels). Shower was small but not excessively. My room had fridge and bottle opener, which made me smile as I haven't seen those in any hotels in recent stay. Breakfast was included and wasn't luxurious but more than enough, with bread, cereals, cold cuts, juice, tea and coffee. The only downside is that hotel has front steps and no elevator, so if you have heavy luggage you need to drag it up. Oh, and the room door is not auto-lock, so you need to lock it when leaving. Overall pleasant stay, and would go back there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kiel

Enttäuschend

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Die Lage.
Location: Altona Bahnhof
Gut bzw. okay: + Personal freundlich + Frühstück ausreichend + Zimmer sauber + Schlafkomfort okay + Lage gut ---------------------------- Schlecht bzw. enttäuschend: - kein Fahrstuhl (Zimmer im 3. Stock) - verwohnte Zimmereinrichtung - Minibar leer - Heizung im Zimmer abgeschaltet, obgleich Winterzeit - keine Heizung im Bad - Bad roch leicht feucht - WLAN extrem langsam (überlastet?) und nicht Passwort geschützt (!!!) - Hoteleinrichtung insgesamt offenbar seit den 80er/90er Jahren nicht erneuert; sogar Bürostuhl des Personals abgewetzt und kaputt - muffiger Teppich im ganzen Haus - extrem hellhörig; man kann Zimmernachbarn beim Duschen, Husten und Toilettengang ungewollt belauschen - Fenster nicht schallisoliert; laute Straße
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Bahnhofsnähe

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Die Lage.
Cons: Ja, besser lüften!
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in der Nähe des Bahnhofs Hamburg Altona. Von hier aus kann man viele Restaurants oder Bars besuchen. Sehr zentral.
Ich kam im Hotel an und wollte mein Einzelzimmer beziehen, bekam den Schlüssel und in diesem Zimmer stand schon bereits ein Koffer. Danach bekam ich ein anderes Zimmer im Erdgeschoss. Hier stank es nach Reinigungsmittel o.ä. Ab ca. 6.30 Uhr Geklapper mit Frühstücksgeschirr. Der Kaffee schmeckte übel, zumal der Gestank alles überwog. Alles in allem nicht zu empfehlen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Naehe Bahnhof Altona,

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Fruehstuecksbueffet
Cons: funktionierende Heizung im Winter, Wenn der Nachbar duschte hoert man das Wasseran die Wand spritzen.
Location: Naehe Bahnhof Altona
Personal freundlich, Bei der Elektrospeicherheizung funktionierte das Geblaese nicht, zum duschen bei Aussentemperaturen um 0 Grad war es einfach zu kalt im Zimmer.Mit Trainingsanzug wars um etwas ferngucken ok . Fruehstueck war sehr reichlich und top.