Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location, price, comfort
Location: Cafes
This little hotel is the perfect stay. It is central to a lovely area in Hamburg, lots of things to do, close to the train. It is really good value for the low price they are charging. Breakfast was wonderful, the staff friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Ashwin

Nice hotel very close to Altona station

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Pros - Location wise this is a very good hotel with just few mins walk to main Altona station. This is only few stops from city centre and Central station so becomes very convinient to travel. Good breakfast included. Cons - No lift on the hotel, so have to carry all luggage until the 3rd floor where my room was. Didnt get a room with master bed, so have to stay with 2 twin beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Nice hotel and close to the subway station

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: I like the location, the service, attention and willing to solve any issue. The checkin and checkout process was very fast.
Cons: The lifts starts on first floor so climb the stairs could be a problem for some people.
Location: Close to Altona, there are a place called Mercado where you can find a lot of stuff to buy, also the bus station is just a block away from the hotel.
The location of the hotel is one of the best pros. Very close to the Altona subway station and a lot of easy access of buses and other transportation. The 24 hours service is also great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

low cost, but good value

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The room had a nice warm electric storage heater. I spent a lot of time sitting in front of it.
Cons: The concierge requested that I leave the key in the hotel every time I leave. Meaning you couldn't get in and out unseen.
Location: This is within a two minute walk of Altona station. Lots of food and shopping opportunities very close nearby, and excellent public transportation.
This was a hotel at the lower end of the cost spectrum. Thus I knew I'd probably have to compromise a bit, but it was actually not so bad. A bit worn down, but it had everything I needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Varberg, Sweden

Fair price and good service

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed two nights with a my brother. Good size of the room, and a good breakfast. Very kind and friendly staff! A little bit noisy on the streets,but overall good value for the money. Good communication, with close distance to S-bahn and grocery store.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Good Location. Very close to Altona Station.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: The breakfast is the same every single day.
Location: Very good location. On one side there is a park, on the other there is a shopping centre. Just 300 meters away is the Altona station
I stayed seven nights in a single room at the end of July. Though I requested a quiet room, the room I received was on the street side and it was very noisy. It was impossible to close the window since it was very hot. The second day I told the manager that I couldn't sleep due to the noise all night. He promised to move me to a quiet one soon as there was a vacancy. He was kind enough to move me to a double room without extra pay on the fourth night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
nice hotel within walking distance of altona railway station from where one can get to almost everywhere in hamburg with the s-bahn, good people there with nice service, good variety at breakfast table. Only draw back was I had to leave the bathroom door open to sit on toilet, but all in all good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location, decent place, good breakfast

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: Location. Price. Breakfast.
Cons: The whole hotel is getting a bit old.
Location: Altona is full of shops and restaurants. (They now have Ikea!) Try Past & Co. in Mercado, the best fresh pasta in the world at great price.
I stayed here before as I quite like to stay near Mercado shopping centre, and this place is only 5 min away from that, and 4 min away from the station. Staff is always nice and rooms are reasonably priced. The place is getting on a bit and has a mixture of dated feeling and homely atmosphere. The place is not fashionable in anyway but is cozy. Serves good breakfast in a dining room made with glass block walls filled with impressively large house plants which makes you feel at home. Room is always comfy and warm though they could do a bit more dusting on shelves etc. Tiny bathroom with plenty shower gel. Wifi is there but can be weak depending on the room location. There is NO lift. You leave room key at the reception which is open 24 hrs.
4 out of 5
by E from London

Room

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
I have had a Total Knee Replacement but I was give a room on the second floor with 25 steps to climb to access my room. It was difficult.
3 out of 5
by Martin from Dossenheim

Practical accommodation, but not more

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a long weekend. Knowing the area, we selected this hotel for it's practical location close to Altona train station, away enough from the city centre to escape the tourist crowds, but still located in a lively neighbourhood with shops and restaurants. Compared to the downtown hotels, this hotel is reasonably priced, though not cheap either. However, given the basic room equipment and size, the price seems even too high. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The breakfast is simple but okay. The free wireless works stably and sufficiently fast for email and internet. Our warning when booking: The offered 'standard double room with one bed' turns out to become a 'preference' in the booking confirmation. We did not notice this and ended up with two single beds, and were not excited about it. Since the hotel was fully booked, no chance for room change. I still wonder whether the way the rooms are offered on the hotels.com web page is fully correct.