Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Wonderful luxurious experience

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: location, comfort
Cons: the room keys were terrible. 3 times we entered and left our rooms and 3 times we couldn't get into our room and had to get help.
Location: food, cafes, river cruise
a night of luxury at a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to the best shopping areas.

Posted Sep 27, 2015
The staff is excellent and multi-lingual. The rooms are beautifully done and the hotel includes an excellent fitness center and a full service spa. further, there are 3 restaurants, with different themes, on the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quality

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: peaceful location, coffee machine and storage for cups etc, staff, lots of coat hangers in wardrobe
Cons: opening the room door was difficult, shower was too small, bed too short
Location: Alste lake trip/ river trip/ Museum of Hamburg are top suggestions
High class, not cheap (especially breakfast), unfailingly polite and helpful staff, lovely bathroom/towels/bed, Dining was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Very friendly stuff, very cozy rooms Amazing location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
The rooms were unbelievable- huge with chandeliers and bathrooms as big as rooms in some european hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

Wonderful hotel-Excellent Location

Posted Jul 10, 2015
This hotel was quite representative of a the Fairmont Brand. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The location was excellent, right on the lake. The rooms were beautifully decorated. There were a wide variety of restaurants nearby. If we return to Hamburg, we would absolutely return to the Fairmont.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Classy hotel within walking distance of sights

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: This hotel had a nice atmosphere, the staff were helpful, and it was within walking distance of the river, attractions and shops.
Cons: We found it a bit tiresome to have to hand in the bulky key every time we went out, then have to ask for it and give our name when we returned.
Location: See above
We were visiting friends in Hamburg, so only used this hotel for somewhere to sleep. The room was comfortable, but a bit old fashioned. The bathroom was quite large, and well lit. We didn't have breakfast as it was rather expensive, but popped down the road for a coffee and croissant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Skipton UK

Good hotel with plenty of luxury

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Facilities in room were very good.
Cons: Being given a choice on use of towels.
Location: Good location overlooking lake. Shopping readily available. Sailing on lake. Excursions on lake. Within walking distance of places of interest.
Good hotel with a real luxurious feel. Pleasant very helpful staff,nothing too much trouble for them. Little concerned about environmental aspect of some of the hotel practices eg changing towels with no option to say prepared to use again, although this option available for bed linen. On the whole would stay here again, especially as so close to venue I was attending.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Best in Hamburg

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Absolutely one of the best hotels in the world for classic old world style and elegance. The service is unparalleled. Hamburg's jewel. My third stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A memorable four Days to remember.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Although the hotel has been newly refurbished, it has kept the elegance and comfort of the past.
Location: Hotel is directly opposite the Lake,, There are always Taxis or buses outside the front of the hotel and someone to give help and advice if needed.
12August2014 We had a wonderful four days in Hamburg, thanks to all the attentive service of everyone in the Hotel Fairmont. Reception was particularly helpful with ideas and advice which made our stay even better All our meals in the hotel were delicious and we hope to make a return visit in th future