Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincy

Great place for families.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Lots of kids activities. Peep/marshmallow roasting, movie nights, Easter egg coloring and nice pool:outdoor hot tub all added to experience. Good food, sometime took extra time but great quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback, vlad! We hope you and your family join us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Morris Plains, NJ

Luxurious but pricey

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Close to Mountain Creek for skiing. The hotel staff are super friendly and helpful. great for families. The biosphere is super.
There is everything you could ever want at Grand Cascades Lodge. The rooms are comfortable, the food is great, and the entertainment for the children is fantastic. You get what you pay for 😊
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morristown, NJ

OK Hotel that Needs Updating/Better Maintenance.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Good remote/pretty location, excellent upscale restaurant (Latour).
Cons: The maintenance of the hotel needs a great amount of improvement.
Location: Golf (in the nicer weather), and skiing/snow sports in the wintertime (when there's snow).
Stayed here because we were going to Restaurant Latour for dinner for my wife's birthday. The restaurant experience was excellent. The hotel itself needs better maintenance and some major updating. While the room was spacious (we had a suite), but it was very tired. The carpet needs to be replaced. There was a hole in the arm of the chair in the living room. The cabinets in both the kitchen and bathroom were beat up, and had a fair amount of chipped paint. The room decorations also need to be updated. The bed was comfortable enough, and the bathroom was on the larger size. Overall, the hotel has potential, but needs to maintained a lot better and also needs to be updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Amazing hotel but disappointed with the Biosphere

Posted Jan 26, 2017
The hotel is great and the staff is very friendly, specially the valet service guys. The room was clean and comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed fireplace and the views from our suite. However, Biosphere Complex was a disappointment, specially because it was the single reason why we chose this hotel. The pool was never warm during my entire stay. They claim it is kept at 85F year round but it is not true. I understand that during the week it is not as busy as during the weekend but I expected more from a AAA Four Diamond hotel. I was there for 4 nights: On Tuesday the pool was cool but ok. The complex was also cool because the hot tubs were being repaired and the crew kept going in and out allowing the cool air in. It was supposed to close at 2 pm for an event but by 12 they were placing cables by the pool and testing the sound and I was not in the mood to risk being electrocuted while pregnant. On Wednesday the pool was COLD. About 5 couples were cramped in the small indoor/outdoor pool because it was decently warm but cooler than the day before. That pool was also dirty during my entire stay btw (dirty tissues, pens). After that, I was discouraged to go to the pool on Thursday. On Friday the temperature was pleasant (not 85). It was the only day really enjoyed but it was also check-out day. The pool bar was not opened for lunch midweek (except Friday) so we had to leave the complex and get changed to eat somewhere else and ended up not coming back to the pool. Sad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great get away!

Posted Jan 25, 2017
My fiancé and I stayed here over the weekend. It exceeded my expectations. I was very impressed by the full kitchen, washer/ dryer and fire place in our suite. It felt like a home away from home. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that only one restaurant on site is open weekdays and Sunday's. Not too big of a deal though. A big plus is that it's 5 minutes away from mountain creek, for those who like to ski/ snowboard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E Windsor, NJ

Best place in NJ

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Beautiful rooms and views. Great service and amenities.
4 out of 5
by Nadia

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at the Grand Cascades was great. The service was excellent and the rooms were large and clean. The only thing that I found disappointing was the pool temperature was actually pretty chilly. It states the pool is at 88 degrees but felt more like 68 therefore I didn't do much swimming.
5 out of 5
by Rebecca

Beautiful location with great amenities

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
This location has great amenities and many activities for kids and adults during their stay. The sitting lounges and fireplaces throughout the hotel are warm and inviting. Food is expensive and service is slow but it was delicious; the wine cellar collection is impressive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denville

Christmas break!

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything!!!!!
Cons: Can use small café in the lobby, just for quick meals with the kids. Tavern is Awesome but pricey for a quick bite!
Location: Great location to everything!
Beautiful, with all the lights and Christmas trees. Close to the mountain for, snowboarding and tubing!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels