Ratings based on 1,094 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

good location close to the lakes & railway station

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: housekeeping and mini bar daily checking
Location: lakes, railway station, shopping centre and walking street...
everything is good but a staff came to check mini bar everyday seperately that should have been together with house keeping. and the house keeping not take away the empty shampoos and gels and somedays forget to place the bottle water and chocolate in the room. wifi conecting is somehow complicated with users above 2 devices.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, CAN

Very nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Very nice hotel, well located to discover Hamburg.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ganei Tikva. Israel

My wife 50's birthday

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Thanks for wonderful weekend. Nice, big & confortable room. Excellent breakfast, very charming staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Location: Sehr zentral gelegen.
Rundum schönes klassisches Hotel mit freundlichen Service. Sehr schönes Frühstückstbuffet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Hotel staff are always going out of their way to provide the best service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Köln

Schönes Hotel an der Alster

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Zimmer war schon besetzt. Zimmer nicht sauber. Schlüssel funktionierte mehrfach nicht...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex,UK

A wonderful hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Cons: The only tiny downside was that there was not tea in the room only coffee.The upside is that the tea range is great and the tea is served properly!
Location: Easy to walk into Hamburg. The Altser Lake is right opposite the hotel where you can sit and have a glass of wine
I stayed at the hotel for four nights. I found the staff to be wonderfully polite and accommodating. The bars are so comfortable that I spent more time in them that I intended. The room was a pleasure and the bed extremely comfortable. I found that this hotel was different from in the same price range in that I felt I was being given a wonderful German hug.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from innsbruck

Lebt vom guten Namen

Posted Jul 17, 2016
War wirklich enttäuschend! Selten so einen schlechten Spa Bereich vorgefunden! Unfreundlich! Keine Handtücher, dreckiger Saunabereich, Türe lässt sich nur unter Gewalt öffnen, duschvorhänge aus Plastik (dachte das gibt's gar nicht mehr?). Jede x beliebige frühstückspension hat einen besseren Sauna/poolbereich-->Spa darf man sowas nicht nennen. Das Beste war der sogenannte Fitnessraum! Mich wundert es, dass sich hier das Management nicht schämt! Wie Hier 5s Sterne vergeben werden können ist mir schleierhaft! Es gab aber auch Dinge die ok waren: +Zimmer geräumig, schönes Bad +Gebäude +Lage +Personal war sehr bemüht +tolle Lobby und bar negativ: -Pool -Spa ??? -Fitness -Zimmer hellhörig Ich kann das Hotel nicht weiterempfehlen! Preis/Leistung stimmt hier für uns nicht! Sind hier auf den guten Namen hereingefallen!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great classic hotel on the Alster

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Bar was nice, room was great. Excellent location.
Cons: Gym was terrible. Free internet was not usable -- they charge 3 euro for an upgrade. When I pay $500 I should not be charged 3 euro for internet!
Location: Great location on lake and near city center.
Beautiful room and common spaces. Gym was unusable - very disappointing for a hotel of this caliber and expense.
5 out of 5
by Leif Chr

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels