Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
It was all fine. ☺
4 out of 5
by Guido

Hotel near Altona

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
I was looking for a hotel next to Altona translation to have easy access to the local public transportation system. The hotel is together with the Best Western next door. Reception is in the Best Western, breakfast in the Hotel Central. Makes getting to the rooms a bit strange; take the elevator to the third floor, then walk a long hallway and take the stairs down. Breakfast was very good, rooms were large, everything is clean. Beds are a little short (2m, I am 195cm). The rooms were surprisingly quiet with the windows closed. Not so with windows open.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall good

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Location is great, although the room is a little bit too small. Overall it's good.
3 out of 5
by Graham from Diss, Norfolk. UK

Reasonable price

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
Chose hotel because of price and location. Ticked those boxes. Central Hotel is an annexe of the Best Western next door. You check in there and walk along the corridor through to the Central - you will see the décor change. Room dated, bathroom had a strange odour about it the first night but better second. Still clean and functional. TV didn't have a signal the second night.
3 out of 5
by Asa from Stockport

Basic room but clean with decent service

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
This was a fairly basic hotel attached the Best Western next door. The room was small. The bathroom was tiny. All very clean though and the service was fine.
4 out of 5
by Amira

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: location mostly
Cons: serve coffee all day
had a pleasant stay but would have like to get coffee and rolls up to our room in the morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to centre of Altona area of Hamburg

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Location right by train station and very close to the centre of Altona. If you are staying in Altona, once a independent city, it is fine but a bit far (15mns by metro) to the centre of Hamburg. Very good and complete breakfast but everything else was just average.
5 out of 5
by David from DFW

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I had booked here at the last minute based on good reviews, although I had second thoughts since it is near a train station (Hamburg Altona). But the street it's on is quiet and clean, there is a good Turkish restaurant at the corner. My stay was 2 nights, both were very quiet (in many hotels, there is usually an annoying combination of scraping noises and footfalls from upper floors). There is some noise from the trains and announcements, but not an issue with the windows closed. The room was spotless, generally what I expect from hotels in Germany or Switzerland. The bathroom was a bit cramped, which is also typical for European hotels. Location next to Altona station was great for catching an early train to Munich (since the train stops here before the main Hauptbahnhof, there are more empty seats that haven't been reserved). Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely consider this hotel again if I am staying in the Hamburg-Altona area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Adequate accommodation for a short stay

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: The location... excellent. Reasonable rate, comfortable accommodation.
Cons: A lift or some assistance to the floor that extends past the lift. As a female travelling on their own I struggled with my bag up the stairs.
Location: Good variety of shops, excellent mall, close to train and metro station. Good for walking around, nice and flat. Close to good Xmas markets.
I have stayed here on every visit to Germany over the past 4 years. The hotel is exactly what is says - centrally located, very handy to a good variety of shops, a couple of lovely Xmas markets and the metro and train station. The room was small and comfortable, just suitable for a single person to base themselves at. I found all staff members, with the exception of one on reception on one occasion, to be very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately this one staff member decided I did not know what I was talking about when asked if they could help me get the address to supply to the taxi, of my next location to stay. However, I had stayed there many time before so knew exactly what I was talking about... when they finally looked it up for me, as I was firm but insistent, there was no apology forthcoming, but just a wave of the hand for me to go away. I found this distressing as I was a female travelling on my own. Upon me leaving she was very friendly, I would like to think this was an apology. I would however, still recommend this hotel to others. I don't feel that the one instance on this visit out weighs all the good and I am happy to stay there next year.