Ratings based on 517 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Wonderful hotel for seeing Hamburg!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The style of the hotel is beautiful and really feels like a home rather than a cold hotel. The staff are warm and friendly and check-in was easy. The breakfast looked and smelled amazing!
Cons: If you find it hard to climb stairs, just be aware that there's no elevator. Nothing terrible to climb- but just not suitable for some. The area doesn't feel very safe at night so just be aware if you're traveling alone, like I was. Again, nothing terrible, just be aware of that.
Location: The hotel is very close to the main station and you can reach all the main attractions and shops easily! A perfect base to explore Hamburg!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel close to transportation

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: It has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Has a convenient location to transportation.
Cons: It would be nice to have an elevator to get to upper levels.
Location: It's a 10 minutes walk to Moenckebergstr., the main shopping area that leads to the historical City Hall and to Lake Alster for boat tours.
An older hotel, in walking distance from the HH-Hauptbahnhof, was tastefully decorated, rooms very clean and comfortable, the staff was very friendly, accommodating and helpful. A convenient and nice breakfast buffet is available. Overall a very good experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Understated

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely old hotel, great sized room and really well maintained with friendly staff. Good breakfast. Lounge area is great to relax in. Only 10 minutes walk from central station.
4 out of 5
by Gerald from Australia

Great stay

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly and knowledgeable
4 out of 5
by Ashfaq

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the city but located in an awful street

Posted Jan 1, 2016
We didn't have connection in our room although we paid for it so we had to go out of the room every time we needed to use the net!! Definitely not a 4 stars hotel.
5 out of 5
by Jonas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Chi Hsin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Very clean, some quirky decorations, nice lounge area.
Cons: The wifi didn't work in our room.
Location: Close to the train station, but not a particularly 'nice' area to stay. Quite a few cafes and restaurants around.
We very much enjoyed our stay here. A very spacious room that was well equipped.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over-furnished but comfortable, dodgy area

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Although the area didn't feel unsafe, it just wasn't very pleasant to walk through every day - a red light area plus lots of mobile phone/phone abroad shops, with big groups of men just hanging around on street corners. I don't usually get bothered about that kind of thing, but it deterred me from going to and from the hotel more than once a day. It is however only ten minutes from the main station so it's good for transport. That said, it's a very friendly & comfortable small hotel, and the rooms are very well-equipped. It's a bit over-furnished, which made the room feel stuffy in the warmish weather. There's no lift. Breakfast is served in a very stuffy downstairs room that felt cramped, and I had to share a table. That felt incredibly uncomfortable as a lone traveller. The buffet wasn't worth 11€ I felt, so my second day I got breakfast elsewhere. So a decent little hotel but it wasn't the right choice for me.