Ratings based on 746 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk U.K.

Well placed hotel, close to railway station .

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: It's position and the friendly staff.
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be nice. We felt that 5 euros for the bottled water was a bit much!
Location: Location is great,easy to visit the Dom,Reeperbahn,Christmas market,Fischmarkt and catch the hop on hop off bus tour.
This hotel is clean and cosy,the staff were all very helpful.There is a maritime bar and an upmarket restaurant.We could walk to most of the places we wanted to visit.Our room faced the harbour and the view was always changing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vienna

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Nice but internet didn't work, which made it difficult as I was on a business trip and relied on this connection.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

0

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: 0
Cons: 0
The hotel stuff is TERRIBLE and not polite. They phoned me twice (Wake me up) to kick the guests out of the room. I told them that it will be paid another night since the guests wanted late checkout but they insisted to kick the guests on the street. TERRIBLE
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, lovely staff

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Lovely stay. staff were amazing! Would have liked tea facilities in the room, but apart from that, it was perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Great hotel near the Elba

Posted Aug 18, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Hafen,it's a 5 minute walk to the quayside and I found all the attractions I needed were in walking distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Superb location overlooking the busy River Elbe

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
We go to Hamburg every year at the beginning of November and we always stay here - its a great hotel overlooking the river Elbe which is a busy bustling place with lots to see and lots do do - highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Excellent location.

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Location & character.
Cons: A/C in rooms.
Location: Across the road from the hotel is the 'hafen' - the harbour with plenty of activities taking place. Recommend the harbour trips and city bus tours.
The hotel has lots of character, is a great place to stay and many rooms have a good view. We had a great view of the river. No A/C and outside noise can be an issue. Restaurant is very good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halol

Not value for money

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Not even the basic amenities provided...bad experience and not value for money...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located near the harbour.

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: More reasonably priced breakfast.
Location: Right near the harbour and close to centre.
Nice hotel, very clean, well located. Room is very small! Very expensive breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Why can't all german hotels be this good?

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The rooms might be a bit more inviting if they weren't so compact.
Location: For the permiscuous, the Reperbahn is only a couple blocks away. Otherwise, the location by the Lundungsbrücken harbour tours, bars etc., is great.
Like all the rest of my Expedia bookings, this hotel was expensive. But as I came to realize throughout my german vacation, the more you pay, the more the hotels want, the less you get; this hotel somehow managed to create a different impression. The room was new, clean comfortable but very very small. I could go on a rant about square footage versus the price I paid, but the location of this hotel right on the harbour, access to harbour cruises, nice restaurants etc., all made up for the matchbox room that at the end of the day was fine and very comfortable. The restaurant bar/restaurant on the lobby level was very nice and the cook there could teach north american fastfood chefs a thing or two about how to make a hamburger. The waitresses were polite and friendly, the reception personnel were also very professional. I was pleased and would without a doubt return to this hotel again and recommend it to anyone. Well done!!!