Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Tiny hole in the wall

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: It was affordable
Cons: Rooms could be much bigger, bathrooms especially.
Location: Nothing to do nearby. Bus connections are decent though.
OK if you want a cheap place to crash for the night, but not much on comfort or amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget Hotel that charged and extortionate rate

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: checking out
Cons: do not raise the prices to a ridiculous level no matter what the reason!
Location: Not much
Too expensive for what is described as a Budget Hotel. It may be that the weekend I was there the prices were elevated for some reason, but no way should this hotel charge Radisson or Ritz prices for one night without even a drinking glass in the room let alone any comforts expected for the price paid!!!!
3 out of 5
by jg from California

Cheap hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels
TV was not very clear. It was pretty clean. Location was not in the central of Hamburg but not bad. You get what you pay for.
1 out of 5
by German from Europe

Worst Hotel Experience Ever

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels
Zero English at Front desk ( Unheard of in the hotel industry) First room, the bed was i sank in like 1.5 feet, woke up with a bad back for 2 days later. The hotel personal would not put me into another room, until i started to argue. plumbing issues, heating issues, beds, toilet issues. Also this is a 2 star hotel.
3 out of 5
by Martin from Brussels, Belgium

Good value for money

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels
Our rooms were comfortable and very clean, even if furniture seems of East German origin and is in desperate need of an update. Yet beds were quite fine and street noise was no problem. Breakfast was basic but for the price we paid this was a perfect deal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

close to transportation.

Posted Jun 6, 2013 on Hotels
Room cleanliness unsatisfactory, elevator service unsatisfactory, no safe in room or Reception Desk. Breakfast average. would not use this Hotel again.
4 out of 5
by Kumar from London

Great Stay

Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels
Nice And Comfortable, no issue, friendly Service !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Basic Hotel Wandsbek

Posted Sep 24, 2011 on Hotels
Much noice from the street
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Depends on where you'll be

Posted Sep 24, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel itself is okay for a night or two. In fact, it's pretty nice for how cheap it is. Friendly staff that can speak English well, free wifi, even a small continental breakfast. The only downside is its location. Depending on where your business is in Hamburg, it can become a bit of a hassle getting to where you want to go. There are bus stops nearby, but the nearest train station is roughly a 15-20 minute hike. And if it's a weekday, then you have to take the night bus, which is even further away. If you don't mind all the traveling, then I recommend it. Otherwise, pay the extra money for a different, closer hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Be careful of the lift!

Posted Aug 25, 2011 on Hotels
This is a simple two-star hotel. The rooms are simply furnished but comfortable - albeit not necessarily well maintained (for example, the TV socket in my room was broken, meaning I couldn't have watched TV if I wanted to). The breakfast buffet choice is wide and good. The staff all seem to be very young, possibly Uni students, but as a consequence all seem speak to speak great English and are very enthusiastic. The location is about a 10-15 minute walk through a park area from the nearest U-Bahn station. It's then about a 20 minute commute into town. So while it's ok as a touring base, it's not the greatest if you want to be at the heart of the action. Why the review title? Well, I had the misfortune to be in the lift when it broke down, and spent about three quarters of an hour stuck inside it while they called an emergency technician to lever the doors open. Like I said; maintenance isn't necessarily this place's strong point!