Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Location of the hotel is excellent.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Would have been helpful to have free WiFi. The offer was just 256 KB which is far too minimal.
Location: Very close to bus and train stations. Also banks, shops and eateries easily accessible.
Staff were very courteous and helpful. The room was well maintained and clean. The mini bar was offered free which meant one did not need to be purchasing water in particular from outside. There are coffee and tea making facilities. The room was kept at a reasonable temperature and not over heated. The hotel was quiet at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

good hotel in an excellent location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: location - free access to Public Transit - clean and well appointed rooms
Cons: no real complaints except the high cost for breakfast but since there are other eating places a few minutes walk from the hotel this is not an issue
We were very satisfied with our stay at this hotel. The location is excellent with easy access to public transit, rail services and shopping (a good sized shopping centre with a very good food court is a three minutes walking distance from the hotel). A major plus is the hotel card that gives their guests free access to the main Hamburg Public Transit System making it easy to reach many interesting points in Hamburg in a few minutes. Good shopping can be found along the pedestrian mall leading to the shopping centre. In the Altona Rail Station Complex are plenty of small places for quick snacks and breakfast - no need to pay the fairly high breakfast cost at the hotel. The area is busy with people, mainly locals going after their daily routines. We would highly recommend this hotel and we are planning to go back there during our next trip to Hamburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Russia

Very good hotel. Сonvenient location.

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Very good hotel. Сonvenient location. A lot of markets around. Close to center
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2015
The location is good, but the staff were unengaged and everything took a very long time to get done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: As above Nice breakfast
Cons: Evening meal menu could be more varied. Noise levels from station at station facing accomodation could be improved.
Good acess to transport facilities and services. Very helpful staff. Excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy transfer from Airport & to HBF

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Cons: Free wifi would be ideal. I wasted some time in establishing a connection and then could not disconnect. My 5 hour voucher had expired next morning.
Location: There are plenty of options to buy food nearby and so I purchased my evening meal and chose not to have the hotel breakfast at an additional fee.
I had just completed a journey from Australia to Frankfurt and then transferred to a flight to Hamburg. I have stayed at the Altona previously and find the proximity to the bahnhof ideal as I was travelling onward by regional train the next day. The staff were very helpful with the wifi set up which would not easily connect on my Tablet. Instructions re the Wifi are a little confusing re which ID no. to use first. A learning experience for me too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

Clean and friendly

Posted Jan 17, 2008
Good location in Altona and near Reeperbahn
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Convenient & Friendly

Posted Dec 14, 2007
Very convenient for all rail & S-Bahn. Staff were very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

conveniently located by the altona train station

Posted Oct 23, 2007
a basic hotel - good for the business traveler. no frills, functional and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Good things come in small packages

Posted Sep 23, 2007
Our hotel room was small but clean, modern and well equipped with a minibar fridge, TV and hair dryer. We were given free subway passes for the duration of our stay and the location right next to the train/subway station was very convenient. There were even complementary apples at the front desk for the taking. Our only complaint is that being in a room that faced the tracks it got a bit noisy when the window was opened as we could hear the trains coming and going and the boarding calls at all hours. Also, our particular room did not have an air conditioner which necessitated leaving the window open as it got quite hot in our tiny room. Overall a good choice for convenient budget travel.