Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SWINDON UK

NICE INTERCITY HOTEL

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: MINI BAR AND TEA AND COFFEE AND KETTLE.
Cons: HEATING THAT WORKS
Location: CLOSE TO ALTONA STATION AND S-BAHN .PLENTY OF LOCAL SHOPS AND FAST FOOD OUTLETS.
NICE ROOM .GOOD BREAKFAST .NICE STAFF .ONLY ONE PROBLEM NO HEAT IN THE ROOM VIA THE AIR CON.REPORTED EVERY MORNING FOR THREE DAYS .BUT DID NOT GET FIXED .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This hotel is in a good location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: It's great for transport as it's actually at the entrance to the Altona station
Cons: The noise levels from the trains and the tannoy is the main problem up I don't think this can be improved due to its proximity to the tracks
Location: It was perfect for what we needed and was close to shops and eateries inside and outside the station.
We had a 3 night stay in January and had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the rail tracks It's great for transport as it's actually at the entrance to the Altona station but the downside is that you are woken each morning by the trains and the announcement tannoy. This wasn't a problem for us as we had to get up early each day but if you like a long sleep, this hotel might not suit you. Our room was a little cramped but it was clean and tidy and the shower was good. Overall I'd stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Location of the hotel is excellent.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Would have been helpful to have free WiFi. The offer was just 256 KB which is far too minimal.
Location: Very close to bus and train stations. Also banks, shops and eateries easily accessible.
Staff were very courteous and helpful. The room was well maintained and clean. The mini bar was offered free which meant one did not need to be purchasing water in particular from outside. There are coffee and tea making facilities. The room was kept at a reasonable temperature and not over heated. The hotel was quiet at night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to train station

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Located right next to the train station, so be aware of loud whistles. However, the rooms were clean, staff helpful, rooms well soundproofed. Happy with stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

good hotel in an excellent location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: location - free access to Public Transit - clean and well appointed rooms
Cons: no real complaints except the high cost for breakfast but since there are other eating places a few minutes walk from the hotel this is not an issue
We were very satisfied with our stay at this hotel. The location is excellent with easy access to public transit, rail services and shopping (a good sized shopping centre with a very good food court is a three minutes walking distance from the hotel). A major plus is the hotel card that gives their guests free access to the main Hamburg Public Transit System making it easy to reach many interesting points in Hamburg in a few minutes. Good shopping can be found along the pedestrian mall leading to the shopping centre. In the Altona Rail Station Complex are plenty of small places for quick snacks and breakfast - no need to pay the fairly high breakfast cost at the hotel. The area is busy with people, mainly locals going after their daily routines. We would highly recommend this hotel and we are planning to go back there during our next trip to Hamburg.
4 out of 5
by Philip from Dunstable

Hamburg City Break

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was absolutely perfect for my needs, and the fact it was next to one of the city's main railway stations, was very convenient. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and spoke English; room was clean and spacious - and despise being next to a train station and a busy road, was very peaceful. There was a wide selection of food at the breakfast buffet, and the free city travel card that came with the room was a bonus and saved me a fortune!
5 out of 5
by Richard from Newbury

ICH Hamburg-Altona

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient for Hamburg-Altona Rail station, I use the hotel to access the rail network north of Hamburg. Has a small bar area and does basic meals in the evening if needed. Also you get a travel pass for the local transport network in the city
4 out of 5
by G M from Scotland

Free travel pass

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Good location - right at Altona train station so easy to travel round the city. Hotel also provided a public transport pass valid for the duration of the stay which was a good touch. Standard modern chain hotel which was clean with decent public areas.
3 out of 5
by Cristina from Copenhagen

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
The internet connection is very slow and useless.
4 out of 5
by Keith from West Yorkshire

Best hotel in area.

Posted Dec 19, 2015 on Hotels
Easy access to all transport with free passes.Good breakfast.Helpful staff.Lounge not comfortable no good for business meeting.All said I use this hotel regularly.