Ratings based on 838 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
We had a lovely comfortable room, a short walk from the nearest train station. All the staff were friendly and spoke English. Slight loss of points on cleanliness for finding a jelly bean under the bed that didn't belong to us! Would still recommend as good value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east yorkshire

Great hotel.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Hotel located just outside the immediate centre but only 10 min walk from central station and on a direct bus route too. Hotel is very well appointed, clean, well presented and the breakfasts are superb. Highly recommended and ideal for that city break.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Alex

A warm and welcoming hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Just a 10 minute walk from the central station and the high street. About 15 minutes from the bars and nightlife! Very pleased with our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful too!
3 out of 5
by Cary

Cute hotel ....

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
I ended up staying here two days longer than expected. The staff is friendly. But that just meant they smiled as they dropped the ball. Our room was never cleaned. The shower didnt drain. Ask for more towels?..Be prepared to wait or go to the basement to get them yourself as I did. It's really a neat place. Just seems they are more concerned with the restaurant downstairs than the hotel portion . After I that u can't say I wouldn't stay here again. But there has to be better options.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decor a bit outdated, but a decent hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel overall is good, but right opposite an extremely noisy building site where they start work at 07:00. Also, the room decor needs updating a bit. Other than that, - good hotel and it's fairly easy to get to the city centre from it. Breakfast was very tasty!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic rooms, great staff.

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was incredible. North American sized rooms, full amenities, great atmosphere - and a wonderful staff. It's a little bit off the beaten path in terms of getting to tourist attractions and whatnot, but it seemed that there were a lot of business types staying at the hotel. The bar / lounge was buzzing, and a great coffee shop is part of the property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
location could be better
5 out of 5
by Kurt from Frederiksberg, Denmark

Great hotel within walking distance to center

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
We chose to stay at Mercure Hotel Hamburg City once again. The hotel is very nice. The service is great. They have a wonderful breakfast and great cocktails. If you do not feel like walking back into town, we recommend the hotel restaurant. You can easily walk into the town center in about 15 minutes. The hotel is by Mittel Kanal, which is very nice. You will not find shopping og dining in the immediate area, however. In Hamburg you do a lot of walking anyway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Once again excellent !

Posted Jan 4, 2016
We had stayed in Mercure in Rome few weeks earlier, so decided to do so again in Hamburg! Initially the location was a turn off on our final arrival, as we walked to the hotel from the station and being in a strange country it proofed hard to find! However with bus and train very near by we could reach centre 10-20 minutes max. once settled in!! Breakfast room and lobby staff very professional! Look forward to staying again in a Mercure !