Ratings based on 881 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Quiet and Convenient Stay

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: 2 large mixed sauna rooms & 24 hr fitness facilities
Cons: Long queue around time of checking out, could be improved by providing fast check-out box for room card return.
Location: 1min to underground station and 15 min to town. 15min walk to range of restaurants and supermarkets.
Entrance from underground just within a minute and police cars are standby for 24 hr which offers you a sense of security. Early checked-in allowed at around 10am, which is good for a smooth schedule and carefree for luggage storage. The staff is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Jerry, Thank you very much for your kind review and for staying at our historical water tower. We are glad that you like our sauna and fitness area. It is a pity that you had a long queue time. Please be assure that we will talk to our Manager about the Check-out box. It would be nice to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Your Mövenpick Hotel Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely trendy hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great for metro service. Not a fantastic area but lovely hotel and an easy City to get around. Only 2 or 3 stops to nightlife
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello from Hamburg, first of all we like to thank you for your great review and for choosing the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg. We are sorry that you didn't like the surrounding of our histoircal water tower and we hope that we can welcome you back soon. Best regards, Your Mövenpick Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful place to stay in Hamburg

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Very unique building, great staff and service, comfortable room. Location is convenient to train stop, with the hotel entrance being just across the street, and since the building is a tall brick tower it is easy to spot and find from the surrounding area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Susan, It was a pleasure to welcome you at our Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg and we like to thank you for your 5 star ranking. We are glad, that you like our historical water tower and the location. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon. With best regards, Your Mövenpick Hotel Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Angry Staff, changing reserved room

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: nothing much, close from shops
Cons: staff, room cleaness, rude attitude in receptionists
Location: good location near from doner and cloth shops
Hi All First, the receptionist was so rude, I explained to her that I had hard time to find the entrance, she replied simply "uh, your fault!!!" wasnt expecting such feedback after long travel time. When I went to my room, I booked a king size bed room, they provided me with two single bed room, justifying that they dont commit to 3rd party booking like "Expedia", that was really schoking and they didnt show any intention to help, they just handled me room key and asked for next visitor to approach!! I wont go to Movenpick hotel never and ever again, I have been in many hotels in Hamburg, Movenpick for sure is the worst!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Yazan, First of all we like to thank you for your stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg and for taking the time to write this review. Your opinion is very important to us. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience you have suffered during your stay and understand your point of view. Please be assured that we take this serious and that we will talk to our colleagues at the reception. It would be nice to welcome you back at our historical water tower and change your first impression. Best regards, Your Mövenpick Hotel Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice modern hotel, excellent bar and restaurant. Pleasant Staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello from the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg, We like to thank you for your great review and for staying with us. It's nice to read that you liked the hotel, the CAVE Bar and our Restaurant. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon. With best regards, Your Mövenpick Hotel Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Guten Tag aus dem historischen Wasserturm, es freut uns, dass Sie unser Gast waren und dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt mit 4 von 5 Sternen bewertet haben. Gerne begrüßen wir Sie jederzeit wieder in unserem Hotel. Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Ihr Team aus dem Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very near to u bahn

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
We have problem to find entrance, as the signboard was blocked by tree at station, we walk up to hills side. they should move the signboard to a visible area to avoid confusion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Greetings from Hamburg, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time and writing this review. We are deeply sorry that you had to walk up the hill. Please be sure that we try to make the sign on the street visible. Best regards, Your Mövenpick Hotel Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TERRIBLE HOTEL STAFF

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Orbitz
The hotel staff is rude and totally unhelpful they do not try to accommodate their customers in anyway .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello from Hamburg, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience you have suffered during your stay. We want to apologize for all kinds of negative impressions you gained and would like to change your image of us during your next stay in Hamburg. With kind regards. The Mövenpick Hotel Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Guten Tag aus dem Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg, wir möchten die Gelegenheit nutzen und uns für Ihre wunderbare Bewertung zu bedanken. Es ist schön, dass Sie uns mit den 5 von 5 Sternen zeigen, dass Sie mit allem rundum zufrieden waren. Wir hoffen sehr, dass wir Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen dürfen. Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Ihr Team aus dem Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Moin aus Hamburg, wir haben uns über Ihren Besuch im Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg sehr gefreut und möchten uns für Ihre Bewertung danken. Die Meinung unserer Gäste ist uns sehr wichtig. Wir würden uns freuen, wenn Sie bald wieder bei uns zu Gast sind. Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Ihr Team aus dem Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg