Ratings based on 668 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Very convenient

Posted Mar 9, 2017
A very convenient business hotel for quick trips. Comfortable bed and efficient if limited breakfast. Very helpful desk staff happy to provide details of the city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Hidden Treasure on Stresemann Strasse in Altona

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Very quiet, excellent breakfast, pleasent staff that was eager to please.
Cons: My electronic key to the room had to be re-programmed twice. Also make available an English Newspaper.
Location: The weather was terrible (ice storm) so I did not get out except for lunch and dinner. It was a business trip and for me all business.
Very pleasent experience at NH Hamburg Hotel in Altona. Checked in late was expected greeted warmly. Excellent breakfast buffet (lots of choices) very quiet for a busy street. Very clean, room service very good. While I speak enough German to get by, I did test the English of the staff and it was a good or better than my own. I highly recommend this Hotel. I chose it simply because it was next to the building where the company I work with was located. While the weather was terrible (ice storm) the staff and the amenties of the hotel made the stay a pleasure.
4 out of 5
by Rachel

On the whole, would use again

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here for 3 nights between Xmas and new year. Arrived at 11am but able to check in early. Staff speak English and are welcoming and friendly. Room on 4th floor at the front of the hotel was clean and spacious. No noise from main road outside. Beds comfy, fridge useful for putting our drinks/snacks in, toiletries in bathroom if you were travelling light, safe to put valuables in. TV only had BBC News in English which wasn't great for those chill times in the room. Room quite hot for winter, air con seemed to be warm air which got quite stuffy even after we'd turned it off. Tea/coffee facilities would have been welcomed as we certainly didn't want to pay the mini bar prices! Free wifi is always a bonus but it was slow at times, couldn't really use two devices at once. You'd have to upgrade the wifi if you wanted to watch a film/ YouTube. Had a drink in the bar each night, staff chatty and attentitive. Sky sports was on for those like me wanting to see the footy and darts! Didn't wander round the area but it has a McDonald's and dominos opposite and a couple of restaurants were recommended to us (Scotty's) The bakery opposite was perfect. Delicious croissants, donuts and coffee for a few euros compared to expensive hotel breakfast. We'd get food from there then catch number 3 bus into Hamburg (20mins) if you want to explore the city easily and visit attractions, get a Hamburg Card. You can use all transport and get discounts which saves loads. Love Hamburg!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Pretty close to the under ground

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Especially have the fridge inside and the room is big and tv is big as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

An excellent hotel to stay in Hamburg

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Theatre, supermakets, many little resturants, Macdonal. Very close to bus station.
It is very close to a bus stop (almost oposite the hotel) where you can take to go any where, not far from city center. Many good supermakets around the hotel, where you can by foods and drinks (beers). The location is very nice and serounding by the nature and many trees. Staffs are super helpful. Room is big and very comfortable. Breakfasts are gorgeous. I will definitely come back here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Staff - Let down by the terrible WIFI

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Staff and comfortable room.
Cons: The free WIFI!
Location: Scotty's around the corner is great for food. Altona main street, 15 minutes away by foot, is lively and good fun for eating/drinking.
The staff were professional and courteous and the room was perfectly comfortable. However, the free WIFI was so slow that I could barely load a webpage to do my work. And I feel it is disingenuous to advertise such a facility when it is in fact near unusable. I didn't want to pay extra money to upgrade my internet, when I had chosen Novotel because it claimed it provided this service.
4 out of 5
by Elaine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Simona

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Decent Business Hotel. Not much personality, but clean and convenient.
5 out of 5
by Vladimir from New York

Good hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Short trip - need place to slip comfortably..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent breakfast.