Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Germany tour

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: a good quiet hotel away from the noise of city and a relaxed atmosphere and a fantastic selection of foods for breakfast.
Cons: everything was satisfactory
Location: close to restaurants and shops and pleasant walks.
a good location with excellent bus and train services into Hamburg center regularly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice 3 night stay at Novum Hotel Hagemann

Posted Jun 29, 2017
We had a very enjoyable 3-night stay at this hotel. It is located around 25 minutes away from the city centre by local transport (Tip: Buy the "9am group ticket" - it is a good bargain). The hotel looks a bit old from the outside, but is very nice from the inside, with traditional Hamburg decorations in reception, corridors and the breakfast room. Staff were very nice and friendly. Good value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay here. The room was very clean; the beds were comfortable. The front desk staff was kind and helpful, and spoke fluent english. The breakfast was great. I chose this hotel because of the nautical theme; the restaurant is straight out of the 1970s. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good clean value for money hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Hotel a little way out from Hamburg, butvery good connecting ttransport. Hotel very clean, excellent breakfast for price paid for overall stay. Staff very friendly, helpful and polite. Rooms spotlessly clean, good heating and ventilation. Only negatives were pillows uncomfortable and hideous lamp shade over the bed. Overall great excellent value for money hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Ok for one night

Posted Nov 17, 2016
The hotel is located in HH-whilhelmsburg. We stayed there to see the musician lion king which is a 15 mins rice away. The parking is complete joke. We came back from the show at 9.30 and everything was full. The have parking for 30 cars. We've been told to park on the street... Which was full and sketchy anyways. Room was good - clean and comfy. Breakfast was ok, nothing special and could be improved.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The other side of Hamburg... in more than one way

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located in an old working-class neighborhood that sports a high percentage of residents with a migrant background. I would think that most hotel guests use the hotel as a hub for explorations into the touristy side of Hamburg on the other side of River Elbe, but if you have at least a tiny bit of tolerance for "otherness", then you should do yourself a favor and spend at least a couple of hours one afternoon or early evening and walk around in the immediate neighborhood before gentrification takes over. Have a meal in one of the small Turkish restaurants and you may feel more welcome than at any tourist place you will visit in upscale Hamburg...
3 out of 5
by Louise from Wales

Novum Hamburg

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Room a little dated but good value for an overnight stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Very convenient

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Quite adequate for our needs.Room was clean and comfortable,we were at the back of the hotel so very quiet.
Cons: would have liked a bar in the hotel to relax in the evening,but plenty of places within walking distance.
Location: The location suited us and we visited the Pianola bar cafe just down the road.Nice food and cosy atmosphere.
Visiting family and the hotel was very near to their home.
5 out of 5
by Florentin from Bucharest

Great stay in Hafen area

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Good hotel with a consistent breakfast. If you want to take advantage of the free parking in their premises check in early.