Ratings based on 1,187 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from india

Location makes the difference

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Stratigically located to attract tourists and business people. Very basic amenities but thats well enough for a shorter stay. Safe by all means, and the hotel is very well maintained.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sofia, Bulgaria

Great location. That's all.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Its location, the breakfast.
My super-saver room, which I booked and payed a few months in advance, was really small. It had practically no view from the window - it was looking to a space between hotel's and the neighboring building. The bed was small but comfortable. Small TV screen, with only one non-German channel - it was CNN. Good breakfast, very busy between 8:30 and 9:30. Generally, the staff was OK - friendly and helpful, except for one guy at the reception desk, who gave me my key at the check-in. He started making faces from the very moment he saw me approaching the desk, and continued acting as a policeman all the time, asking for my passport, which was quite unusual. But again, except for him, the other staff members were OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greece

Great position.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Economically priced and in a good location.
Cons: A machine for coffee/ tea as there is no bar.
Location: Opposite the main train station and near bus station. Restaurants nearby as well as tourist attractions and shopping street, all nearby.
Cosy, simple hotel, very central for tourists. Breakfast pleasant, as are the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Ok hotel right across from the main train station.

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel lobby looks small, but there is another sitting area on floor 1. Some of the hotel staff were really friendly--others not as friendly. No one was rude and that might have to do with their command of the English language. My German is very poor. Breakfast was very good. The usual with eggs hard cooked and scrambled. Our room was small and clean. The only complaint I had was that it did not smell very good in the bathroom. The bathroom looked clean. My guess is that there was a broken bidet in our room and some smells were coming up through the plug area. The room was well worn, but serviceable. This hotel is literally right across the street from the main train station north side. There is a escalator to the U2 and U4 down the street, so if using either of those lines then one doesn't even need to walk across the street. The hotel was fairly quiet. Our room was located to the back of the building and not on a Main Street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Cons: First day I was told there was no kettle to boil water, a cultural thing for east Asian Chinese. Then staff had a personal kettle and had boiled water
Location: A lot of eatery and supermarkets around to resolve basis needs. Right next door to the central station makes transport extremely convenient.
Overall good experience but staff could be more friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to bus tours of city.

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We were given a large room facing the street and the train station. Great location. No problem with noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel opposite main train station

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Cons: need a tea set, kettle etc in the room,
Location: many shops and main malls nearby
easy to walk to all the main sights and access the train and bus network. Hop on hop off bus starts out the front, lots of shops and restaurants out the front
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Location, location, location

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms and location.
Location: Train station across road. Good restaurants close by.
Excellent and helpful reception. Spacious room. Across the road to the train station. Brilliant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Older hotel, nice staff

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
This was my first trip to Hamburg, and Germany. The hotel is conveniently located across from the Central Train station. The hotel is quite dated, but the room was large and clean. Bedding was decent and the breakfast offered was acceptable. I stayed for 4 nights while traveling for business. It was quite a warm that week in Hamburg, very muggy - so for the hotel not to have a/c made the stay very uncomfortable and I did not get much sleep. I realize a/c is not something that is very common in parts of Europe - however, for that fact alone, I wouldn't stay again during the warm season. The hotel rooms also do not have an iron or ironing board. You are allowed to use the hotels in the basement, private office. This was a bit odd and inconvenient, but worked fine nevertheless. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.