Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jings

Great staff

Posted Sep 23, 2012
Great small personable hotel, situated right near 2 u-Bahn lines and in a very nice district of Hamburg. Book a double room for more space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cyrus from Harlow, Essex, UK

Great Friendly Hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2012
Pros: Very friendly, clean and in an excellent location
Cons: I did not stay long enough!!!
Location: very nice location with many nice resturants and shops with in walking distance
I enjoyed every minute of my short stay. Very friendly staff and immaculate rooms and reasonable rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dewi from Atlanta

Great value and convenience

Posted Dec 27, 2011
Pros: location
Cons: no safe. tiny TV.
Location: close to everything by subway line very nearby
The hotels amenities are basic and outdated, but it does have a certain charm and kitsch value. The location is fantastic, in Harvesthude near shopping, great restaurants, and easy access to Centrum and all points in Hamburg via two very close by U-bahn stops at Kellinghusenstrasse and EppendorferBaum. Considering it is very inexpensive compared with the fancier hotels near Jungfernstieg, I would recommend Das Smolka as a great value for a nice but basic room in a convenient location. (Note - no in room locking safe, but the closets lock)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Putney / London

A really - really nice hotel run by very friendly and helpful people

Posted Oct 31, 2011
Location: The whole of Hamburg is worth the while and an experience.
I lived - before moving to London - 31 years in the neighbourhood and always looked with envious eyes on my way to my tutors to this establishment. Now several decades later I stayed for nearly a week in one of their prestigious rooms and enjoyed with my wife every minute. We will definitely be back - perhaps with the whole family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Moscow, Russian Federation

Charming classic hotel in a posh neighbourhood, well connected to public transport

Posted Jan 13, 2011
An exceptionally nice hotel ! Don't be put off by the external appearance of the hotel. Inside it is very comfortable, exceptionally well maintained and most (deluxe) underwent a major refurbishment. Very charming, classic hotel. Excellent breakfast and very well located near the tube in a very posh neighbourhood. Front desk and indeed all staff are very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

1 Star

Posted Dec 23, 2010
Expedia had the hotel listed as 4 stars and it was 1 star at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Really nice hotel - but get a room on the front!

Posted May 29, 2009
Great breakfast and although the interior is all very old it is kept in really good condition. But they should clean the mould on the bathroom tiles, thats the only thing that spoils the cleanliness. Also ask for a room on the front with balcony, the ones on the back can be much smaller with a view on a wall. Overall a great place to stay - try the bar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pleasant Prairie, WI

A good deal in Europe

Posted May 28, 2008
Having traveled a bit in Europe for Business where I am worried about spending, it is not easy finding a hotel similar to those in the states at the same level of price. Rooms will be smaller and more Spartan, and costs will be higher, that is just the way it is. In the states I find that hotels like the Fairfield Inn and Holiday Inn Express suit my business travel needs quite well, but finding similar in Europe is not going to happen. Having done all the little Inns, where the rooms smell either like an astray or an attic, I found the Das Smolka a nice reprieve. Do not get me wrong, it is not a grand hotel. But the rooms for the most part are spacious and clean, and the in-suite bathrooms are adequate. It is in a good location in Hamburg, and the staff is outstanding even with the language barrier. For the money, I have found it to be a good deal, and would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

hübsches Hotel in Eppendorf

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: verkehrsgünstige, aber sehr ruhige Lage, schönes Umfeld
Location: schöne Geschäftsstrasse in der Nähe, viele Restaurants und Cafes
wir waren über Silvester dort. Das Personal war sehr nett, die Zimmer sauber, wenn der Parkplatz voll ist, muss man ein wenig Glück haben etwas in der Nähe zu finden. Es war ein gelungener Aufenthalt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Ein echtes Romantik Hotel, aufmerksames und freundliches Personal, grossartige Betten. Tolle Einkaufsmöglichkeiten und lässige Lokale, gute Verkehrsanbindung.