Ratings based on 457 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fancy on the surface, but getting a little tired

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The hotel looks great. But you can tell it's getting on a bit and needs some money spending. I've been coming here for eight years, but this trip made me see this may not be the slickest hotel in Hamburg any more. The pool and sauna/steam area was closed for maintenance, which was a shame. No one told us at check in. Our room was nice but we had horrendous pipe/central heating noise every 30 minutes or so. We were moved to another room, where the wifi didn't work (my partner needed to work), so we ended up back in the room with pipe noise. Problem unresolved. It took three staff members to deal with this little issue, but none of them seemed to have the common sense to question putting us back into the room with pipe noise. I was too tired to make a fuss. Overall, I would seriously question returning to this hotel personally. I think there are newer arrivals on the Hamburg hotel scene that are worth a try. The meal we had in the Meatery restaurant was great though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Side location works

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Great hotel in a good location for access to all parts of the city, be it shopping or entertainment. I had a minor issue with the room which was immeadately addressed to my satisfaction with minimum fuss. The facilities make for a stylish stay and the spa was both spotless and with the added touch of chilled and flavoured water. I will definitely stay again! Finally the meatery downstairs delivers wonderful food..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Hotel/Gastronomic/Spa Experience

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: The location is the perfect one, close enough to the city center but just slighly off the buzzy area, Better impossible.
My partner and I had an incredible stay at Side. The hotel room and bath and showers were exceptionally good. We absolutely loved the quality of the breakfast with fresh fruits, a diversity of amazing bread, cheeses and charcuterie items, along with full 'English' breakfast made on the spot. We both spent a lot of time in the amazing spa area, with beautiful pool , sauna and team, lotos of potent showers, all very luxurious and sparkling clean at all times. We were particularly impressed with the staff who were knowledgeable, approachable, friendly and extremely efficient at all times, but also how unobtrusive they all were. Anna at the reception set us up in an luxurious room on the top floor, Luca was an absolute gentleman in the breakfast lounge and so was Suedabe, who made a special fruit juice only for us. We highly recommend the hotel and can't wait to go back. Thanks to all the staff. Elton
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Jackie Weiss, Hotel Management
Dear Elton, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to Hamburg. It was a pleasure welcoming you inSIDE! We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback on Expedia. We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us and will surely communicate your comments within the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Jackie Weiss Regional E-Commerce Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Contemporary hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
I thought the hotel had a great design and gym and spa facilities were very good. I would definitely stay in this hotel again should I visit Hamburg in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location for work, shopping and restaurants

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Great hotel and excellent service and restaurants. Rooms were a bit hit an could not be cooled down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phienix, AZ

Nice hotel. Walking distance to many things.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
I was here for a conference at UH. It was a convenient walk to UH. The staff was great. I was greeted with a towel, an apple, and fresh water every morning after my run!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Broken air condition

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Room was smaller than expected, third stay in this hotel, temperature on arrival was 27.5, informed the reception staff and they promise to send someone to check, on getting back to the room, a fan was left in the room and the room temperature now was 29 degrees, disappointed with the reception and house keeping, toiletries not replaced and bag of waste papers left in the room. Did not measure up to previous stay .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, friendly hotel in perfect central location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Highly recommended. Great location, facilities and service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Really nice hotel close to the best shopping areas

Posted Jan 4, 2016
The hotel is in a quiet side street only 100 yards from the nearest tube station Staff were really friendly & efficient Room was really nice a lot larger than most hotels the room was also very clean & had a excellent shower . Hotel bar was good but a bit expensive . We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked really nice & was pretty busy . The only negative was the Spa the pool & jacuzzi were both cold & we were really disappointed with that as we had booked the hotel because it was central & had a spa .We rarely used the spa mainly due to the cold jacuzzi .Overall hotel was really nice & Hamburg was amazing lovely parks great shopping & amazing bars all within 2 mins of the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Hamburg

Posted Nov 9, 2015
The best ever Steak Restaurtant , the meatery, in Hamburg