Ratings based on 1,298 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fancy on the surface, but getting a little tired

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The hotel looks great. But you can tell it's getting on a bit and needs some money spending. I've been coming here for eight years, but this trip made me see this may not be the slickest hotel in Hamburg any more. The pool and sauna/steam area was closed for maintenance, which was a shame. No one told us at check in. Our room was nice but we had horrendous pipe/central heating noise every 30 minutes or so. We were moved to another room, where the wifi didn't work (my partner needed to work), so we ended up back in the room with pipe noise. Problem unresolved. It took three staff members to deal with this little issue, but none of them seemed to have the common sense to question putting us back into the room with pipe noise. I was too tired to make a fuss. Overall, I would seriously question returning to this hotel personally. I think there are newer arrivals on the Hamburg hotel scene that are worth a try. The meal we had in the Meatery restaurant was great though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Jackie Weiss, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your loyalty over the past eight years! We would also like to thank you for taking the time after your recent stay and writing us your candid feedback. We relay on feedback like yours to further improve our product and service. I’m very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied and would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We would love to keep you as our loyal guest, therefor I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly for your next reservation. I think you will also be happy to hear, we are already in the middle of planning the next hotel renovation. We hope to welcome you back in the SIDE Design Hotel soon! Thank you and kind regards, Jackie Weiss E-Commerce Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and modern but inconsistent

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very nice and professional and the hotel looked modern, but my "non-smoking" room smelled like cigarettes, the shower seemed to malfunction, and my double bed came with two tiny twin duvets, which did not make for a comfortable sleep. My coworkers did not all have similar problems in their rooms, so it seems to be pretty hit or miss.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to Hamburg. It was a pleasure welcoming your colleagues and you inSIDE. As we strive to exceed every guest’s expectation, we take all guest feedback very seriously. I’m sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room and would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please know this is not our standard and in cases like these we appreciate your instant feedback to our front office team. We would be glad if you could contact us with further details, such as your room number, so we can learn more from your feedback. We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back. Kind regards and thank you, J. Weiss Regional E-Commerce Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Side location works

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Great hotel in a good location for access to all parts of the city, be it shopping or entertainment. I had a minor issue with the room which was immeadately addressed to my satisfaction with minimum fuss. The facilities make for a stylish stay and the spa was both spotless and with the added touch of chilled and flavoured water. I will definitely stay again! Finally the meatery downstairs delivers wonderful food..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Hotel/Gastronomic/Spa Experience

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: The location is the perfect one, close enough to the city center but just slighly off the buzzy area, Better impossible.
My partner and I had an incredible stay at Side. The hotel room and bath and showers were exceptionally good. We absolutely loved the quality of the breakfast with fresh fruits, a diversity of amazing bread, cheeses and charcuterie items, along with full 'English' breakfast made on the spot. We both spent a lot of time in the amazing spa area, with beautiful pool , sauna and team, lotos of potent showers, all very luxurious and sparkling clean at all times. We were particularly impressed with the staff who were knowledgeable, approachable, friendly and extremely efficient at all times, but also how unobtrusive they all were. Anna at the reception set us up in an luxurious room on the top floor, Luca was an absolute gentleman in the breakfast lounge and so was Suedabe, who made a special fruit juice only for us. We highly recommend the hotel and can't wait to go back. Thanks to all the staff. Elton
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Jackie Weiss, Hotel Management
Dear Elton, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to Hamburg. It was a pleasure welcoming you inSIDE! We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback on Expedia. We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us and will surely communicate your comments within the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Jackie Weiss Regional E-Commerce Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Room was clean with comfortable bed but the AC unit as is typical in Europe was not good. Leaving the windows open was the only option with such heavy bedding. Noise level was high for outside noise early in the morning with some type of construction going on at 6:30 am. Nice bathroom. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant served great food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time after your stay and writing us your feedback. It’s great to hear, that you liked your room and were happy with our staff and [m]eatery restaurant. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the cooling system. During the construction of our hotel we choose to use a heating & cooling system. This is especially environmentally friendly as well as health-friendly. On the few very hot days in Hamburg it can be challenging. We are already discussing this internally and working on a solution. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind regards from Hamburg, Jackie Weiss E-Commerce Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Contemporary hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
I thought the hotel had a great design and gym and spa facilities were very good. I would definitely stay in this hotel again should I visit Hamburg in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location for work, shopping and restaurants

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Great hotel and excellent service and restaurants. Rooms were a bit hit an could not be cooled down.