Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superior customer service

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Front desk person was on top of his game
needed a quick stop and the front desk person was the best ever.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

It would have been nice to have air conditioning.

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: The staff were very courteous. Unfortunately, that courtesy didn't translate into correcting problems quickly. The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: The A/Cs could be fixed. The TVs should work. If a guest is treated poorly, it would be nice if management seemed to care. They didn't appear to.
Location: Nice Irish bar down the street.
Called the hotel Thursday aft Jun 1 to explain that we'd be checking in after midnight that night, was assured someone would be at the front desk. Got there at 12:45AM, no one around. Walked around looking for anyone, called the main number repeatedly. Nothing. Finally a young gentleman showed up just before 2AM. We were exhausted and he promised we wouldn't be billed fthe first night. We woke at 7AM Jun 2 and found that the TV didn't work, the A/C didn't work, and the bath sink was extremely slow to drain. I notified the front desk and they assured me they'd have them all fixed. Late that afternoon a gentleman reset the TV. The next morning the sink clog was removed (sickening) and a gentlemen looked at the A/C, only to tell me he couldn't fix it, it would require an HVAC repairman. Supposed to be there at 3PM, nobody showed up. On Monday June 5 contacted the general manager, Mr Berley, asked additional reduction in rates due to all the problems, and he was disinterested to say the least. That afternoon contacted Ms Brown, Director of Sales, and she said she'd go above Mr Berley's head and ask for an additional complementary night. She promised to call back within 24 hours. I still haven't heard back from her. AND, then we were billed for all 3 nights for our room, and 2 nights for the room my brother and sister in law occupied (they were comped for our night). Ms Brown evidently got that resolved, but it took an hour on the phone with her to do so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Nicole Brown , Hotel Management
Hello Mr. Jones, Thank you for all of your understanding, as mentioned earlier I am so sorry that I called your sisters number in error. It was a pleasure speaking with you. I look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Nicole
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Were at this hotel for four nights for a family reunion/wedding... Suite was roomy, quiet, and very comfortable. Staff is excellent, breakfast is good...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Nicole , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks we hope to see you again soon. Nicole
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Aging under duress

Posted May 20, 2017
an odd old motel where the entrances were enclosed in conditioned space. A split unit in room means no fresh air. Relatively clean and comfortable. Doors would not work with key card, had to be let in room by staff. Breakfast with eggs, bacon and sausage plus continental items. Fair price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Nicole B, Hotel Management
Dear Rick, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that there was not enough fresh air in the rooms. We will certainly take your feedback to the team. We are always looking to improve so that our guest enjoy each of their stays. Sincerely, Nicole
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Unappealing even by cookie-cutter standards

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Staff attitude and attention, maintenance.
Location: Near New Haven and the universities but not overly convenient to any of them.
Let's start with check-in....I arrived at 3:40 to find the lobby filled with frustrated people waiting for rooms. The staffer behind the desk was barking at these customers, telling them there were no rooms until 4pm. She was rude and showed no interest in actually getting anyone settled. There had to be---and in fact were--rooms opening up but she was leaving at 4, and wasn't going to address any issues before then. As she departed, she said to the much more helpful replacement, "you've got a real mess here." I asked to see a manager. There wasn't one. I emailed him--no response. The facility seems poorly run and even by cookie-cutter standards unappealing. There was no ice in the ice machine. There were no towels in the fitness center. You get the idea. It was not inexpensive either. For the price, I would expect a polite staff, better maintenance and a less dingy environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Nicole B , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am so sorry to hear that you had this experience while staying with us. Guest Satisfaction is extremely important to us. I was there on Saturday, I must have been assisting in other areas of the hotel at that time. If you are planning another travel to he area please contact me directly. Busy days are extremely difficult for any hotel, however being polite and friendly to our guest is always a must. I look forward to hearing from you.
4 out of 5
by Sergey

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017
Dear Sergey, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a great stay with us. Please come again. Sincerely, Nicole
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017
Thanks for your stay!
4 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kristine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels