Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

A run down mess.......

Posted Oct 15, 2017
I selected the Whitney Inn due to its close location to Quinnipiac University as I was visiting my daughter for Family Weekend. I have stayed in a few hotels in the Hamden area over the past two years and took a chance on the Whitney Inn because I wanted to be closer to the school this year. I would never stay here again. The room had an odor, was dirty in appearance, was very small, and the layout was so odd with his little creepy dirty nook instead of a closet. The bathroom was a disaster with black mold spots all over the ceiling in the shower. The toilet ran for a really long time when you flushed it to top it off, there was a large old plunger next to the toilet (just in case we needed to use it....yuk!) The bedspread and dust ruffle were mismatched, old and dirty, like they had purchased them at the local salvation army store. This place is really run so stay at your own risk!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Decent

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Nice staff and clean rooms. The building is old and musty, but seemed clean enough. The walls are PAPER thin, you can hear people talking in the room's next to you as if you're standing in the same room. Major downside. Good hotel if you're there for nothing serious, would not recommend if you're needing good sleep for anything important, like I was unfortunately.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Old fashioned motel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: It is located in a very nice area.
Cons: Routine maintenance and better routine cleaning.
Location: Shopping, national park, very close to a university
The staff we encountered were very pleasant. However, the property was disappointing. The rooms are small, which was not a deal breaker, but everything else was. The property was poorly maintained, for example, the bathroom had a window in it that was "locked" with a wooden bar to prevent it from being opened. The bathroom door needed to be replaced showing signs of age and wear and tear. The bathroom floor was in need a deep cleaning to remove the years of dirt in the crevices and from the grout. The room was very noisy because (1) the door faced the a busy street so there was a lot of traffic noise 24 hours/day; (2) the air conditioning unit was very loud when it was running, loud enough to wake you in the night when it kicked on; and (3) there was little insulation between the room so the normal speaking and television sounds from adjacent rooms were easily heard. I did not expect 5 star accommodations and understood the discounted pricing would mean lesser amenities, I am not a high end traveler. I do however expect that Expedia only list properties that are adequately maintained and clean!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland Maine

Old fashioned motel in Hamden CT.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Inexpensive, clean. Easy to get to New Haven CT.
Cons: On demand gas hot water heater so that the hot water does not run out in the mornings.
Location: Near Yale and Quinnipiac universities.
Our room was clean, but very basic. We stayed two nights. On the first night there was ample hot water. On the second night the water for the shower was cold. The breakfast was basic, the coffee dispenser difficult to work. However the room was very inexpensive and fulfilled our need to have a clean bed and a bathroom for two nights.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We checked out the room smell like Throw up

Posted Oct 2, 2017
The worst ever I would never recommend this place to my dog let alone a human this place should be taken down
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire Ct

Thank you, Part II

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: frequent flier type program
Location: gas station in next lot, many places to eat, walking trails, shopping.. about a 20 minute ride to New Haven/10 from dog park
Last minute, I inquired about a 2nd night's stay. The staff scrambled around and was able to move reservations to ensure I could stay in the same room!! The bad news always gets the front page- please put a spot light on this recommendation!! This will be my "no exception" first choice in hotel stays!! I've even recommended this hotel for my co-workers who travel (I work at a global Fortune 500 company). again, my home away from home and I couldn't be more thankful. High end hotels should follow this lead- they got it right!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Better than expected. Very spacious king bed room. Downside was bad smell at entrance area and room window shade not long enough to block more of the sun rays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We have both deluxe and standard guest suites at our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, MA

Cheap and adequate

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Cons: complete refurbishment of rooms and better staff would help.
Location: the property is on Whitney Avenue/Rt. 10, a major thoroughfare and close to the Quinnipiac University campus; Sleeping giant State Park is nearby.
This motel used to advertise 'hourly rates' (I remembered it when we arrived and wish I had remembered it before I booked. The TV cable was nearly broken and not functioning properly; the room was shabby although clean. It is ok if you want cheap, but it is not what I would call a pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Whitney Inn & Suites is under new management and is no longer a franchise. We do not advertise hourly rates. We offer seasonal promotions and provide the best value to all of our guests. The hotel is undergoing renovations and the staff is trying their best to ensure customer satisfaction during this time. We apologize for any inconvenience. Have a wonderful day.
3 out of 5
by Denise

One night only

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Good for a one night stay. Musty smell in room. Bed was very comfortable and clean. Motel not an inn. Bathroom was ok, could be updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Management at Whitney Inn, Hotel Management
Thank your for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice Hotel close to a National Park.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: was quiet and close to stores and restaurants.
Cons: the beds.
Location: The National Park that is less than 5 minutes away is BEAUTIFUL place.
For the price it was an OK place to stay, was clean, and close to mayor highways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We are conveniently located near Sleeping Giant Park, Quinnipiac University, shopping and many restaurants. We are a limited service hotel with Free Continental Breakfast, Free Wi-fi and Free Parking. We hope you choose to stay with us again when visiting Hamden. Have a great day!