Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire Ct

Thank you, Part II

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: frequent flier type program
Location: gas station in next lot, many places to eat, walking trails, shopping.. about a 20 minute ride to New Haven/10 from dog park
Last minute, I inquired about a 2nd night's stay. The staff scrambled around and was able to move reservations to ensure I could stay in the same room!! The bad news always gets the front page- please put a spot light on this recommendation!! This will be my "no exception" first choice in hotel stays!! I've even recommended this hotel for my co-workers who travel (I work at a global Fortune 500 company). again, my home away from home and I couldn't be more thankful. High end hotels should follow this lead- they got it right!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Better than expected. Very spacious king bed room. Downside was bad smell at entrance area and room window shade not long enough to block more of the sun rays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We have both deluxe and standard guest suites at our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, MA

Cheap and adequate

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Cons: complete refurbishment of rooms and better staff would help.
Location: the property is on Whitney Avenue/Rt. 10, a major thoroughfare and close to the Quinnipiac University campus; Sleeping giant State Park is nearby.
This motel used to advertise 'hourly rates' (I remembered it when we arrived and wish I had remembered it before I booked. The TV cable was nearly broken and not functioning properly; the room was shabby although clean. It is ok if you want cheap, but it is not what I would call a pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Whitney Inn & Suites is under new management and is no longer a franchise. We do not advertise hourly rates. We offer seasonal promotions and provide the best value to all of our guests. The hotel is undergoing renovations and the staff is trying their best to ensure customer satisfaction during this time. We apologize for any inconvenience. Have a wonderful day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice Hotel close to a National Park.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: was quiet and close to stores and restaurants.
Cons: the beds.
Location: The National Park that is less than 5 minutes away is BEAUTIFUL place.
For the price it was an OK place to stay, was clean, and close to mayor highways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We are conveniently located near Sleeping Giant Park, Quinnipiac University, shopping and many restaurants. We are a limited service hotel with Free Continental Breakfast, Free Wi-fi and Free Parking. We hope you choose to stay with us again when visiting Hamden. Have a great day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wish I could say better!

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Tough one! The people tried so to be accommodating but the room we stayed in the first night was awful the bathroom .... wow, the noise the smell and no space, none, also the carpet was wet. On positive side beds seemed clean and were comfortable ..... upgraded for night two as husbands asthma was triggered, second floor. again clean and comfy bed very spacious but so dated and badly updated where updates attempted. We will not stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Management at Whitney Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response. Our staff works hard to make all of our guests happy. The hotel is undergoing renovation and we apologize for any inconvenience. Have a great day.
3 out of 5
by Grafton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Meeka

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by James

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
The place was very disappointing. Very smelly hallways. Wouldn't stay here even if it was free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Management at Whitney Inn, Hotel Management
We apologize for any inconvenience and have already resolved the issues. Thank you again for letting us know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels