Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Plymouth

good hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Electric blanket on a cold night Lovely
Really enjoyed the $1 breakfast. Only thing we had to experience was roudy people nearby.. Can't blame the Motel for that though. Would still go back. Thanks
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel Stay!!

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The king size bed
Cons: new management
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.The room was nothing like the room in the picture on the website. It was a dark dusty feeling room with just the basics. The staff are rude and didn't return my $100 bond straight away at check out as promised, even though they went to room to inspect it before checking us out. They didn't return the cash we paid for the breakfast we didn't have. The reason they said was because the payment was not on their computer system and the man that received the breakfast payment was on a day off.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Queen bed

Posted May 14, 2017
Tidy room but more like a motel than a hotel. Bed was two single beds joined together and this made it awkward. Out of 10 I give it a 3
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
English speaking staff would have been nice. Also letting guests know that they have to pay a bond prior to booking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Stop over hotel en-route to Auckland

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff. Good fish and chips in the Bistro.
Cons: All of the above mentioned in the experience paragraph.
Location: We arrived late afternoon and left the following morning early. Cannot comment on this.
The picture in the ad is misleading. The room is not as pleasant as the picture seems. The curtains are shabby and do not close properly. The pillows are flat and dated. The biggest concern is the one sink/basin that serves the kitchen and bathroom. The tea, coffee, etc on one side of sink and the soap and shampoo on other side. This means you wash your dishes in the same sink where you shave your beard. The same cupboard store food, crockery and bathroom supplies. It is unhygienic. In some countries it is against there health laws. The Bistro/dining room was very cold the evening we had dinner. There was no heating at all. We had to climb a flight of open stairs on the outside of the building to reach our room. It should be covered to protect against wind and rain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Cons: Management needs to put all the conditions of a booking on their website. Calling your customer "darling" while treating them badly does not work.
I rang to inform them that were would be checking in late. I was told that i had to provide them with a photocopy off my credit card or they would add $100.00 on my credit card (refundable) for " incidentals". There is nothing on their website about these conditions. As the room had already been paid for I had no choice. I was also told they could charge be $50.00 (non refundable) for a late check in. This was also not on their website. The "large king size"bed was 2 singles pushed together with a hard edge in the middle, the cupboard doors were disintegrating on the edges, the hole for the fridge had been badly cut and the Lino was lifting in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Reasonably priced clean but dated decor

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Clean room dated Decor great breakfast for $1 special sufficient for a night stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from meath

Last minute booking

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Accommodation was adequate. Room needs improvement... fresh paint. New bed clothes etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealalnd

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Very close to the city. Great selection of free movies.
We arrived late but the hosts were still accomodating. Continental free breakfast was a nice extra. Very good condition for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Katikati NZ

Abbots Motel/ Conference Center Hamilton

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The receptionist was difficult to understand, the entrance and dinning room was a dingy and needs a refreshing
Cons: Consider reimbursement for genuine cases of cancellations, make the entrance user friendly and inviting Freshen up the rooms, they were very tired.
Firstly, I called on the 6th April I called Abbots to say we would not be able to stay the first night booked, because my husband had a medical emergency the night before and was in hospital, he was not discharged until 6.30pm on the 6th April. We had guests from overseas that I had booked at Abbots to accompany us, they could not go as they were relying on us to transport them, therefore we were charged for the night that we did not stay, for two rooms. Surely there should be some consideration for emergency situations such as we experienced? I have a letter from the hospital to prove that this was a genuine case. The rooms were adequate but very basic . My husband and I were woken in the early hours of the morning with someone in the room behind our room snoring extremely loudly the 1st night, and the following morning again woken at 4am with a baby crying. It was not a comfortable stay, and I will think again before I book accommodation through Expedia or use Abbots again