Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Ok for the price. The photos and description need updating (i.e no restaurant).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unhelpful staff & very old.

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
We were shown a lot of run down room when we arrived, very old & dirty, not the room we booked online. Staff were very rude & unhelpful when we told them we were unhappy. They wanted us to pay more money to upgrade and would not listen when we told them that was not what we booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kawerau

Friendly, comfortable motel

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: See above comments
Location: see above
Nice complex, good amenities including pool. Handy location. Greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable room, all you need.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decieving, upgrade where possible.

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Amazing shower pressure, unlimited Wi-Fi
Cons: Sky TV for units, modern appliances-fridge was thunderingly loud. better fit-out in general
Location: Well positioned in Hamiltion
Very disapontined, not quite what I thought I had booked, very basic and uncleaned, sheets were disgusting, not enough pilows, shower mouldy. The Manager even stated the next morning that the room we had been placed in is usually promoted as "just a place to sleep" and that he doesn't usually place females in it. The insinuation was that it is just a bigger area for visiting partygoers. On a more positive note it did appear that the property was mid-renovation and that some guest rooms were rennovated to modern standards. The reception area had been modernised and given time and capital I imagine the rest of the Motel will follow suit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Cheap, in need of some TLC

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Price and location were good.
Cons: Lots of small general repairs. Light fittings needed to be attached properly, all light bulbs should be working. Shower could use some love.
Location: 20 minutes from Fielddays where Equidays was being held which is what we were down for.
This was the only hotel that had 2 bedrooms with more than 1 large bed (double, queen or king) that didn't cost ridiculous amounts of money. The ad said it had 2x queen beds but it actually only had 1 queen and 1 double. Condition of the rooms were pretty poor, light fittings were falling out of the ceiling (not like dangling from wires but not sitting flush how they should). Not all the light bulbs worked. The shower control was broken (still usable) and the walls in the shower were showing a lot of wear, edges/joins were starting to flake off the laminate. All the doors were hard to open and shut, hinged doors were tight and sliding doors didn't slide smoothly. Also for a "Family" suite the TV was pretty small, you'd have a hard time fitting your family around it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whangarei

Dirty and poorly maintained

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Location was great and we made the most of nearby activities. Mini golf over the rd and the Classics car museum were fantastic. But stay else where
We stayed 4/10/16 in a family unit. I checked the previous reviews and noticed they had written info back on some to say recent renovations and new ownership so despite the reviews decided to give them a try. Never again no maintainance in many years. We arrived mid arvo to a sign on the reception door that said reception closed till 9am ummm got that sorted. Went to our room stained carpet and chairs/couches. Lino peeling away bad around the bathroom and down lights hanging out (not fixed properly) of ceiling. Dirty spoons and forks in with clean cuttlery and a very dirty glass. The dishes sit upside down on a shelf which is plain unsealed mdf not easily cleaned and looked like it. Black hairs in the bed my daughter was supposed to sleep in. Paint peeling on every serface. Holes in the ceiling with a board fixed over. Two doors had cracks/holes in. The door to another room didn't slid and couldn't be shut easily so we kept open. The taps and shower dripped constantly unless screwed so hard off our big kids couldn't turn them back on very easily. Oh and on top of that we couldn't see a smoke alarm anywhere, probably not great in a poorly maintained place...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Wotif
Very noisy and unclean. Was woken at 10.30pm with renovations being performed in the next room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manawatu

Our stay

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Clean, nice shower and good bed.
Cons: Reception area be more professional.
Nice hotel, rooms were clean. Bit of a mix up when we booked in that night but was sorted straight away which was excellent as we were tired. We were sharing a room with another couple and we booked the two bedroom apartment which had a queen and single bed on the mezzanine floor and a queen down stairs with a single in a room to the back. It was a nice room for one night when sharing with others. Customer service when returning the key the next morning had four women at the reception area eating breakfast. That was not very professional. Overall a nice hotel, and would recommend to others.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shocking! Mouldy, not heaters, yuk

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Wotif
Not good, absolutely shocking, I wouldn't recommend