Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chiefs Rugby Game stay over.

Posted May 12, 2016
Family room was old and outdated, cobwebs in one room, a smudged organic substance in carpet in another room. Could not contact reception/personnel at all at 9pm all phone numbers went to voice mail. Paid $190. Hotel owner was very polite and thanked us for the stay, good customer service at check-in time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

suited our needs

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Wotif
Can be hard to find accomodation for 5 at a decent price, this meet our needs in that area. Could have been cleaner with surfaces wiped down but mostly it was fine. Facilities to make breakfast and wash dishes would have been a bonus! There is a jug and fridge but washing dishes in the bathroom isn't ideal
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
hello, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. we are always happy to hear suggestions from our guests and we have taken this on board for future planning. if you are back in hamilton any time in the future please do come and stay again and we would be happy to book you into a room with a kitchen :) Regards Alcamo staff
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by sarah, Hotel Management
thank you for choosing to stay with us. we would love to see you again in the future
3 out of 5
by Fred from New Plymouth

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is basic and in places a bit jaded but as long as you are ready for that it has everything you want - HD TV, coffee/tea, off road parking, and for my $89 I got double bed, single bed, couch, kitchen with microwave, shower/toilet/handbasin. The reception was helpful and the location is ok. It was clean and tidy. You get what you pay for and this gives you waht you pay for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by sarah, Hotel Management
Hi Fred thank you for your feed back, we are always looking for ways to improve. we have since made a lot of changes including total room renovations that we would love you to see next time your in Hamilton. Regards Alcamo
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tauranga, New Zealand

Alcamo

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Spa bath
Cons: Difficulty getting ins me out of bath
Location: Gd location central close to stadium
Clean tidy room, pay for what you get. Happy with what the room provided. No sky tv which was a little disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: Cheap
Location: Good for rugby
This place has seen its day, needs a total refit. Rooms are old, shower is wired.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2016 by sarah, Hotel Management
Hello, it is unfortunate that you were disappointed with your stay. we have since undergone a management change along with a face lift to our rooms and facilities. we hope to see you in the future .
4 out of 5
by Wendy from Bellevue

Wonderful spa bath.

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels
The only real complaint was that the restaurant was supposed to be open Mon-Sat, we stayed Sat nite and went to have dinner and it was closed. Change the signage perhaps?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a bit funny...but in a good way

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels
Check in was smooth and very informative of the room's...unique features...like antique space age lighting. There's a pool! Looked clean but didn't use it. There was a bar! But it seemed deserted, the one beer I bought there was expired and they seemed confused to see another human. Overall, sweet bath tub win us over. Seriously, get the jet tub.
2 out of 5
by Scott from Napier

Disappointing

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Pros: Handy location
Cons: As above
Location: Handy
It was uncomfortable. The room was drafty and cold. We needed the heater on full all the time and overnight on mid heat. There was no sink to fill the jug and it wouldn't fit under the tap in the bathroom basin, so good thing we had a bath to fill the jug from bath taps. Both drinking glasses were dirty with something pink and sticky inside the bottom of them. The bathroom wall between the tiles were dirty and mouldy. A third of one curtain had snapped off it's hooks and was just hanging there, looked tacky. It was all very outdated and disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend spot - good value

Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels
Good value for money, the spa bath is a plus.