Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
The mattress was of extremely low quality. Because of the low price,I'm not expecting to sleep on clouds - but this was particularly bad. Hotel is close to amenities and the staff were very friendly. But the mattress was just so bad
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast buffet as nothing , and loud noisy AC

Posted Jul 17, 2016
I would not come back to this hotel due to points mentioned
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but attention to detail

Posted May 16, 2016
Stay was short. I should have said something, but after my shower, I expect clean white towels. Although the towel may have been clean, a small faded orange mark was not desirable. I put it aside and grabbed a hand towel aside. I figured that it is the Holiday Inn so it must have been clean. My overall stay was pleasant. Room was clean. Temperature nice.
4 out of 5
by Denis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Chelsea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Mathew from Saskatoon

Noisy or stinky rooms, Not worth for the money

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Got a room beside the Atrium. Could not sleep till 11 pm because people playing ping pong and shouting. Changed my room. This room stunk like water damage to the carpet. Horrible one week stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Wendy, Hotel Management
Dear Mathew Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and we wish we could have done something more for you. We do have rooms that face into our Atrium area which families love however it can be a bit noisey at times and does close at 11pm as you had stated. We do have rooms facing outside which have windows to outside and can be much quieter. We are soory that you felt your room had an odor as all of our carpets are only 4 years old and we have not had any water damage. Please do not hesitiate to speak to our Manager on Duty during your stay to let us know what we can do to make your stay better. We do hope that you will try us again as it is very important to us that allof our guests are happy with thier stay.
4 out of 5
by yvan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels