Ratings based on 1,693 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ky

As advertised

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Plenty to see ,close
As advertised. Plenty to do. Good food. Great drinks !!!!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, NH

Great location!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
My husband and I honeymooned here 2 weeks ago. We absolutely loved Bermuda and I would give Grotto Bay 4/5 stars. Pros: Our bed was VERY comfortable! Great location - easy to get to anywhere on the island either via public transportation or scooter All Inclusive was definitely worth it! You have to purchase the all-inclusive package for a minimum of 3 nights but it includes all food, drink, transportation passes (including ferries), snorkel equipment (which you can take off the resort), paddle boards, sailboats, kayaks, etc. Staff was very friendly and housekeeping always kept our room neat. The beach area for the resort is great for lounging and relaxing, as is the pool. Right down the road (walking distance) from a scooter rental place and 2 of the island's biggest attractions - Swizzle Inn and Bailey's Ice Cream. Cons: We would have liked more entertainment and/or night activities hosted by the resort. This was the one area I would say they were lacking in. Lots of stairs to get to places within the resort (not a con for us, but could be for those who are less mobile) Our room didn't have the best view, despite them saying they upgraded us... No free hotel shuttle to and from the airport - would have been a nice added feature
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I highly recommend this resort!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The super clean beach and amazing service by the staff.
Cons: Just the rust in the bathroom. A little light repairs would make it a 5 out of 5.
Location: 5 minutes from the airport, 20 min from the busier city of Hamilton with many shops, a short walk to the Swizzle Inn & amazing caves!
The resort is amazing, the staff is super friendly and always helpful. The room had a great view with privacy. My only concern was the rust stains in the toilet and under the toilet as well as the dimly light bathroom. Other than that the resort was beautiful, beach was immaculate, great water sports available and the food was pretty good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Beach
Cons: Room was dirty on check in
Location: Good location on island
Bathroom dirty when checked in, lots of steps, nice pool and beach. Service very slow in restaurants and pool bar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but the hospitality could be better

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Our room was great and house keeping did a great job and were very nice when we did happen to see them.
Cons: Pool bar staff. Lackluster to say the least.
Location: Rent a boat and take a picnic. Snorkel and anchor on the sandbar near Castle Island and enjoy wading in the water.
The location and grounds are amazing. I love the layout of the sprawling buildings and I didn't mind all the stairs. The staff however, could use some up training. The concierge was great and probably the most knowledgable person we spoke with and she gave great directions for anything we asked. Front desk staff was second to the concierge in knowledge. Dinner reservations closed a bit early especially after we had been out all day seeing the sights. I would think it could easily roll over to the front desk instead of a cut off. Pool bar staff seemed like you were bothering them with the simplest request and their lack of promptness. Not sure if it's because they don't care or the gratuity is automatically included but nowhere else on the island this was an issue.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Everything anyone would ever want in a resort...just a little dissatisfied with the front desk service and the fact that the landscaping was done, very loudly and very obviously during prime beach time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The only negative is we reserved a king bed and ended up with 2 doubles. Everything else was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Good quality hotel with slight issues

Posted Sep 21, 2016
The hotel and the rooms are situated to take advantage of great views. The housekeeping staff is wonderful. Most of the restaurant staff are very professional and friendly. The food is good. The grounds are lovely. The beach area is very small but nice. We had one overcooked meal in the week. We had horrible service from one very inexperienced waiter one night. The concierge we dealt with was very aloof and made us feel as if we were foolish to ask questions. We had to go through the hotel manager who corrected a few things. Ask for an orientation upon arrival so toy don't get caught missing out on things. They do not communicate events very well. It was a very restful week.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Mixed feelings

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Hotel doesn't accommodate for early check in or late check out. I wouldn't have minded to pay an extra fee to check in earlier especially after getting off from two different flights. I requested a king size bed but was given two double beds and wasn't informed beforehand. They gave me a king size two days later. Rooms are a bit outdated. Most of staff was nice especially Keona in guest services. I don't know if I would recommend this hotel but I probably won't stay there again. However Bermuda was so beautiful and it overshadowed my experience at the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful. Views are amazing.
Cons: They have a buffet breakfast and a continental breakfast but I feel they should also offer other breakfasts as well.
Location: Location is great. Busses and scooters close by.
My husband and I really like this hotel. We did not get a king size bed as we requested, we were downsized not to two queens but to two double beds. Outside oft that we were very satisfied with the hotel and definitely the staff.