Ratings based on 1,779 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort, location, food, staff.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Expedia lists the resort as all inclusive but it is not included in the price. when you get there you have to pay per person per day extra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to a beach

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Very nice spot, food was great (highly recommend purchasing all inclusive plan). Very little to no night entertainment at hotel for both kids and adult
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Good Stay

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, and clean room.
Cons: If I owned the hotel I would upgrade the furniture in the rooms. The furniture is dated. I would also like a bigger bathroom.
Location: There is a nice pool, jacuzzi, fitness room, massage parlor, and crystal caves on the premises. Taking the bus you can easily reach other attractions.
Clean room with an excellent view of the ocean and bay. Even though we were only 5 minutes from the airport, we were not disturbed at all by planes coming and going. Very friendly staff all around. They have staff who introduce you to various things to do if you do not have a familiarity of the island. My wife and I had a great time. I would recommend that you get the all inclusive meals. Things are very expensive on the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Ticket to Paradise

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Unlike other hotels on the island that require shuttles, you are steps from the pool and beach.
Cons: Most of the staff were very nice and accommodating. There are one or two that could use a course in hospitality.
Location: Take advantage of the free bus passes to St George's, downtown Hamilton and the Crystal Caves.
Overall, I had a pleasant stay at the Grotto. It's the only all-inclusive hotel on the island, which includes food, drinks, activities, and even bus passes to other parts of the island. You can't beat the price considering that without this perk, it would be a very expensive vacation otherwise. My only issue was with the actual booking at Expedia. The package is listed as all-inclusive, but if you don't select the room option that is (not all listed are), you will be surprised at check-in with an additional cost to upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cinci

relaxing

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: massage, cave, comfy be, tea time, close to bus stop
Cons: add ramps, showers, schedules for meals
Location: near bus stop, small island
We brought our 7 month old. There were a lot of stairs, so that made a stroller difficult. We were able to brng an umbrella stroller on the bus. We felt safe. We did the all inclusive 5 days. It was worth it. Food was very expensive. A bottle of water was $3.50. It included bus tickets ni the all-inclusive. Most of the staff was very friendly. However, they were a bit understaffed at meals. The pool was heated. We loved feeding the fish by the water. We requested a king bed, but was sent to 2 doubles. We asked to be moved and were. We got an ocean front room and loved it. I got an massage on a floating pontoon in the cave and highly recommend. We enjoyed tea time. The showers have a weird half wall. meals are at certain times, so you will need to follow a bit of a schedule. The rum swizzle was delicious, as well as the fruit and mango sorbet. We saw lots of expecting moms. It was very kid friendly. Caves are very cool1
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Best ocean view location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The beach.
Cons: The rooms seem outdated and a microwave would be great in the rooms. In one room the rugs were torn and the other was missing the rugs?!?
Location: Not much to do near by, one restaurant an a small store and a bus stop to carry you into the bigger towns . Bermuda is beautiful and worth exploring.
The view of the ocean is the best in town, stunning. The resort itself is about two steps above a Poconos, PA ambiance. Food is expensive so you may want to get the all inclusive. There are other places to eat but they are as expensive as the resort. I would visit again, but I don't think is an almost four star locale. Is more like an honest three stars. Not much for the kids to do and there is no real night life on the resort. Very relax, no loud music, lots of families on holidays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice hotel with nice beach and amenities

Posted Apr 15, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Grotto Bay. Very relaxing with good food and nice grounds. It was a bit cool to enjoy all the water activities but they had nice paddle boards and kayaks, etc. The only thing was not much to do at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

Beautiful Bermuda!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
This hotel is wonderful! The staff are beyond friendly and helpful. The pool, beach, and cave to swim in are all lovely. Swimming in the cave and getting the massage in the cave were unforgettable. We didn't do the all inclusive, but the breakfast buffet we did eat was amazing- omelet station, and all sorts of other goodies. The resort had activities, like live music, storytellers, and kitemaking, while we were there. Great location for taking the bus to see the whole island. Our room was nice, and each room had a balcony. The only thing I would say is our view wasn't the greatest, it was of the airport, but you could still see the beautiful blue water and I'm sure other rooms have better views. We loved Grotto Bay and will stay again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel, convenient location

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Location: Crystal Caves within walking distance. Bus stop within walking distance.
Lovely setting, nice view of the ocean. Got complimentary room upgrade. Nice pool. Close proximity to bus stop. On site restaurant was good. Helpful and knowledgeable staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting, wonderful staff, so-so rooms

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: So many things... the grounds, the staff, the location, the amenities, the bus access, even the guests!
Cons: A little updating in the rooms, better control of humidity, definitely improve the exercise room! Consider an a la carte breakfast menu.
Location: Loved the location. The bus stops right outside of the resort and can take you anywhere. There is a lot to explore all over the Island.
The resort is really quite nice. The staff was wonderful; very helpful and friendly. The massage at the grotto was just wonderful (though a little chilly) and the grounds (including the caves) were charming (especially the chicks and kitties!). The heated pool is a nice size and there is a nice little stretch of beach for wading/swimming. It's quite close to St Georges and not far at all from Hamilton and the major beach areas, all easily accessible by the bus, which stops right outside of the resort. Overall, the other vacationers seemed happy and pleasant. The food was pretty good as well, though we would not do an all inclusive... there are too many interesting places to try on the Island. I would definitely come back A couple of things though: The exercise room was small, smelly and dirty Our room was a bit on the musty side and could have been updated with better amenities--eg, a better coffee maker, updated fridge, better air climate control It would be nice if they offered something for breakfast between a muffin or a little box of cereal or a huge, over priced buffet meal