Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from somerset

Nice place to stay , very clean

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We stayed for to nights at the abbey lodge guest house , very nice and clean , we had a double room with en suite ,would recommend this , also close to beach , the chap who greeted us was very nice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Although very clean, the guesthouse is a little tired. It was quite a busy guesthouse around the clock so a good nights sleep was difficult, not helped by noisy neighbors and dogs outside. All a bit upsetting after paying quite a price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LN

In southsea close to all the pubs and restaurant

Posted Jul 16, 2016
I got the double en-suite (bathtub) attic room , however it was facing the main road therefore quite noisy and didn't get a good night sleep. Secondly, being charged £85 for just en-suit room without breakfast, I felt was a little overboard as the room didn't live up to the price they were asking for. This is because the room was quite old, nothing was new and the internet connection wasn't that strong that in order to load emails or use iPhone messager. I had to go in the toilet to get the signal to work, which I found was just ridiculous as I was being charged £85 a night for that!, Also the cups to drink water were stained with I believe water that wasn't cleaned out properly. The toilet wasn't that cleaned as I had to use toilet hygiene covers on them. I would also say before you book, just confirm as to whether what is being advertised on the internet is what is being offered cause I found the room a lot disappointing and over priced for an old room without internet and not to forget sharing of shower and toilets rooms with other guest if you didn't have an en-suite room and for someone who doesn't takes baths, I had to go down stairs to take a shower, which I found to be unconvincing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MK

Good Location

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Within walking distance to Southsea beach, ideal location, good bus link, local shops very close.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Hotel was lovely first time.

Posted May 23, 2016
First time we stayed at abbey lodge it was lovely, couldn't pick up on anything. However during our recent stay, we came in and noticed the smell of wee on the floor, which was really disappointing seeing as the time before when we stayed, we decided we would want to come and use this service again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from devon

Great place to stop for the night before work

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Warm friendly a good place to stop for the night walking distance from the shops and seafront parking on the road is a bit hit and miss but all in all good value and comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good bus route within a few minute walk

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: the soft comfortable bed
found it easy to get to the local buses, and within walking distance to the beach, shops
4 out of 5
by Ben

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by jonathan from france

très très bon séjour

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Le séjour a été super. Le propriétaire de l'hôtel est très accueillant et agréable