Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

horrible experience.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
checked in at 11, room was freezing so i asked for a heater. Was told there is no heaters available and that the heat get turned on at 17.00 Which sounds utter ridiculous! So i paid 55 pound a night for a freezing room with a horrible bed. Very dirty bed! Stains on the bedsheets and pillows. Had to resort to wrap my towel around the pillow. Worst hotel experience i have ever had!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Appauling,

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Allowing people to check in, answering their phone.
Location: Great for shivering in the cold when hotel behaves appaulingly.
Booked into this Hotel. Email said check in up untill 10pm. Arrived at 915 front door locked. Rang both bells for 20 mins. No answer. Rang the phone several times no answer. Left on the street on a cold December night. To add insult to injury I have left two messages and they havent bothered calling me back to apologies, explan or offer a refund. Completely disgusted. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could have been good

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
We picked Abbey Lodge because of its location and price. We found the staff welcoming and checked in easily. Free parking outside the Lodge was included. However, the room was cold, and the heating was only switched on as we were leaving. One of the owners said that they forgot to put it on and apologised. The room was clean, and had the usual hotel setup, although pretty thin pillows if you ask me. The next door neighbours had a 21st birthday party next door; not their fault, but then their son or some long term lodger came in with his mates at about 01:30 and started parting too. I had to go round twice to get them to stop being noisy so we could sleep. All in all, the last time I slept this badly was when there was roadworks next to a campsite. Breakfast was cooked, included in the price, and excellent. This could have been a nice stop over, but beware the location seems to be student party land; not the owner's fault, but a significant consideration when booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RO

Good find at a fare price

Posted Nov 1, 2016
The location of this B&B is just perfect - in walking distance to the railway station, to the Mayflower theater, the Sea Museum and the historic area of the city. The neighborhood is also safe and quiet. Our host was very nice and helpful. She helped us with directions to the main attractions of the city and cooked us a delicious breakfast each morning. If you are looking for accommodation for a city break at a fare price, but still clean and comfortable, Abbey Lodge is a perfect choice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location,convenient

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
nice owners,very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

ABBEY LODGE.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Close to the city centre & cruise terminal.
Cons: Parking on road, we where lucky and managed to park on hotel drive.
Location: Walking distance of city centre.
Nice room, double & single bed in room. Tv, kettle, tea & coffee, free WI-FI in room. Good choice at breakfast. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Very clean, breakfast very good owners very helpful gave excellent service, only drawback shared bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly convenient Guesthouse

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly guesthouse comfortable spacious room Good WiFi great breakfast convenient location will return
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedford

Quaint little B & B

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Host was very helpful, swift to lend ironing board move cars for parking.