Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Useful for its location but not a holiday hotel.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location. Appearance and facilities. Good parking. Helpful staff.
Cons: Bath/shower. Bedroom ventilation, an opening window would nice.
Location: The town of Alton has plenty of good eating and drinking places. The main tourist attraction is the Watercress Line; a working 10 mile steam railway.
Good size room and comfortable. The bathroom is dated and the shower rather lacking. Room was too hot Overnight as it was a hot day, but the only ventilation was some external doors to a car park which felt insecure to sleep with them open.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Very Nice Hotel. Recommended to All

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: It is in a lovely part of the world
We had a one night stopover bed and breakfast and found everything to our complete satisfaction
4 out of 5
by Laurent from Bourgogne

Bon hôtel mais prenez votre breakfast ailleurs

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel parfait pour visiter la région. Le bâtiment et la chambre était bien. Par contre, le personnel que nous avons rencontré était limite désagréable. Les discussions dans le hall d'entrée s'entendent dans les chambres. Se faire réveiller à cause de ça à 1h du matin , c'est dommage. Le petit déjeuner est un buffet traditionnel en libre service très moyen. Le problème est qu'il faut demander le café et le pain. On vous apporte une tasse, et 3 demi-toasts d'un pain que vous ne pouvez pas choisir, c'est maigre... Avoir à redemander en permanence, c'est pénible...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice business hotel close to the station

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: location to station
Cons: refresh public rooms, new carpets in room corridors, update bathrooms
I understand that there will be some major renovations coming which will overcome the tired nature of some of the hotel areas. The building looks impressive however some areas are tired. Nothing wrong just tired. This is a good hotel for the price. Nothing amazing a good standard hotel which for the money is what you would expect
5 out of 5
by eLIZABETH NEIL from THE SOUTH WEST

Relaxing and well organised two night stay.

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Well organised staff with the minimum of fuss which makes for relaxation.Chosen for on site car parking (plenty}, walking distance to our favourite second hand bookshop, driving distance to visit best friends and then to pick up our grandchildren. Only one oversight to the welcome: it was very cold weather on arrival and the room heating was not on, even on lowest level. Heater more than adequate for remainder of stay but it took 2 hours to initially banish the chill. Rest of hotel warm with a lovely fire & comfy seating in the inner hall. We had a meal in the hotel, good choice on menu for the price band, flavourful and quick service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenient hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable stay and friendly staff. Dining room very slow
5 out of 5
by Mark from Fareham

It did what it said on the tin

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
I selected the hotel based mainly on the near vicinity of friend's wedding function, 15 mins away. The frontage looked nice, on the website, and the ratings seemed good. During my single night stay the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. The check-in/out went with a breeze, no complications at all. Everything you want from a hotel in this capacity. AND... I can thoroughly recommend Taj's taxi! Overall, a great stay. Thank you Alton House Hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Noise in rooms thin walls emptying bottle banks at 6 in morning. Food in the evening was a little hit and miss but good breakfast
Good hotel friendly helpful staff nothing was too much trouble
3 out of 5
by Chris from Redditch

Business trip

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was a little tired, I was travelling with business and have a box van and parking was very difficult, limitations due to part of the car park accessible via an archway unsuitable for taller vehicles. Room was spacious enough and heating good and good solid stone walls enabling a sound nights sleep. Walking distance to main high street and a supermarket.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Stayed here now for three trips. Friendly Staff good accommodation.