Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guadaljara, Mexico

A small impersonable b&b

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See above. Also the checkout time, 10am is too early.
I'm an older guy and it will be a lasting unpleasant memory of me struggling to lug my heavy suitcase up a set of narrow stairs with the owner at the foot of the stairs watching. While it didn't occur to him to lend a hand he did manage to complain strongly that I may have left some scuff marks on his precious newly-painted wall adjacent to the stair case. The breakfast hours are restricted to one hour: 8 to 9 am, so if you intend to partake of breakfast don't plan on sleeping in if you're tired after a long trip. There is no lounge other than the breakfast room which is closed during the day. If you are looking for a place to relax, unwind and take it easy this may not be the place for you, unless you enjoy being cooped up in a small bedroom which, other than the twin beds offers two uncomfortable wooden chairs for your "comfort". There's a small TV near the ceiling which offers you a sore neck as a reward for watching it. As you can gather from the above my wife and I do not recommend this place.
3 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient & clean

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Nice engaging proprietor. Limited parking in front but good street parking
5 out of 5
by Ashley from Indianapolis

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
By far the best place I have stayed so far! The hotel is close to everything- bus route and train. Yet it was quiet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Basic but fine for a couple of nights

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Close to train station and the Common.
Cons: Check in time could be a little earlier as 2pm meant we missed some of the bands as the festival started at 11:30.
Location: We only went to the festival so I do not know about what to do locally. Was close to train station we walked there in approx. 10 minutes.
My friend and I went to Common People which was close to Argyle Lodge. We just needed somewhere to sleep and get ready for the day ahead. Bed was comfortable and bedding clean. Breakfast was a fry up with a choice of scrambled, fried or poached egg, along with fruit juice, cereals, yoghurt, toast and fruit. We had a shared bathroom which was close to our room and clean. It met our needs for the weekend and was better than camping.
5 out of 5
by Cathy from Canada

Good overnight

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Good everything, nice owner, breakfast is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy and homely hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Warm welcome, clean, would stay again :) Good location, quiet area but close enough to the city centre. Comfy beds and nice atmosphere Good price
4 out of 5
by Rob from Portsmouth

Couples Theatre Stay

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Had a nice stay in this Hotel. Room was clean and welcoming. We decided before arriving that we'd like an en-suite so called and upgraded with no problems. No trouble parking infront of Hotel and the location is within walking distance of West Quay and the Mayflower Theatre so did some Christmas shopping before going out to see a show. Overall a very relaxing little break for both of us and we would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Leicester

Not en suite.....

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
First thoughts upon arrival were disappointing as we assumed we had booked an en suite going on the picture of the room on the website, it was a bedroom with two shower rooms along the corridor, beds were comfy, we had a warm welcome at breakfast and the food was lovely so overall it was a pleasant stay......