Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Country House with potential

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The hotel is lovely, the rooms are a little tired and could do with better facilities like walk in showers and more plug sockets. The Welcome Book is out of date and sometimes a little too vague when referring to remote controllers which are no longer used etc The staff are very young or very old and whilst the young ones are keen - but a little inept - the old ones are set in their ways and too "old school". The car park is a long way from the entrance and there is no one to help with luggage. The website boosts that the grounds are 7 acres but there are no documented walks for the grounds and I found them very limited and certainly not 7 acres of perambulate! The food was distinctly average and the Room Service menu is quite limited My breakfast was burnt on Day three and the "waffles" offered on the menu looked suspiciously like Sainsbury's not the big American fluffy ones I was expecting The staff were very willing - but needed reminding when requests went in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nice location- shame about the views!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The hotel itself was beautiful: traditional furniture and fixtures in the main lobby and seating area however the service wasn't spectacular and the view from our room was not a 'garden view' as promised. When checking in, the receptionist took the wrong amount of money and did not give us any information about breakfast or check in times which was disappointing. The room was nice, except it was quite dusty in places and the view which stated on the website as being one of the garden, was actually of bushes and trees approximately 4m away and we couldn't see any of the garden. At approximately £160 a night I would expect a better view. The classic room which would have been cheaper had the only difference of a double bed and as I paid for an executive room I assumed the view would be better which was a shame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Beautiful hotel in a lovely setting

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Absolutely lovely setting, really quiet and peaceful. Very quick check in. Breakfast was very nice. Plenty of parking in the 2 car parks. We stayed on the ground floor but still had beautiful views of the gardens. We'd definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan, USA

Beautiful oasis

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Very comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds, friendly staff and tasteful decor. Breakfast was great but dinner menu a bit too fancy for my taste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire uk

Excellent food poor service

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Friendly welcome lovely hotel. Booked a upgraded room was disappointed nothing special. Bed cover was soiled asked for clean one and they sent one with pins in not impressed. Bar man very nice and helpful but restraint staff didn't introduce them self's no smiles or feed back asked for jug of water but got a bottle which was charged at £5. Food was excellent very high standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Welcoming Country Hotel.

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: The helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, nothing is too much trouble and always with a smile.
Cons: Perhaps there are a number of re-furb 'tweaks' which would enhance the general appearance of the Hotel, but this in no way detracted from our stay.
This was our third visit to Audleys Wood, we are always completely satisfied with the service and helpful staff which is why, when we are in the area, we would always choose this wonderful Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2016
Hotel accebtable but a little pricey. Dinner disapointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spain

Excellent Hotel Standards

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Cons: Most negative comment was there Wi-Fi, it was terrible all the stay, very frustrating in this day of technology , shame that it let it down ...
Location: Location was great and easy access to the M3 Motorway network
From the moment we checked in the whole stay was second to none, normally this is a one or perhaps two night stay but we had about a week there. The staff were so helpful and very courteous on all levels, the room was clean and lovely bath towels provided. We used the fridge and iron and there video choices, even the water provided was a welcome touch. The morning breakfasts were delightful and catered for everyone, staff exceptional even when busy. Car parking no problem and the grounds of the hotel were well cared for... On the whole a real relaxing hotel with great staff to look after you, will definitely stay again...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice location only a short drive into town.

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: Room was clean, and bed was comfy and situated in a nice location.
Cons: Make sure your paying guests can get a booking in the restaurant.
Hotel OK however, tried to book an evening meal only to be told they were fully booked. Apparently had two birthday party functions in hotel over the weekend we stayed. Would have thought they would have kept some spaces free in their restaurant for hotel staying guests. We had to drive to the nearest pub 'The Jolly Farmer' which I would thoroughly recommend (and much cheaper, by half the price). Won't stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Tasting menu in simmonds room

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Amazing tasting menu experience. We had matching wines. Was excellent quality and matched by the service.