Ratings based on 614 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Excellent hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Location, price and comfortable beds and updated room.
Cons: An on/off switch for the heated towel rack.
Location: Close to train station, bus station, Winchester cathedral only a few blocks away, many restaurants and shopping only a few blocks away also.
Loved the city of Winchester and this hotel was a great place to stay. Close to Train Station (8-10 min walk), close to Winchester Cathedral and many other city sites and close to restaurants and shopping. The hotel was recently refurbished and the rooms were modern and clean with very comfortable beds. There was a restaurant in the hotel but we didn't eat there so can't comment on the food an service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

A family visit for a wedding

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The space ,the cleanliness, the friendliness of the staff. The room price.A very smart hotel.
Cons: Meal costs
Location: Location is close to the town . Not far from the station . It has a good car park. The Winchester Cathedral is a short walk away plus the round table.
A very good hotel close to the town centre , but still quiet. Very comfortable place . very good clean and comfortable bedrooms. Nice well kept gardens at the back with plenty of seating and tables to sit out on a nice day. Staff were polite and friendly. The hotels appearance was i keeping with the local buildings but modern . meals cost is slightly on the high side, but I suppose in keeping with other local establishments but we are from Cheshire and look for value for money. However the hotel room costs were good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Anglia

Perfect for a visit to central Winchester

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: More Staff on check in and check out particularly.
Location: Lots to do in Winchester - easy to get around.
We were only there one night but all went well although a few more staff members for the check out time would have been good - I was ahead of a large queue. Also we were very happy we managed to get a parking space as they are first come first served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Town center, good location.

Posted May 10, 2017
Stayed one night only. Parking space was tight and expensive. Breakfast seemed expensive as well but room overlooking garden was beautiful and staff were pleasant. Room was large and amenities good. Nice to have a larger tv screen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right in the centre of town

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Lovely character hotel with great facilities, right in the centre of Winchester, close to the main street and the cathedral.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Great city centre hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The rooms ,we loved the bed ..
Cons: Only a lift really ...
Location: Winchester is on the door step ..We did all the museums and the cathedral ...The walk to the bishop's palace is lovely ..Great places to eat
Fantastic beds ..Staff couldn't have been more helpful, everything very clean .All the tourist attractions eateries shopping right on the door step ,but a nice quiet nights sleep in room 132.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel close to the town centre

Posted Apr 13, 2017
I stayed at this hotel for just one night, following a friend's celebratory birthday lunch in one of the function rooms. The lunch was excellent in all respects, and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone thinking of holding a similar function. My room was well appointed, with a large TV, tea and coffee making facilities and most importantly, a very comfortable bed, in which I spent a very restful night. My only gripe is that the service at breakfast was very slow, and the breakfast buffet was not replenished speedily enough, leaving very little choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Well situated for town ,station. Quiet location

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Made most welcome. Had coffee in garden on arrival as we were early. Excellent breakfasts. Staff very happy to help with any queries and keen to ensure our stay was a good one. Luggage stored after room vacated so we could enjoy the town for longer. Room comfortable and spacious. A really good choice for our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg and Cape Town South Africa

Very Professional

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Good position and very well run and clean
Cons: The coffee station - instant coffee??
Location: Well placed for a visit to the Cathedral - well worth it
Lovely setting very professionally run hotel. Staff efficient. Hotel very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely charming hotel with comfy bed

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Really lovely hotel and comfy room. Very tight for parking, we got the last space in the second car park. Good location in town and beautiful gardens.