Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central and perfect for an overnight stay

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Nice hotel.the staff were friendly and most helpful! There's a small car park @ £10 for 24 hours and breakfast is also £10 which WA excellent value
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron, OH

Great location and very hospitable staff.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location is great, within walking distance to everything.
The staff at the Winchester Royal were so hospitable. We had a great stay and can't wait to visit again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Typisch englisches Hotel mit dem Charme von 1912.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Die zentrale Lage und das Ambiente
Cons: Die Zimmer (nicht im Haupthaus), sind leider etwas ungepflegt. Der Toilettensitz locker, in der Dusche abgebrochene Teile, der Teppich sehr alt.
Location: Das Hotel liegt gegenüber der Fußgängerzone. In wenigen Minuten kann man die Kathedrale erreichen, oder Winchester Castle. Viele Pubs in der Nähe.
Sehr zentrale Lage in der Altstadt von Winchester. Die Atmosphäre ist "very britisch", das Frühstück von sehr guter Qualität. Es gibt einen schönen Garten und ein gutes Restaurant, in dem man einen sehr guten " creme tea" bekommen kann. Leider steht der Flur den ganzen Tag voll mit alter Wäsche und benutztem Geschirr. Die Schränke im Gang stehen offen, während das Housekeeping-team am Werk ist. Das empfanden wir als sehr störend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Central location but must try harder.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Central location. The first floor room was clean, comfortable and quiet, despite overlooking the carpark.
Cons: More waiting staff, better trained. Room rates need to reflect the service offered. Don't charge guests to park in the hotel carpark.
Location: The hotel is in central Winchester. It is an easy and quick walk to the Cathedral and shops. It is reasonably close to the railway station.
Room clean and comfortable. Too few staff in evidence and those there were appeared over-stretched. Had to find someone to serve in the bar at 6.30 on a Friday night. Request for fresh milk to the room forgotten. At breakfast as no-one was front of house we found a table and seated ourselves. When a waitress did appear we were not offered tea or coffee and had to ask and the hotel breakfast buffet system was not explained to us. We were discouraged from sitting in the more airy Hampshire Room, off the overcrowded main area, but declined. Tables in the main area were too close together and impeded the route to and from the raised area where the help yourself buffet tables are placed. Tables needed clearing more quickly. Several young staff explained they were new and had to check when requests were made. This is still a comfortable, centrally located hotel but it is overpriced for what it offers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Location, room size and amenities.
Cons: See above.
Location: Easy walking distance to historical downtown features.
Very nice hotel, but no air conditioning. Suggest at least having a fan in the room. Also, no sheet to cover with on the bed, only a thick comforter. It is either too hot with the comforter or too cool with no cover; there's no in-between option.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Great Location in Winchester

Posted Jun 15, 2016
What matters most for me are the hotels location, parking, how well I slept, the quality of the breakfast, and speed of the Internet. The location is very good for those wishing to go to the cathedral and other places in that part of town. Four stars. Sleep was hampered by the rooms being too warm (no AC) and noise from those drinking in the garden area. One star. Parking was adequate except the arrow on the driveway pointing the wrong way confused us (and many others) about where to enter the parking area. You just ignore the arrow and enter through the one and only driveway. Two Stars. Great breakfast buffet for £10. No veggie sausage though. 4 stars. Good internet speed and reliability. 5 stars.
4 out of 5
by Therese from Oslo

Stille, historisk og sentralt

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Litt sen innsjekking (kl.14), men det var mulig å ha baggasjen stående på hotellet. Deilig og stille rom med vindu mot hagen. God plass i rommet og stort badekar.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sharon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 9, 2016
The Hotel is located in the middle of the town. The Traffic was bad when we drove there and the sign for the hotel parking lot was not very clear. We spent nearly 20 minutes circulating in downtown as we missed the turn and there are many one way streets