Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

First Time Visitor - Will Be Back!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Recommend a self-guided walking tour as a terrific "outside" activity to appreciate the history and architecture of this ancient city. So much to see!
As a visitor to Winchester University, I needed a location both close to the train and walking distance to the University. This hotel offered that and more - excellent location in the historic centre, access to restaurants, pubs, and cafes, as well as shopping and tourist trails. It was lovely to come back to our room, have a cup of tea and relax. Comfortable beds, well-appointed washroom with a generous tub and powerful shower. We will be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottershaw Park KT16 0QG

A touch expensive for what is an ordinary hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: I was born and brought up in Winchester and am a historian. I won't bore for Britain about perhaps the most interesting city of its size in the UK.
Room was fine, except for major drawback - the wash-basin plug was inoperable. Hotel informed in my complaint form. Seating at breakfast was chaotic. I was shown to a table, but by the time I had collected my fruit, it had been taken. No one on hand to show me elsewhere and coffee ordered took ten minutes to appear and only after I had intercepted a waitress who did not know who had ordered what. No scrambled egg!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There were two many "mistakes" with the bill.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Cons: Too many "mistakes" with the bill
The room was fine, what I would have expected for the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Quaint, delightful and helpful employees, food very good, beautiful garden removed from the hustle and bussel of the street
Cons: see directions suggestions above
Location: I have no idea
It is a very difficult place to find. I would suggest the hotel carefully describe how to drive to the car park to enter the hotel....much like the receptionist did on the phone when I called in desperation to find the hotel. GPS doesn't do much but get you in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitley Bay

Dated hotel in town centre

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: A pleasant view from our room over the garden
Cons: The bathroom was rather drab and could do with a makeover
Location: Good location near the high street and the cathedral
On our arrival and on checking out the girl receptionists remained seated throughout which I thought was rather unprofessional. There was no sign of or any offer of carrying in or out our luggage. When confirming that we wanted an evening meal we were told the earliest we could have a table was 8.30pm. We assumed that the restaurant was going to be busy that evening but at 8.30pm we found that there were only two other tables occupied. We then realised that there was not a shortage of tables but of staff, there was only one young girl waiting on tables and we guessed after 30 minutes wait for our meals that there was only one chef.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel in middle of town

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location and room
Cons: Breakfast was a bit hit and miss on Sunday morning even though we went down at 9. Staff obviously run off their feet.
Location: Right in the middle of Winchester - lovely Farmer's market at weekend. Lovely in sun listening to buskers
Parking a bit difficult as there was a wedding on and the hotel was full. There is parking close by however and staff very happy to help. Room lovely and very quiet and staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Great location

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Lovely hotel, but a minor plumbing issue which couldn't be dealt with during our weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice classy Hotel a short walk from the City

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Most things, it's a very nice hotel.
Cons: Car Parking should be FOC.
Location: It is very near the City Centre and convenient for everything.
A very nice classy Hotel near the to the City Centre. So disappointing to find out on checking out that they charge extra for the on-site car parking. It may be documented somewhere but I never saw it and did not expect to pay for on-site parking. I resent it when an already expensive hotel stoops to these sort of tactics to generate extra revenue from clients when they have the parking facilities at the hotel. I won't stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central and perfect for an overnight stay

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Nice hotel.the staff were friendly and most helpful! There's a small car park @ £10 for 24 hours and breakfast is also £10 which WA excellent value
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron, OH

Great location and very hospitable staff.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location is great, within walking distance to everything.
The staff at the Winchester Royal were so hospitable. We had a great stay and can't wait to visit again!