Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Central location but must try harder.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Central location. The first floor room was clean, comfortable and quiet, despite overlooking the carpark.
Cons: More waiting staff, better trained. Room rates need to reflect the service offered. Don't charge guests to park in the hotel carpark.
Location: The hotel is in central Winchester. It is an easy and quick walk to the Cathedral and shops. It is reasonably close to the railway station.
Room clean and comfortable. Too few staff in evidence and those there were appeared over-stretched. Had to find someone to serve in the bar at 6.30 on a Friday night. Request for fresh milk to the room forgotten. At breakfast as no-one was front of house we found a table and seated ourselves. When a waitress did appear we were not offered tea or coffee and had to ask and the hotel breakfast buffet system was not explained to us. We were discouraged from sitting in the more airy Hampshire Room, off the overcrowded main area, but declined. Tables in the main area were too close together and impeded the route to and from the raised area where the help yourself buffet tables are placed. Tables needed clearing more quickly. Several young staff explained they were new and had to check when requests were made. This is still a comfortable, centrally located hotel but it is overpriced for what it offers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Location, room size and amenities.
Cons: See above.
Location: Easy walking distance to historical downtown features.
Very nice hotel, but no air conditioning. Suggest at least having a fan in the room. Also, no sheet to cover with on the bed, only a thick comforter. It is either too hot with the comforter or too cool with no cover; there's no in-between option.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Great Location in Winchester

Posted Jun 15, 2016
What matters most for me are the hotels location, parking, how well I slept, the quality of the breakfast, and speed of the Internet. The location is very good for those wishing to go to the cathedral and other places in that part of town. Four stars. Sleep was hampered by the rooms being too warm (no AC) and noise from those drinking in the garden area. One star. Parking was adequate except the arrow on the driveway pointing the wrong way confused us (and many others) about where to enter the parking area. You just ignore the arrow and enter through the one and only driveway. Two Stars. Great breakfast buffet for £10. No veggie sausage though. 4 stars. Good internet speed and reliability. 5 stars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 9, 2016
The Hotel is located in the middle of the town. The Traffic was bad when we drove there and the sign for the hotel parking lot was not very clear. We spent nearly 20 minutes circulating in downtown as we missed the turn and there are many one way streets
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston , SC

Fabulous hotel.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Great location for sightseeing; central for all the major attractions. Adding to this the staff were superb, they couldn't have been more helpful. I would definitely recommend the Winchester Royal to aOl my friends. Wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Like this facility because of Ease of accessing shops restaraunts train and buses etc located almost middle of town only few minutes walk to anywhere you want to go spacious rooms .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Centrally positioned in town

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Central
Cons: Restaurant
Location: Easy access to centre of town, the college, the Great Hall and the Cathedral
Good room with views over garden. Restaurant disappointing, limited menu and lacking atmosphere because when we were there very few people used that facility.
3 out of 5
by Kevin

Poor parking

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
I arrived to find the car park full, as a meeting was taking place during the day but all I could be offered was a public car park at my expense 1/2 a mile from the hotel. I was not impressed by their lack of help in this matter. Later, after the meeting had finished, I had to walk back to fetch my car and park it at the hotel. For this privelage I was charged an extra £10.
5 out of 5
by Ramon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brian from Northampton

Ideal place to stay.

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Visited for our wedding anniversary. The staff did everything to ensure that we had a great time. Historic Winchester with its Cathedral are just around the corner. Or just relax in the peaceful and well kept hotel garden.