Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Quaint, delightful and helpful employees, food very good, beautiful garden removed from the hustle and bussel of the street
Cons: see directions suggestions above
Location: I have no idea
It is a very difficult place to find. I would suggest the hotel carefully describe how to drive to the car park to enter the hotel....much like the receptionist did on the phone when I called in desperation to find the hotel. GPS doesn't do much but get you in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitley Bay

Dated hotel in town centre

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: A pleasant view from our room over the garden
Cons: The bathroom was rather drab and could do with a makeover
Location: Good location near the high street and the cathedral
On our arrival and on checking out the girl receptionists remained seated throughout which I thought was rather unprofessional. There was no sign of or any offer of carrying in or out our luggage. When confirming that we wanted an evening meal we were told the earliest we could have a table was 8.30pm. We assumed that the restaurant was going to be busy that evening but at 8.30pm we found that there were only two other tables occupied. We then realised that there was not a shortage of tables but of staff, there was only one young girl waiting on tables and we guessed after 30 minutes wait for our meals that there was only one chef.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel in middle of town

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location and room
Cons: Breakfast was a bit hit and miss on Sunday morning even though we went down at 9. Staff obviously run off their feet.
Location: Right in the middle of Winchester - lovely Farmer's market at weekend. Lovely in sun listening to buskers
Parking a bit difficult as there was a wedding on and the hotel was full. There is parking close by however and staff very happy to help. Room lovely and very quiet and staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Great location

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Lovely hotel, but a minor plumbing issue which couldn't be dealt with during our weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice classy Hotel a short walk from the City

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Most things, it's a very nice hotel.
Cons: Car Parking should be FOC.
Location: It is very near the City Centre and convenient for everything.
A very nice classy Hotel near the to the City Centre. So disappointing to find out on checking out that they charge extra for the on-site car parking. It may be documented somewhere but I never saw it and did not expect to pay for on-site parking. I resent it when an already expensive hotel stoops to these sort of tactics to generate extra revenue from clients when they have the parking facilities at the hotel. I won't stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central and perfect for an overnight stay

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Nice hotel.the staff were friendly and most helpful! There's a small car park @ £10 for 24 hours and breakfast is also £10 which WA excellent value
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron, OH

Great location and very hospitable staff.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location is great, within walking distance to everything.
The staff at the Winchester Royal were so hospitable. We had a great stay and can't wait to visit again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Typisch englisches Hotel mit dem Charme von 1912.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Die zentrale Lage und das Ambiente
Cons: Die Zimmer (nicht im Haupthaus), sind leider etwas ungepflegt. Der Toilettensitz locker, in der Dusche abgebrochene Teile, der Teppich sehr alt.
Location: Das Hotel liegt gegenüber der Fußgängerzone. In wenigen Minuten kann man die Kathedrale erreichen, oder Winchester Castle. Viele Pubs in der Nähe.
Sehr zentrale Lage in der Altstadt von Winchester. Die Atmosphäre ist "very britisch", das Frühstück von sehr guter Qualität. Es gibt einen schönen Garten und ein gutes Restaurant, in dem man einen sehr guten " creme tea" bekommen kann. Leider steht der Flur den ganzen Tag voll mit alter Wäsche und benutztem Geschirr. Die Schränke im Gang stehen offen, während das Housekeeping-team am Werk ist. Das empfanden wir als sehr störend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Central location but must try harder.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Central location. The first floor room was clean, comfortable and quiet, despite overlooking the carpark.
Cons: More waiting staff, better trained. Room rates need to reflect the service offered. Don't charge guests to park in the hotel carpark.
Location: The hotel is in central Winchester. It is an easy and quick walk to the Cathedral and shops. It is reasonably close to the railway station.
Room clean and comfortable. Too few staff in evidence and those there were appeared over-stretched. Had to find someone to serve in the bar at 6.30 on a Friday night. Request for fresh milk to the room forgotten. At breakfast as no-one was front of house we found a table and seated ourselves. When a waitress did appear we were not offered tea or coffee and had to ask and the hotel breakfast buffet system was not explained to us. We were discouraged from sitting in the more airy Hampshire Room, off the overcrowded main area, but declined. Tables in the main area were too close together and impeded the route to and from the raised area where the help yourself buffet tables are placed. Tables needed clearing more quickly. Several young staff explained they were new and had to check when requests were made. This is still a comfortable, centrally located hotel but it is overpriced for what it offers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Location, room size and amenities.
Cons: See above.
Location: Easy walking distance to historical downtown features.
Very nice hotel, but no air conditioning. Suggest at least having a fan in the room. Also, no sheet to cover with on the bed, only a thick comforter. It is either too hot with the comforter or too cool with no cover; there's no in-between option.