Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic weekend away, at Balmer Lawns!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
We arrived on the Friday afternoon, they let us check in at 2.30pm even though check in isn't until 3pm as our room was ready! The room was great, very clean and we brought our dog with us, they even provided a dog bowl and food mat for him- which we where very impressed with.. the whole weekend was just suburb, all the staff where great and nothing was to much trouble, they even let us have breakfast in the lounge area so that our dog could sit with us. We would defiantly go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend cycling venue

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Excellent hotel, very convenient for cycle tracks and village. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. Did not dine in evening but lunchtime bar snacks good. Have rebooked for a return visit next May.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just perfect

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Poached eggs amazing. Waiters and waitresses at breakfast so helpful.
Cons: Silent door closures
Location: Sad occasion so no time to do...
Marvellous hotel, creaky floors and banging doors made the ghostly experience amazing.. Staff especially reception,Lydia so efficient. 10 out of 10
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Animal friendly which resulted in animal noise

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Local to New Forest
Cons: Air conditioning, walk in showers
No air conditioning, Shower over the bath which was not very good for elderly people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing staff! Lovely location

Posted Jul 21, 2015
The team at the hotel and restaurant are just fantastic. They helped salvage a weekend that didn't start so well due to reasons unrelated to the hotel and were so keen to ensure we had a good time which we duly did! If you're looking for a lovely place to stay and fabulous service this is a safe bet for sure. Thanks to all the team at the Balmer Lawn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beirut

Comfort in the forest

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: everything...except: early check-out 11:00 AM and the fact i had to pay any extra minute after that! And noisy room service early in the morning.
Cons: More discreet room service ladies
Location: nice location in the New forest very close to seaside for a change of scenery
The hotel was easy to find, staff very friendly, good food in the restaurant, great facilities: indoor swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi. The room was very comfortable, very decent size bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Wasn't mad about the cooked breakfast though! Eggs Bacon overdone and sausages underdone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay at this hotel.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Honesty and service.
Location: On the main road. good for walks.
Do not stay at this hotel. The hotel overcharged me by £316 and so far it has proved impossible to get a refund, even though they know they have overcharged me. They don't return my phone calls and trying to get this matter resolved is a nightmare. Disappointing menu and very slow service at breakfast. Take my advice and find a hotel that does not rip you off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

V good facilities however the room was awful.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Rooms need to be improved.
Location: We cycled into New Forest, walked into local village - 2 nice pubs. Near to sea also.
Really helpful staff and location great with easy access to the forest. Room was dark and childs bed very very uncomfortable. The air con unit was extremely noisy but had to keep it on all night as too hot - childs room had no air con - v hot. TV very, very small. Unable to unpack clothes as no draws!!!!! TV in childrens room did not work - think it was meant to be for gaming however no games to play so no use at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from Leicestershire

Nice hotel - first room offered was tiny though

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Decor needs freshened in places
Location: Great for walks and cycles in the New Forest and close enough to the coast for a great mix
Great location - first room offered was tiny bu staff responded to our concerns straight away . Staff were brilliant throughout our stay . Not convinced of 4 stars - looking a bit tired in places, but perhaps my expectations were too high .