Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Expensive for what it is!

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Single glazed windows! Not the best in winter. Good location but way to expensive for the standard of this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid Wales

Overnight stop

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Location: Ideally located in centre of Winchester for shopping and site seeing
A very good hotel. Difficult to find because of one way system. Special offer on main meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An excellent Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Yogurt at breakfast
From arrival to departure we were made to feel welcome. The room was very comfortable, there was very little noise and the breakfast (£10) was first-class. Ten pounds for parking (centre city) may sound a little steep but the overall price for a very pleasant stay was very reasonable. And the hotel is a short walk from just about evereything that matters in Winchester.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holmfirth

Very central, very quiet, very comfortable hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Cons: Breakfast uninspiring, especially for a longer stay, and vegetarian option in restaurant very inadequate (but only ate there once).
Location: Winchester is packed with fascinating things to see and do (cathedral, college, etc, etc) and there are several interesting walks leaflets available.
Spent five nights in Winchester. Hotel is on a quiet road in the centre, a couple of minutes from High Street and so very close to everywhere interesting. Very comfortable, and with a spacious lounge. Very nice garden. Luckily found space in car-park which seemed to be permanently full. Restaurant staff very efficient and obliging.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was a little tired

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: quite a lot as explained
The hotel decor was a little tired and although we went for a christmas family get together the decorations were not up . There was atree but no decorations. Also we found that the business side ie seminars took preference to the guests and took over the lounge. The breakfast was a shambles as we had to wait 1/2 hour for a table as there was not enough staff. The actual food was very good and when we did get a table the staff were very obliging. The location was excellent but I would not go back again as i think there are better hotels for the money we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Central location, clean & modern rooms

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: traditional building, modern rooms
Cons: Reception service
The rooms were to a high standard of cleanliness but the only complaint I would have is that (and this was my second stay there) there is only ever one member of staff working at the reception desk, without any assistance or concierge, so check-in or out is extremely slow. Many of the guests are pensioners/elderly, and are queuing at the reception desk to ask questions that most people would google to find about the area!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for town

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Very tired in the part our room was in.... Bed comfortable and room clean but all needs updating in the part we stayed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful town an easy bus ride from Heathrow

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: Overall we enjoyed the quality of the hotel. The largest best bath towel in our long travel history ....... and a towel heater !!!!
Cons: Problem with what I was promised on Expedia and what I actually received from the hotel !!!!!
Location: The river walk is beautiful !
We decided to break up our long flight from Dubai to Phoenix wit a stay in Winchester. Its a beautiful town a short bus ride from Heathrow. We were not disappointed as the town was full of activities, restaurants, and history. The hotel was an easy walk from the bus station. We enjoyed both the historic nature of the hotel building and the relatively newer room additions. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable. I have one complaint: We booked 2 nts months in advance. We chose Winchester Royal because "English Breakfast" was included in the price. Thats about 40 pounds. I was rather bluntly told that my rate did not include breakfast. I attempted to explain that the Expedia listing shows it as being included. There were many people waiting on line to check in and we were tired after our red eye flight so I let it go. Evidently "the customer is always right" does not apply. And I did not like being talked down to. I dont know if its a sort of bate and switch or a problem with the listing. It did however leave a bit of a bitter taste. A shame because the overall impression was very good. The bottom line though is that we felt cheated and we therefore did not choose to use the hotel for dinner as planned and they lost the profit from food and drink.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Just aout good enough

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, disappointing bar staff and breakfast let it down. We are used to hotels of this type and we felt it was just slightly lacking.