Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing

Posted May 29, 2017
The hotel looked shabby but the room was satisfactory, if a bit hot. However a fan was provided. The restaurant expience was terrible. After waiting an hour for our starters, one arrived still frozen. Only 10 people dining so certainly not due to being busy. We left and went to a very good Indian restaurant nearby. Overall a disappointing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stroud, Gloucestershire

Wow !

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The spa is a a wow no expense spared as there was a steam room , jacuzzi & sauna too - all inclusive . I had all this to myself plus a larger room .
Cons: .With a new carpet reupholstered chairs, & more stimulating art work it would not cost much to freshen up .I myself loved the faded glory!
Location: I was impressed by Southampton itself & loved the stimulating art gallery [ prints for the rooms?] and the friendly Greek restaurant nearby .
It is a beautiful stately home with spacious rooms that had seen finer days ?I loved the charm not like many of the sterile chains .However the charges are inline with this and reasonable I The young Staff on shift are helpful & accommodating but unfortunately did not follow up my left phone charger. Altogether a relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable stay !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Very disappointed.not looked after,v.old fashion

Posted Feb 24, 2017
As above - not recommended.very disappointed Do not go there - bed sheet too small for the bed!
1 out of 5
by Usama

Disrespectful managment wouldn't recommend

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Extremely poor service, had to leav the hotel and find another one, the owner was rude and disrespectful to my religion as i couldnt eat at his restaurant amd ordered food from elsewhere, rooms wernt clean either ripped carpets dirty beds, I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The room was a good size, well presented and cleat

Posted Feb 17, 2017
I was there for one night and found the staff to be friendly, polite and helpful. The hotel was clean and well presented witH good views onto the the gardens.
3 out of 5
by James

Lovely receptionist but hotel is in need of love

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
The receptionist was particularly helpful, very friendly and efficient. She even booked a table for us at a local indian restaurant. My room was massive and was very clean - my only issue was the shower didn't work, well it did but the regulator valve was broken so I had a very cold shower. The hotel is in desperate need to investment to bring it up to date and to make it feel loved!!!
3 out of 5
by Sally

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
good location but the hotel was a bit tired the spa was very disappointing very small and crowded when we were there so not very relaxing . Room service was slow and the breakfast was awful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Nice stay for one night. They can improve the breakfast. Nice and quiet place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not sure this is a 4*

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Firstly the picture on the site is not what the room actually look like. Not very clean, I.e. Stains on sofa. Very outdated. Breakfast starts at 8am and you have to order and wait for the staff to cook for you. Time is tight if you start work at 9am. Staff are friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Location: Excellent location for my visiting purposes - it was round the corner from where I was due to have my meetings on the day.
The deluxe double room size was quite large, which also meant that it was absolutely freezing. When I arrived in the evening I found the curtains drawn but the windows were wide open - the only heating on was the towel rail in the bathroom. Generally room and bathroom were clean - however the shower and taps had quite a bit of limescale that didn't make it look particularly pleasant to use. Tea and coffee were provided, but I am disappointed that there was no mini bar service or mini fridge with bottles of water - there is certainly plenty of space for it.