Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down hotel with lovely large grounds

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Initially looked nice. But furniture old and tatty including phone! 1990s style. Breakfast very basic waited for an hour for cooked breakfast. Some guests left. No smile from staff...I'm guessing over worked!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elgin

A bit passed its sell by date

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Quality of food (both evening meal and breakfast), attentive staff, Spa and cleanliness of the room.
Cons: The outside of the building needs attention.
The room was very clean, spacious and had everything you would expect. The staff were very polite and attentive. However, the outside of the building is looking a little the worse for wear. It could do with some investment to fill the multitude of visible cracks in the outside of the building, especially at the back, and give it a lick of paint. The garden walls/steps and concrete features in the garden are in a bad state of repair and could do with replacing/repairing as it makes it look as though the hotel just wants your money and not willing to invest. Overall, it didn't spoil our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east yorkshire

Good parking, enjoyed the pool,

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Pool, parking,
Cons: Garden walls tatty, access to the area of our room, climb stairs then descend bit like a bridge at a railway station
Location: Southampton. We where going to a event at the ageus rose bowl near bye
Enjoyable stay, all we expected , good staff, good breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotel, convienient for the Aegas Bowl

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Lovely gardens
We only stayed one night as we going to a concert at the Aegas Bowl, but the hotel was fine, room (on third floor) was a bit stuffy even with the windows open and no heating on it was very warm, but the breakfast was very good and the staff were always efficent and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel with good facilities.

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Hedge end!
The full English breakfast was superb as was everything else provided. However, with a little more attention to service detail, it could be so much better. Staff needed telling that juice/ milk jugs required replenishing/ crockery had run short etc. The room was large and comfortable with all expected provisions. The bed was somewhat uncomfortable and that would be the only reason for not returning. The spa facilities were first class no all in good working order and open well into the evening.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saarland

Nice hotel - but service in the Bistro is not good

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: personal at the reception
Cons: personal in the bistro/ restaurant
Location: approx. 15 km away from the Airport - taxi approx. 20 GBP
Nice hotel - but service in the Bistro/ restaurant is not good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Dated Hotel, overpriced and No Air Conditioning.

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: SPA, Pool and Sauna. Staff were polite.
Cons: Room facilities, needs air conditioning. On-suite shower was very poor.
An old world style hotel set in very pleasant surroundings. However for the price paid the room facilities were disappointing. It was quite a warm night and the lack of Air Conditioning noticed. Compared to other cheaper hotels that have modern air conditioned rooms this is a disappointment. The en-suite shower was very poor with a poor water flow. The SPA and Swimming Pool were good. But breakfast at £10 per head again reflected how the hotel was over priced for what you get.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fareham

Homely feel

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly welcome when we arrived and nice pool and Jacuzzi
Cons: Room very hot
Location: Close to motorway but very quiet location
Small hotel with very friendly staff. Good meal in the restaurant, good quality food although portions a tad small.
4 out of 5
by Stuart from Ruislip

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel excellent Spa

Posted Apr 10, 2016
The hotel rooms are dated but very clean. The pool is great. Staff really friendly.