Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Weeks stay at Basingstoke Country Hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Free parking
Cons: Many things, please read experience above.
Location: Nice and close to Hook town centre.
Stayed for the week, didn't really like. Interior rather out dated and they charge you to use the facilities. I booked an executive double room, but wasn't impressed at all. My head kept hitting the ceiling as was a room in the attic, I don't think I would stay again at this place. Selection of food for dinner wasn't great as I'm a vegetarian, therefore had to drive into the town; which thankfully wasn't a long drive. The sole plus point was parking was ample! Service was rather average...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Very noisy room with air conditioning units right outside mine and my colleagues bedroom windows so barely got any sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quiet

Posted May 18, 2017
The location was good to rest up following my driving jorney, however, the lack of free access to WiFi, in the room has simply put me off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, Berkshire & Sydney

Adequate for a short break

Posted May 16, 2017
On check in there was a slight mix up with our rooms, having asked for connecting ones, we eventually had 2 on the same floor. The beds in the twin room could do with breaks or something to stop them moving when you are trying to get in or out of bed. The rooms could do with a better seating area One room had a problem with the tap on the wash basin and both had issues with the shower The communal area is pleasant, free wifi for 2x20 mins per day The food was good if not slightly pricey We had problems with our keys locking us out of our rooms every day after the maid had been but this was quickly rectified by reception The grounds are pretty and the area nice We didn't try the spa or breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
The manager was superb. He was very helpful and most pleasant. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north england

Going back to the 80s

Posted May 10, 2017
This hotel felt like I had gone back to the 80s. The hotel smelt musky and un clean. Rooms very basic no proper shower,dated design, poor coffee tea facilities. No free WiFi and basic tv programmes. The restraunt offered only 3 meals. Meat,fish,vegetarian, really poor. Bar food was nicer but not much choice either and the fact you have to pay rather than put it on your room is not good. They advertise gym and pool all which you have to pay for extra even if your staying there. I travel the country and never heard of this. Overall the price you pay is cheap for the area and they know this hence why they don't concentrate on quality. I wouldn't stay here for more than one night unless your on a budget.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Posted May 9, 2017
Broken furniture and ripped carpets.but clean staff where quite helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Relaxing night away!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Excellent food, lovely staff, very comfortable bed, wonderful heated pool. Amazing value. Needs a lick of paint and a new toaster (for the breakfast buffet) to give it 5 stars as decor is dated (& toaster useless!) but if you can ignore that you won't be disappointed!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Penrith, Cumbria.

PAST IT'S SELL BY DATE

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Reception staff
Cons: Remove mold from rooms. Provide shampoo. Be truthful of facilities, such as wifi, that are provided. Refurbishment required in rooms.
Location: Easy access to Basingstoke and businesses.
Hotel recently changed hands. Quick check in. Room had mold on the bathroom ceiling. There was no plug in the sink and despite being reassured that one would be supplied, none arrived. No shampoo provided. UKP7 daily charge for use on the gym. Both Expedia and an information pamphlet in the room said wifi was free in the bedrooms. This proved not to be the case. Customers got 20 minutes free then had to pay UKP7 per day. Reception staff said they had changed suppliers with the new owners and this was now the policy. Since I had the written proof of free wifi in my hands, the daily charge was eventually cancelled. I have stayed in this hotel previously, many years ago and it was excellent. Gone downhill a lot andf is now looking tired and in need of care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

A grand old hotel running on life support

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Easy access from M3. Could sense that it would have been a great place to stay in a bygone age. Clean room and an early morning swim.
Cons: Probably not a lot of room for improvement without a big capital investment. It's not the sort of place one would go for a family holiday nowadays.
This is the second Britannia hotel at which I have stayed in the past 9 months and the experience was much better than the first. We were just looking a hotel near the M3 to break a journey. Arrived quite late. Clean spacious room, sparsely furnished. The hotel is built round a large quadrangle. In the center is a metal and glass structure (reminiscent of the big pavilion at Kew Gardens) which today houses fitness equipment and a swimming pool. Didn't try breakfast, so can't comment on the food. Overall, experience -- very passable and good value for money.