Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Littlehampton

Lovely period hotel in rural location.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Hotel set in parkland surrounded by fields and trees, with amazing views. Fields have deer and ponies in. Our room however must have been the smallest in the hotel, avoid room 9. There was damp on the wall and the tiny window gave a view of the car park. When you can see through the steam from the chimney just outside of course. Having said that we had a lovely stay, the rest of the hotel couldn't be faulted and the staff were great. Would recommend but last a little more for a better room than room 9.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely quiet country house

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight stay - good breakfast which we knew would be an extra. Maybe a lot of stairs for some
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning Hotel and fantastic staff

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Was escorted to the room by Izzy (no38) where upon entering we were greeted with classical music. Excellent huge room with a Super King size bed which was so comfortable, a choice of pillows, Old fashioned telephone beside the bed and an retro Roberts DAB radio. Sofa, chair and Ottoman at the bottom of the bed. The bathroom was excellent too, bath and rainfall shower and some fabulous smelling Spa toiletries. Robes and slippers hung on the door. Freshly baked cookies were also left in the room for us courtesy of the kitchens. A box by the kettle contained 6 different teas, instant coffee, hot chocolate, cookies and fresh coffee for the caffettiere Door in the room led to private outside porch area with a superb view across the deer park and hotel. Bar staff were excellent and brought drinks to table and were very knowledgeable about the wines and spirits. There was a wedding going on at the hotel but we couldnt hear any of the celebrations or music. Breakfast was good my only gripe was there could have been an extra sausage and the white pudding wasnt quite 2 bites and the beans were a little strange they were a smokey bbq flavour (please just stick with heinz) The food on the menu looked amazing and was intending to get some after a night out but room service stopped at 9.30 and went down to just a basic menu. The Location and the building alsong with the staff was superb and will be visiting again without a doubt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faultless

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Faultless stay. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Go relax and enjoy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel room was tiny and damp had been Badly covered up , deer grazing outside were lovely to see but room was very cramped , shoul be a single
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Characterful & charming hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
We had a really lovely stay here. It's a beautiful old building full of character, the staff were friendly, charming and very helpful, food truly excellent. Walking distance to the lovely little village of Burley & the open forest. The Wifi in our room was very erratic, but not a huge deal. A new spa has recently opened and we had several excellent treatments and Karen & Jasmine made us feel very comfortable and relaxed - all in all a perfect weekend - thank you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit of old England

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is a wonderful place to stay to experience the New Forest. An old manor with refurbished rooms and an excellent dining room. Who could ask for more?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Nice central location for New Forest

Posted Sep 14, 2016
For some unknown reason moved us from 2nd floor to ground floor which accomodated my handicap. Delightful people
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Burley Manor

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Service at dinner was poor, bed not comfortable but excellent location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury around every corner

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
I could write an essay about this visit, everything was so wonderful. Beautiful building, inside and out, immaculate room, comfy bed and pillows, so many beautiful little touches like a jar of homemade cookies, wide variety of teas in the room, succulents either side of the bed. The staff were so friendly and attentive - they made me feel like royalty. The food was exquisite (I had dinner and breakfast) and the views from the conservatory are breathtaking. I will definitely return.