Ratings based on 656 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely quiet location near Southampton.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Lovely quiet location and the staff were very accommodating.
Cons: The first room we stayed in smelt of damp, but we were moved and the second room was great.
Stayed at this hotel recently when visiting Southampton. Picked this hotel largely due to the fact that the boat show was on the same weekend and there was very little available closer to the city. Because the hotel was somewhat out of the way it was a lovely quiet location. The staff were all very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them. The choice of food at breakfast was great and our kids used the pool and played tennis. No fault of the hotel, but in future I would want to stay closer to the city so that we could avail of taxis on a night out and not have to be the designated driver.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torquay

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Convenient to the dock for boarding a cruise ship and nice situation out of the city.
Bedrooms were in separate blocks to the main hotel. No air con so room was very hot even mid sept when we went. Service in the evening was exceedingly slow in the restaurant albeit the Amin course, when it did eventually arrive was very good. The desert menus expensive for what you got.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Lovely building at first sight but rooms less so

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very grand frontage but rooms are actually in single and twin storey terraced "chalets" behind it. Room was clean and well decorated but very warm (no idea why) with no means of cooling it down bar cracking the Windows open. When neighbouring rooms guests opened and closed their doors it was transmitted right through the the structure. Guest tended to congregate outside the rows of rooms to make phonecalls and smoke too. Pretty rubbish unless you are an extremely heavy sleeper! Can't recommend on that basis
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Lovely experience, shame about the run-down rooms. Old TV. Safe didn't work. No air conditioning. Rooms very hot.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

One night comfortable stay

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Friendly staff, very good facilities and good food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from norfolk

Wedding

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We went to a wonderful wedding the staff looked after the bride with all the assisted she required and more . The reception was held in modern building away from the hotel so the guests was not disturb. The meal was just right not too much not too little and tasted lovely A very nice weekend had by all Ps the swimming pool 👍
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive hotel in discreet country location

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Parking always a problem. Telephone worked but couldn't connect to any outside line. Fire alarms went off early morning and it was a shambles. No staff were seen directing guests and guests were confused where to go and what to do. If it were a drill they would have failed miserably.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Köln

Schönes Hotel im Grünen

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Schöne Gartenanlage, Pool ok,sehr gutes Frühstück, Zimmer leider feucht ,mussten aufs Essen (Sandwiches) in der Bar 1 Stunde warten
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon.

Not quite what it seems.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The setting.
Cons: Room needs to be properly cleaned.
Location: Stayed here while visiting the historic dockyard in Portsmouth.
The main house is impressive to look at but the rooms are in adjacent blocks, a bit like chalets at Butlins. You have to walk outdoors to go for breakfast. Room was tired, seal around the bath grubby and the sink taps looked like they hadnt been properly cleaned for some time. The bed was hard. Only stayed one night, breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from plymouth

Rooms could be bigger....

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Overall pleasant stay ....brilliantly staffed good facilities. ...rooms could be bigger .....nice location ...plenty of eateries close by.......best fried egg at breakfast...ever