Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Wedding weekend

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Slightly shaky start but overall staff were friendly and very helpful despite our frequent requests for room keys to be programmed. A bit worn in areas but still a great place for a wedding. We had a lovely weekend with family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Almeria

Good night-stop for the ferry

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Easy to find, pleasant staff, close to the ferry and the restaurant.
Cons: It's probably due for a refurbishment.
Location: Five minutes from the ferryport
As we needed to catch the morning ferry to Spain, we searched for a cheapish hotel close to the ferryport. The Farmhouse seemed to fit the bill although we were a little dubious as some reviews weren't good and we decided that as it was only one night we'd risk it. We are glad we did! The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and although it's probably due for a refurbishment it was fine for an overnighter. The room was spacious, quiet and comfortable. The restaurant was closed for a wake for our evening meal but the other side of it - the Hungry Horse - is only 100m walk and we enjoyed 2 main courses for £8.49! I'd recommend the Steak & Ale pie - huge and delicious. Breakfast was good and a very reasonable £3.95. We would definitely stay again when we're in Portsmouth.
3 out of 5
by Steven

Your average hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Nothing to complain about, but nothing particularly nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Darkness

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
The coordoor to the room is almost in darkness,and the wall is damage , almost everywhere I look. Shower is leaking water, even with the shower curtain inside and close. Water mange to escape, after taken a 3min shower, almost flooded the places. Doors are very thin, which is nosie, when ever people are walking by, you can hear and the door will shaken too. Devily truck doing devily at 6 in the morning, so I got woken up. At check out told the staff about the problem of the nosie, than the reply was, that side of hotel, is nothing there's. Than I told her about the devily truck, "part from that". The respond was cold, and said will let the manger know.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and friendly Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived at wrong entrance, didn't realise that we needed to go to the next entrance for accommodation, so we went into the Farmhouse pub. The booking form only said the Farmhouse pub, so we didn't know any other details. They were very helpful in the pub and explained where we should be and we moved the car. Reception was helpful and friendly and the two waiters who found us a table in a packed pub/restaurant were excellent. Bar staff cheerful and meal just right. Nice comfortable room. If there is a down side, the décor looked a little tired. Really really handy for the ferry port - about ten mins away. would definitely stay again and recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Good for ferry connections

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Good location with a nice hungry horse pub attached. Room was spacious and clean. we thought it was really good value for money. Second time we have stayed at this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
perfect for what we needed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

close to the ferry

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: It was comfortable and clean.
We only stayed overnight to be close to the ferry terminal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Walsall

Don't try this at home

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
So dated, no soaps in the bathroom, carpet had More stains than a brothel and I will never stay again, I barely slept