Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brittany France

Very nice family run hotel.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
The hotel is well placed in the centre of Southampton with parking to front of the property. breakfast was excellent with locally sourced produce. i would have preferred an en suite room but never the less the bed was comfortable and warm, there was plenty of coffee and tea and hot chocolate along with a colour tv. Will certainly not hesitate to recommend or return to the the hotel. Many thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely guest house near the town centre.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Great stay and lovely friendly hosts. So close to town centre and train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: It was clean, and staff were friendly
Very clean hotel. Very friendly and chatty staff, makes a chap feel welcome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Good service but beds let it down

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Beds
Location: Eating places nearby as well as the Common (too stretch your legs) and close to the city centre.
Nice easy location and owners lovely. Good breakfast in the morning. What let's this B&B down is the uncomfortable beds, uninspired decor and coldness of the room (not helped by the thinness of the duvet).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent UK

Ideally located for the boat show.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
10 minutes walk to boat show and shopping/ food, very good location and was able to leave the car parked at the guesthouse, very friendly and very good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Lovely little B&B, great staff, comfortable room

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Cons: More parking space.
Lovely little B&B, great staff, comfortable room, delicious breakfast. Easy to find, close to the city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Great value B&B in Southampton

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: It was clean, tidy, warm and secure. Landlord is a very pleasant chap. Breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Noise from road affecting front facing rooms could be a small annoyance.
Traveled to Southampton from Bristol for work and stayed at Fenland Guest House for 4 nights during a week in September. I was traveling around a fair bit, so didn't go about exploring Southampton for pleasure unfortunately. Arrived fairly late on a Monday evening, but was received a pleasant greeting from Martin the landlord who gave me my key and directed me to my room. I'd booked the most affordable single-bed suit, but the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, there was a sink, wardrobe, dresser and all the usual tea/coffee facilities with biscuits. Room had a very large double-glazed window overlooking the road - could be a bit noisy during the night, but the closing the window remedies this. Breakfast was served between 7 and 8:30 during the week and was delicious, served promptly with plenty of options. There was also all the usual cereals, milk and orange juice available in the breakfast room. A particularly nice extra was to see the landlord's puppies playing the back garden from the window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Great hosts, fantastic breakfast, overall a pleasant stay. The only thing that could've been better was the water pressure in the shower, but I would certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rushed Breakfast time

Posted Jul 22, 2016
This hotel met all my needs except for the time of the breakfast for guests 7-8 am some guests were asked to return to their rooms because as some guests who were already having breakfast to have breakfast in the hour allocated all the tables were taken a more longer time for breakfast would not result in guests having to all get their breakfast in just a hour.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but slightly overpriced.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
The owner was lovely and welcoming and the bed was super comfy. However I felt that £40 for a single room which wasn't en suite was slightly overpriced. The room and shared shower and toilet were both clean but a little rough around the edges. Eg. Some mould on the blind. I prefer B&Bs to soulless Travelodges and I was happy with my stay - I just wish it had been cheaper.