Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Business hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Business hotel suitable for overnight stay and conferences. Tissue box in the bathroom was empty, cooking smells wafted from kitchens, breakfast disappointing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good location for exploring the area.

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: The room was uncomfortably warm at night, and we could not adjust the temperature enough to cool it down.
Location: The Red Funnel ferry is within easy walking distance, also Old Town, and the train station, lots of bars and restaurants in the area.
Lots to do in Southampton and surrounding area including the Southampton Old Town Walk, and the Mayflower Theatre. Good restaurants near the harbor, also good bars and restaurants near the theatre. It is an easy walk to both the train station and the cruise ship terminal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Good for a girls shopping trip

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Room could have been cleaner but was our second visit so we do like this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cyprus

Good location in historical Southampton

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff attitude and training
This was clearly an excellent hotel in its day. A very pleasant stay but believe that the staff could be better managed to service at a 4 star level.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for the city

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Maintenance was lacking.
Food was very poor. Stayed three nights, ate somewhere else for the second two nights. Very expensive for what we got. Staff were functional, none of them very happy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Pleasant Short Stay

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Weather was lovely when we were there and enjoyed sitting outside to have lunch and drinks in the garden area.
Cons: More staff especially when hotel is busy as there were meetings or conferences going on when we were there.
Location: Central location and within walking distance for shopping at West Quay. Also close to the theatre and the station.
Very convenient for shopping at West Quay and the theatre, which was the reason for our visit. Food was very good and staff very pleasant. Staff on reception were dealing with telephone calls as well as check-in and guest queries, making service slow. Also concierge was not manned so again had to queue at reception for concierge assistance. However, would recommend hotel and would return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

Nice hotel. Close to the shops and cruise terminal

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: It's so convenient
Cons: The fried eggs at breakfast could be cooked for you
Location: The shops are close by also the cruise terminal
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Went shopping, had a nice meal and a good nights sleep.
2 out of 5
by Alison from Marple

Disappointing stay

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing stay. The first room I was given stank! This was due to that fact that someone's half eaten lunch had been left to fester on the side table. After ringing reception to complain and then going back to reception to be allocated another room, it took ages before anyone apologised for the inconvenience they had caused. Room service - I ordered stir fried noodles with vegetables and paid an additional £2 to have salmon added to the noodles. The salmon was so overcooked I couldn't even put my fork in it. The noodles were greasy and the vegetables only consisted of peppers. Rubbish for what is meant to be a good hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Picking up someone from the harbor.

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The location to the harbor was perfect.
Cons: More staff.
The hotel was ill-prepared for the amount of guests that were staying there. The bar/lobby/lounge/restaurant areas were overflowing with dirty plates and tables, no help or service. It was clear that the staff was overwhelmed!
4 out of 5
by Maleeah from ROCKFORD , Illinois

Good Location

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
We were in town to pick up our daughter at the cruise terminal in Southhampton. The Grand Harbour was well situated and served our needs. Only negative was that the room did smell of cigarette smoke, and overall very musty.