Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

A strange mix of experiences

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Nice decor, layout and rooms
Cons: Non-reception staff training and Cruise Package.
Location: Close to the main shopping area and good restauranyts and bars
Outwardly a lovely hotel, very nice communal areas and the room was excellent. In a very convenient position both for the City and the Cruise terminal. We had a very comfortable night. But many of the staff didn't know much about anything. Reception were good as were one or two of the Concierge, but apart from them they appeared clueless. Strangely the restaurant is not open every night of the week - this with the staff comments made us wonder if the hotel is only busy and fully staffed when a cruise ship is in dock and at other non-conference times there is just a skeleton staff? Don't buy the "Cruise Package at £15 per person, just not worth it. It includes their own transport to ship which is good but taxe probably less than £5 pp. A glass of wine is ok but shunted to a lounge with no soul and no people. The snacks were a joke, just some pastries and juice. To me snacks would be some finger sandwiches, needed if not boarding until the afternoon. Better to order a taxi and sit in the bar area where there are other people. Most staff hadn't a clue what the package was.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to cruise port

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Pool
Nice hotel close to cruise port; breakfast overpriced
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

After cruise hotel.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Position
Stayed at the Grand Harbour Hotel following our cruise. Hotel was great, just what we wanted, balcony, sea view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersy

ok but.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Our request for early arrival not met as we were coming off a cruse. Thus hotel is less than a mile from port and given our reservation in Nivember or 2015. Not even a try to make it. Went for dinner and no one in dining room and we were stopped to confirm our reservation we had no reservation. Waited almost 45 minutes and could not get a drink. We finally went to the bar and were served. There was no such thing as customer service. Room very hot and not able to adjust.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Who knew about an extra charge when checking out??

Posted Aug 6, 2016
What was the never mentioned charge tacked on to bill after it had been already paid?? False advertising
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Mids, UK

It's OK.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location, check in process, cleanliness, overall atmosphere
Cons: Bar staff efficiency in less busy times to focus on customers as a priority, the cruise lounge value.
Check in and out was speedy. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Great location and within walking distance to numerous bars and restaurants. Very welcoming atmosphere and is good for a pre or post cruise stay. Bar staff were busy, though not sure doing what. Went to bar to order drinks, waitress gave me a number and said she would be over to take food order then spent 25+ minutes cleaning one table before taking any order. Cruise lounge was £12.50 for two. Wouldn't recommend. Cheaper and more comfortable to wait in the bar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near cruise port Southampton

Posted Jul 28, 2016
We stayed 1 night at Grand Harbour before leaving for our cruise. Convenient location, excellent breakfast buffet, staff is friendly and helpful especially conciergers, and within walking distance of historical landmarks. The atrium offers a pleasant atmosphere, but you have to order your food and drink at the bar instead of being waited upon. Staff at bar needs some additional training and service was slow. However, the food was good. Room was spacious (1 King bed) and the bed was comfortable. Great place to stay overnight before going on a cruise out of Southampton.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Business hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Business hotel suitable for overnight stay and conferences. Tissue box in the bathroom was empty, cooking smells wafted from kitchens, breakfast disappointing
3 out of 5
by Andrea from Eastbourne

Dissappointing 4 star

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
It doesn't feel like a 4 star hotel -needs refurbishment . Lunch at the bar was expensive and poor - service was slow served cold could have been so much better at this price Wish we'd walked a little way from the hotel much better eateries on offer. Should really try harder with service and extras like water in the rooms. Have stayed twice now our first stay the room was nicer -will not rush to return- the Cavendish a 4 star hotel in our home of Eastbourne is in another class to this .
3 out of 5
by Ursula from Canada

Nice location but will not return

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
First impression upon arrival at the reception desk was not very positive. Individual who eventually checked me in was very unfriendly and not helpful with basic questions. Had dinner in the dining room and had good wait staff. Bed was uncomfortable. Room had a door to an adjoining room which occupied other hotel guests. Was never sure if somebody would eventually walk through that door or not and the noise level has significant when other quests where presents. Initial listing said there was a shuttle bus from airport to hotel. Upon arrival at airport was told by airport staff that there was no shuttle. Cancelled my booking for the week after.