Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Disappointing End To A Lovely Weekend

Posted Sep 29, 2015
We picked this hotel for our last night's stay for our anniversary as we thought it would be a quality hotel. First impressions good as we arrived early in the morning before check in and were allowed to use the leisure facilities. Upon check in we rang down for an ice bucket an hour later and another phone call it finally arrived. We were given an adjoining room which someone tried to get through at 12.30pm. The people next door were noisy all night til 7am. We put up the do not disturb sign as we needed a lie in. To our horror a housekeeper burst through our door at 9.30am as I was getting into the bath. We reported this to reception at check out and are still waiting feedback. Do not stay here if you want to relax!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wimbledon

Nice hotel near ferry terminal

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Location was perfect for shopping, and car ferry
Cons: Rooms could do with up dating
Location: Perfect for shopping, ferries to Isle of Wight 5 mins away walking
Think car park charge should be included in hotel price, house keeping staff were excellent on our floor ( 2nd ) needed feather pillows plus sheet got them by the time we arrived back at hotel, breakfast staff were very helpful and nice, food was good but as all buffet breakfasts not the hottest
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N. Miami, FL


Posted Aug 24, 2015
I had previously stayed at this hotel in 2010 and had read that work had been done to the rooms. Can not say that I noticed this in the room I stayed. Hotel lobby is very nice and prices high but rooms do not fit into this category. The hotel served the purpose of one night stay before departing on a cruise. Close to the various terminals and close to shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to the QM2 cruise ship.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Clean excellent room
Location: Shops, rental cars and right on the main road. Easy to find.
Good for shopping and for rentl cars. Comfortable room and great restarant on site.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Ferry and old town wall

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Great reception service. Room was very quiet which I really appreciated. Bar food looked a little over priced so we ate out. Breakfast though was very nice buffet with plenty of choice. Overall I would definitely return.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel, we had a sea view!

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The room, room facilities
Cons: I think the bar area could be improved, seemed too large. Needed to be made more comfortable. Maybe redesigned to include music (a pianist)?
Location: Great central location, We went to Oxford Street for food, good selection.
Picked this hotel because of its location. Nice room, clean and bright. Only the mattress could have been less firm!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Opposite sea front & close to shopping area.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly helpful staff. Large comfortable room with balcony.
Location: Only there for one night stay. Southampton has a lot of historical attractions. Good restaurants, something for everyone.
Enjoyable stay at comfortable hotel with views over seafront.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

The hotel was in a good location.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Good location
Cons: See comments above
Location: close to town with many interesting sights and shopping
The hotel was close to the port and the train station. It was clean and the rooms were nice. The only negatives were: >we could not get our room cool enough. The HVAC system seemed not to work well. >the single small bar of soap was pathetic. You would expect more from a hotel charging you $300.00 per night. >the door to the room (#102) was sticking/scraping and hard to open and close. >we asked the person at the restaurant cashier station what time they opened in the morning (Sunday morning), and he told us 6:30 am. We arrived at that time the next morning and were told that on Sundays it was 7:00 am. You would have thought that the employee we asked the night before would know that information. >I had a 20.00 pound bill for breakfast with a 2.50 charge for using a credit card. I tried to pay this off in US currency and the hotel would not accept it. You would think that a hotel situated at a port that thousands of US citizens past through every month would have some means to handle US dollars. Restaurants and shops in town did with no problem. Due to the above, I would not stay there again nor recommend this hotel. Next trip, I will stay at the Holiday Inn directly across the street.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by Linda from Uxbridge.

Mediocre/disappointing short stay.

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
Bar snack - sandwich resembled that of a transport cafe "doorstep" sandwich and teapot had not been cleaned in a while-at a cost of £9.50 - extortion!! Photos were taken! Room pleasant but nothing special. Awoken at 02.00am by excessively noisy neighbours with probably 6/8 pax in room finally ending at 4.30am. At age 75 and 80 this was not appreciated, we paid £109 for this "privilege" Too many "suits" wandering about in pairs trying to look important. Bottom line - would not return to this hostelry and will spread the word to family and friends.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB SOUTHAMPTON

Nice hotel. Excellent staff!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Only complaint would be that I would not expect tracing paper for toilet roll at a 4 star hotel!! Cheap saving lets a nice hotel down!