Ratings based on 579 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canterbury kent

Great hotel with friendly helpful staff

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe more pillows
Location: Went for a relaxing break so didn't go very far from hotel
Great looking hotel, staff very helpful and friendly, room and bathroom very clean, had everything that you would want, pool and jacuzzi great, very warm water, breakfast fantastic, buffet style as much as you want. Will be going back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Hotel looks tired & dated. Some area's were dirty. Nice size room, but not comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and nice hotel but bed very poor,

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Nice to have spa facilities.
Cons: New mattresses - felt like poor quality mattresses had been purchased without consideration of the size of the bed. Pillows - provide alternatives.
Location: Convenient to get to university, city or port
Good location near town and port. Hotel generally clean and well presented. Good breakfast. Bedroom clean and well equipped BUT bed very poor. Sat on bed and mattress so poor that hit base of bed.Felt base when turned over in the night which disturbed sleep. Mattress also too big for the base. Hard pillows and no other choice. No spare blankets. Bed really let the hotel down and spoilt our stay - comfortable bed is a fundamental and surprised a hotel like this has such poor beds. Car park expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel in need of raising it's standards

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Facilities
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Great location for eating out
Hotel looks great, has good facilities but is lacking in cleanliness. We had a good sized room but could feel every spring in the mattress. They came to replace it and when stripping the bed revealed all its dirty secrets, it was awful! They took it away but had no replacement, so we moved rooms. Bed was much better but bathroom had many hairs laying around and shower drainage was backing up. Overall, I would look else where when staying in Southampton again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Lovely Hotel, Ideally located.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: very clean room with a very large bed and a sea view. very nice breakfast. lovely swimming pool.
Cons: Some items in the bathroom are beginning to look tired (metal fittings in the bathroom, tile grouting discolored, shower curtain) and could be renewed
Location: WestQuay Watermark entertainment and food complex Southampton walls and bargate Cruise ships and IOW ferry Parks Ikea
Nicely presented Hotel with great facilities and friendly staff. Ideally located to enjoy the new WestQuay Watermark entertainment and food complex and vibrant nightlife of Southampton. very clean room with a very large bed and a sea view. very nice breakfast. lovely swimming pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Lovely hotel close to facilities

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here but my only qualm would be the queue at breakfast and the fact they were either understaffed or weren't expecting that many people at once. Other than that it was a lovely hotel and very close to all the thzings Southampton has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Harbour

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Great hotel in an excellent position close to Southampton city centre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, lovely rooms and swimming pool.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The pool, the location and the customer service.
Cons: The hotel seemed understaffed- staff in the restaurant and on the front desk always seemed to be very busy and there were queues of up to 4 guests.
The rooms were really nice as was the swimming pool. The staff were lovely and did all they could to help me including luggage storage, calling an hour after check in to ensure all was okay. The hotel seemed understaffed- staff in the restaurant and on the front desk always seemed to be very busy and there were queues of up to 4 guests at reception.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing hotel, friendly staff

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Really disappointing as the Brighton Hilton is a different class, I booked Southampton as an anniversary treat. The room had a door leading to the next door room meaning we could hear full conversations of our neighbours, not very private or relaxing. The pool was cold and dirty, the drains actually smelt bad by the sauna and steam rooms. The food also was was again disappointing, it came out looking like it had sat for 10mins before being brought out and the nachos, fajitas and salsa had this strange tomato sauce, like out of a packet, which tasted like cheep ketchup. Beautiful building though and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Nice rooms interesting building but

Posted Mar 14, 2017
This is a nice hotel in a good location with parking . It's in an interesting building with views of the old city walls. Rooms are comfortable and clean However - no alarm call which meant me running late but could be disastrous if having to board a boat . Food awful , I ordered £14 fish and chips , chips were undercooked and the fish was dried up yet by crispy which would indicate it was precooked and kept warm in an oven for too long - yuk