Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

A pleasant place to stay on route to a cruise.

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: The convenient location for the cruise terminal, pleasantly appointed and clean room with lovely views and a fine dinner.
Cons: There really needs to be a good look at the breakfast service and it really does need improvement in terms of service and variety.
Location: Very handy indeed with the cruise terminal, the old town and the new almost on the doorstep.
The hotel is in a great position to enjoy the harbour as well as the town. It is fine for a short stay and the room (deluxe) was very spacious and with a superb view over the harbour. Dinner service was excellent and the food a delight but was very surprised to see almost the same menu two nights running. The breakfast was very disappointing given the rating of this hotel. It was lacking in variety and imagination and the service was really not up to standard especially with the seemingly inevitable 'self toasting' device that seemed to take forever and there was only one of them which led to queues. So, in summary, a pleasant place to spend a night or two but not somewhere for a longer stay despite it being so well appointed and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and very convenient

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Cons: Cost of parking was a little pricey
the hotel was easy to find and very clean, staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce Hotel, Friendly Staff

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Stayed here a few times whilst working nearby. A great hotel, friendly staff and easy room service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Brilliant pool and spa facilites, but dated room

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Fabulous swimming pool and spa, but can get very busy with regular members.
Cons: The rooms are very poorly designed and old fashioned, needs updating. I paid for what was supposed to be a "luxury" room and it was very standard.
Location: Ideal for anyone going on a cruise as the cruise terminals are close by. West Quay shopping mall is just across the car park
Stayed in the Grand Harbour mainly for the good reviews of the leisure club and spa, there is a good size pool, gym and beauty salon. Reception was friendly and lobby was lovely with Christmas decorations. However, the room we paid for was supposedly a "luxury room" and was nowhere near as nice as we expected for the extra cost, it was more like a standard room at the Holiday Inn hotel across the road and nothing special. Decor was very dated and dull. We stayed at this hotel for the location as we were attending a concert at The Engine Rooms music venue which is just down the road. Typical that the Premier Inn West Quay hotel is just across the car park nearby has much better reviews, so next time I go to Southampton I think I will stay there and just get a day spa deal for the Grand Harbour rather than pay more to sleep there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Location: Hotel was very good and accommodation and within easy walking distance of the City. Highly recommended.
The extra narrative which I was going to print was to just to say that we are familiar with Southampton as we live in Alverstoke. ~The stay was to meet up with our American relatives.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by james

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Slow check in. Kept waiting for an hour before room was ready. Could only watch tv if sat on bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
This is a convenient location for the cruise terminal.. Room was spacious and clean. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by eric from Manchester

Visit pre cruise halloween

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Dinner on night of 31st October was awful - we ordered fish and chips. The chips were undercooked so we asked for more. They took so long to come we had eaten the fish so couldn't eat the chips! My husband found a hair near his place setting he is bald! And the head waiter was unconcerned. The maitre do adjusted the bill but we should not have been charged. We would stay again for a future cruise but definitely not for dinner! Eric Wagman
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for cruise embarkation

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Reception staff very helpful. Room very comfortable, although some routine maintenance issues not attended to - eg water flowing from sink
Cons: Bar area not hospitable and needed clearing when we attended, early Sunday evening
Location: Close to West Quay shopping
OK and would use it again, although might try other hotels in area for comparison purposes and which might be less pricey
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by carl from wakefield

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
The over all impression was very poor basic cleaning standards where not met and the shower did not work even the standard of toilet roll was poor. Also had poor lighting very disappointed and will not return expected better