Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hazel from London

Perfect hotel!

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in a lovely area. Food amazing, like a 5 star restaurant! Great choice of real ales at the bar in a traditional friendly pub setting. Best thing though was the fatastic service: genuine, friendly staff who would do anything to help. Perfect holiday; would recommend unreservedly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Bromwich

A little out of the way, but worth the effort.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Friendly place, filled with characters in bar, food good. Beer good, seems popular with the locals. Would go back if in the area. Room clean and good sized. No signal for mobiles though, but to be fair I was offered the use of the land line to let my wife know I was ok. This place has a personal touch which you don't get with bigger concerns.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Goodwood Accomodation

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Quiet location on edge of small rural Sussex village. Great pub accommodation and fantastic food. Well supported by friendly locals in bar and restaurant. Short drive to Goodwood for Revival or Festival of Speed. Friendly staff with nice atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Liss

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Only a quick overnight stop on a long drive, but nice atmosphere and good beer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bideford

Great Village Pub

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location, character, friendly staff and cliental.
Location: Country lane, close to village green and wonderful cricket pitch.
We were delighted by its location in a country lane, yards from the village green. We received an immediate welcome and settled in immediately. Meals not normally available in a pub on a Sunday evening but Simon the proprietor made sure we did not go hungry. We enjoyed a delicious meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Real homely experience

Posted Sep 5, 2014
We travelled down from yorkshire never been south before , we came across a real quaint little Inn what a find. We were greeted with a friendly face and a smile , taken to our room oh my word it was perfection . So pritty and beautiful and clean , after settling in we went down for evening meal that was a real treat in its self menu perfect meal excellent staff were amazing nothing was to much trouble , after a really relaxing meal retired for the night fabulous bed and woke up refreshed , breakfast was just the same as evening meal excellent once again nothing to much trouble the chief came and chatted and pampered to our every need we were here to visit family and celebrate my 50th birthday and we couldn't have picked any were better , total value for money would highly recommend a visit we will be going back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by J Howlett from MK UK

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels
Great little place out in the wilds.Very friendly. great service, nice rooms. Food was super and resonably priced as was the room rate. Looking forward to staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Weekend away

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Friendly staff. Comfortable room with very comfy bed. Perfect for what we wanted
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Powell from Wales

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels
Very comfortable we thought abit remote but turned out very convenient for locations we were visiting. The staff were friendly and service was good.The menu was not to our taste a few more basic meals maybe added but thats personal taste.Bit more information could be provided as to restaurant times and meals offered. We would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Northamptonshire

A delightful country pub with a warm welcome

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and not pretentious
Cons: Not an easy fix, but the bath could have been chosen better for showering
Location: Very, very rural, but beautiful roads nearby for walking, cycling or driving. And Goodwood, less than half an hour away
We needed somewhere to stay prior to the Goodwood Festival of Speed, and chose this Inn based on other reviews. It suited our preferences perfectly! The room (the Goodwood Suite, appropriately) was large, clean, comfortable and recently refurbished, with everything one might need for a one or two night stay. Car parking is on the road outside, but due to its rural location, hardly anything drives past! Our only criticism of the room is that the bath has a very rounded bottom to it, which makes it tricky to stay upright when showering. The selection of teas and coffees were better than the norm, and the bed was comfortable (if a little creaky when you moved). The pub was a lovely place for dinner and breakfast. A choice of 6 real ales (only one of which I'd heard of before) and two ciders was a real treat. The menu was ambitious - maybe a little too ambitious, because most people we saw opted for the traditional steak and chips! Feeling adventurous, I chose duck with wild rice - the duck was beautiful, but I wasn't a fan of the rice. Still, the deserts made up for it! Breakfast was another treat, using better than usual ingredients - bacon and sausages sourced from the local butcher and the deepest yellow eggs, multigrain bread for the toast, and Dorset Cereals' muesli. The owner and staff were extremely friendly, making us feel like locals. All in all, it's well worth heading off the beaten track if you're looking for somewhere to stay in the area.