Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from haylibg island

Nice hotel, lovely food. Very nice comfy bed

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: We were walking from Alton to QECP, so it was ideal for a half way over night stop
A very welcoming hotel. Very friendly staff. Lovely room. Great food.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
It was necessary to cancel at the last minute due to breakdown. The hotel agreed to change the date at no extra cost which was greatly appreciated. We arrived at approximately 8 pm and shown to our room. It was an excellent room with a very comfortable bed, spotless with a delightful view over open countryside. The en suit was excellent and very clean. The proprietor had booked us in for a meal. An excellent menu with good variety and the food was of. A high standard. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was superb. We greatly enjoyed our brief visit.
5 out of 5
by Steve from Bristol

I'll be back!

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
From the moment we,arrived we received a warm welcome and we felt 'part of the family' from that moment on - so much so we booked an extra night; something we have never done before. This pub I consider to be a little gem. The food, staff & selection of beers are all fantastic. Had some great discussions with the locals as well, this is a real village pub, well used for good reason. Rooms were large (we had to move for the extra night) and comfy. Has a beer garden for the right weather and there are plenty of local walks to work up an appetite for dinner or to walk off the hearty breakfast. Thoroughly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
It was fine at a useful point on our itinerary. Charming people good food. I have said it already.
5 out of 5
by Jan from Woodland Hills, CA USA

Wonderful Stay

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
It's a bit off the beaten path but the hotel and staff are wonderful. Clean and quiet room and bathroom. Cooked to order breakfast each day. Staff very welcoming and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Ashley from Holmfirth

Special!

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Great British Pub with exquisite food and superb rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Cosy pub and comfy bed

Posted Jan 13, 2015
The food here is amazing and it's such a cosy warm pub.the staff and locals are really welcoming and friendly.the room was clean and bed extremely comfy. They're happy to cook you what want for breakfast. Lovely stay. Thank you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Lovely pub out in the countryside

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere and lovely food
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just a brief call to visit relative - way out in the countryside but lovely location in the daylight!
Turned up on a dark night and the staff were fantastic - even thought the owner was away on a tour to Belgium. Found me a room (misunderstanding on my part about the reservation). A bit tricky to find in the the dark but very warm and friendly inside. Room lovely.
5 out of 5
by Darran from Kilsby

Excellent

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Great standard of room. Great cooked breakfast.
5 out of 5
by jonathan from petersfield

short stay

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely location and lovely room. Will be back !