Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Weekend away

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Great pub in beautiful countryside. Enjoyed the beer festival and bands playing over the weekend.
5 out of 5
by Mr N C from Essex

A Great Little Treasure of a Pub to Stay and Dine

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
A great place to stay excellent comfy rooms well appointed. The food served at breakfast is a pure treat. Evening meals can be selected from a good choice menu reasonably priced. We stayed 2 nights and I have to say for pub the food was simply excellent and great value I cant fault anything about our stay.
4 out of 5
by Lauren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark from Haywards Heath

Get away to the country.

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
The pub was very busy on Friday night, our arrival. the staff still managed to find time to sort our room out for us and find a table for us to eat. A live band made the evening even better. Great place, good food and lovely staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable, good value B&B

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom. Very plush and comfortable bed. Spacious shower cubicle with plenty of hot water. Lots of lovely extras like bottled water, chocolates, filter coffee machine and even a decanter with a couple of nips of whisky. 10 out of 10 for the Full English breakfast - one of the best I've ever had. Was woken at 7am by the people in the next room getting up and ready and again at 7:30 by the beer delivery - but apart from that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex

Lovely stay in a country location

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Stayed for a night whilst visiting friends in the area. Fantastic range of beer behind the bar and superb full English breakfast. Staff welcoming and friendly.
5 out of 5
by hazel from london

a wonderful stay!

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice pub and bed and breakfast. Rooms very clean and roomy. Pub was a very nice country pub with friendly staff. The dinner and breakfast was fantastic. Will definitely visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice hotel in the middle of nowhere.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed. Clean room. Spotless bathroom.
Cons: A grab rail by the bath for people who are less able would be useful.
Location: Miles from anywhere.
Comfortable room. Excellent chef. Run by nice people.
5 out of 5
by mark from Norwich

Hidden Gem

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Bit off the beaten track but well worth making the diversion for. Staff very hospitable. Room clean with welcoming chocolates and a decanter with a decent measure of whiskey. Bed comfortable and bathroom stocked with necessities. Food first class and a good selection of beers and ales. Ideal for business to unwind (good wifi all over). Good for romantic ramblers/cyclists.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Telford, Shropshire

Excellent country pub and B&B

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Everything, even the toilet roll holder could be reached without yoga exercises
Cons: Not that I know
Location: Winchester is not far away, nor is Portsmouth, Gilbert White centre and Jane Austin's House only few miles away. Good walks in the area
Room was excellent, breakfast even more so. Sorry that we were at a friend's party and so couldn't try the evening meal. Mary Rose at Portsmouth is on "to do" list and would certainly head for Hawley again