Ratings based on 922 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

great hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Food and Bar facilities,
Cons: nothing really
This Hotel and staff far exceeded our expectations for an overnight stay before catching the ferry. Easy Free Parking, reception was excellent, bar and food in the evening was excellent as was the breakfast the following morning. All staff were courteous and tables at breakfast were cleared quickly. We would certainly stay again and have no hesitation in recommending this Holiday Inn to others. All this said you have to comment based on where you are staying and what you are paying !!!! and taking that into account this was Five star !!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Nice Hotel In Convenient Location

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Location, spacious room, clean, nice bathroom facilities, free car parking, breakfast included.
Cons: Breakfast was disappointing. Poorly laid out, basic food selection, lukewarm & staff were a little disinterested.
Location: Well located, about 10-15mins drive into the centre of Southampton.
Plenty of parking spaces available in the hotel's free car park. Check in was seamless. The room was a nice size, very clean with a reasonable tv, tea/coffee making facilities, free wifi & good bathroom facilities. The hotel seemed quite full but there was no noise during the night & the rooms seemed quite well insulated from external sounds. Useful information in the lifts showed the busiest times at breakfast. Breakfast was included but was a little bit of an after thought in truth - cutlery wasn't readily available, the staff were somewhat disinterested & the food selection was pretty basic with the hot food being lukewarm. Really this was the only slight let down of our stay. Checkout was very straightforward. Overall the hotel is well located, about 10-15mins drive into the centre of Southampton, it was importantly clean & had more than suitable facilities for a short stay. A bit more attention to breakfast would have rounded it off nicely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

Good stay but there is room for improvement

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros : large campus like plot and hotel. Ample parking. Nothing much to do in the hotel but 300 metres down the road at the Hedges End Circle there is a host of restaurants and shopping (TK Max, M&S, Sainsbury’s, Mac, Pizza Hut, Burger King etc) Cons : The hotel can get very crowded during breakfast. The breakfast is very limited and same everyday. We were there for 6 days but no variation. The breakfast layout is very cramped and HH must do something about this. The wifi is quite sub standard and unreliable which was a real dampner. Its away from the City Centre West Quay as well as from the Southampton University. You can’t do anything without wheels and have to order a taxi. Had an average stay but would look for something better next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Too expensive for a box room.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
The cost was horrendous (£160.00) for 1 night which included a small dog. Small box room which was very clean and tidy. But still small. The hard pressed staff did their best but could not cope with the evening rush. Ordering an evening meal was a nightmare one person behind the bar tried to take order's for drinks and for food, when I joined the que there were 12 people in it! And as for it being an 'Express' hotel - forget it. Not recommended expensive and slow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from plymouth

Very quiet

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Clean, good food, modern, helpful staff
Cons: Family rooms should have 2 single beds instead of double sofa bed. During hot weather put sheets on bed and leave duvet if people want to use them.
Location: Close to Marwell zoo & Peppa Pig World
The room was spotless and the breakfast was lovely. The hotel is situated in a very quiet location which was helpful as we needed the windows open as it was so hot. Although there was a pull out sofa bed I think family rooms need to have the option for a triple room as my 13 year old had to share the sofa with her 5 year old sister who wriggles. The room wasn't large which wasn't a problem as it was designed well but the fact there was no air conditioning or fans & there were duvets on the bed made for an extremely uncomfortable hot night. The beds were comfortable though & as we literally turned up went to bed and left first thing it wasn't really a problem but I wouldn't have been comfortable staying longer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Too cramped and no air conditioning. Nice looking hotel frombthe outside but the rooms are far to small and what was described as a family room turned out to be an additional sofa bed and a cat with no bedding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

On an industrial estate near The Ageas Bowl

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Did the job
Cons: Ability to register a cc at the bar
Location: OK ..good for the Ageas Bowl
Busy hotel with many kids staying with parents ...possibly on the way to the airport
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Solingen

Ein typisches Durchgangshotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Relativ gute Erreichbarkeit, 24-Stunden Check-In, Kissenwahl
Cons: Frühstück "aus der Retorte" muss nicht mehr sein; relativ hohe Nebenkosten (Getränke); Beschilderung von der Autobahn aus
Location: Nahe an Autobahn und viel befahrener Landstraße
Die Nähe zum Flughafen, der Cricketanlage und zu den Fähren bedingen das Publikum und anscheinend den Selbstanspruch - eine Nacht scheint die typische Aufenthaltsdauer zu sein. Und dafür (und nicht mehr) ist das Hotel ausreichend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
It's a nice place to stay. I will come back next time.
4 out of 5
by Lesley from Ashford Middlesex

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was fine except for breakfast was a bit of a free for all, really busy in a very small space, that was the only negative really.