Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK.

Box on an industrial estate.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Price and location, sort of.
Cons: Restaurant, baths, breakfasts and beds.
Location: The Ship Inn, excellent pub food, five minutes by car.
Just as the title says, if price is your driver, give it a whirl. Lenny's places are far superior.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Satisfied overall experience Satisfied overall experience Satisfied overall experience Satisfied overall experience Satisfied overall experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2015 by Greg, Hotel Management
On behalf of the whole team and myself thank you for taking the time for leaving such positive feed back about the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West we look forward to welcoming you back as soon as you are back in Southampton. Kind Regards Greg Duty Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Ok needs a few improvements

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Quiet area with lovely view of the horses in the field next to the hotel.
Cons: Food quality and quantity. Staff with a good knowledge of the area and service they can provide.
Location: Beaulieu is nearby and certainly a lovely place to visit.
We booked a family room for 4, but unfortunately it was to small. The double bed was fine, but the pull out bed for the children was dangerous with metal springs protruding along both sides of the bed. I had to put towels over the sharp metal items to cover it as we had already walked into it. The pull-out bed was so long, it obstructed the window, so there was no access to look out and or open the window. It also obstructed access to the desk in so far as the chair was jammed between the desk and bed. They only provided towels, tea/coffee facilities for 2 people for each night that we stayed so we had to request the additional 2 items each time. The room and hotel areas were very clean and staff were helpful. However some of the staff including the receptionist were temporary and brought in from other hotels so were not familiar with the Southampton area and not able to give us advice on how to get to the town centre etc. The breakfast was lacking in food. They brought out 6 croissants and 12 mini muffins every 20 minutes not nearly enough for the residents that occupied the room. The scrambled eggs were not fresh but probably powdered as they were dry and crumbly and the sausage was inedible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2015 by Paul M , Hotel Management
Dear Anna I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and i am pleased that you found our hotel clean and the staff friendly. I would like to take this time to apologise for our shortfalls this time, but would like to welcome you back in the future so we can try and rectify some of the issues you had had and make your next stay with us more positive. Kind Regards Paul M Duty Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford on avon

lovely hotel near the motorway & out of the town,

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: convenient
Cons: nothing
Location: not far out of the town 7 the marinas
Staff were so helpful, could not do enough to assist us, we had a surprise party to go to for our daughter & we had a large chocolate cake for the next day, the staff put in their fridge overnight which we were very grateful for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brighton, england

Theatre break weekend

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Staff very friendly and room comfortable.
Location: We went to The Mayflower Theatre, Beauleigh, and Southampton shopping, also is convenient for cruise ships.
Very convenient for exploring Southampton and the New Forest area. Hotel staff very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by Joshua, Hotel Management
Dear Lesley, Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. I'm very pleased that you took the time to review as well as the fact that you found us convenient for your local travels in the area. I am delighted that you found the staff very helpful, I can only hope that you also found the hotel and staff just as clean and friendly as you did helpful and convenient. I hope you decide to stay with us again soon and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, Regards, Joshua Guest Service Assistant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bernard from Bexhill-not-Sea

Good value for money

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Good value for money with breakfast included. My only criticism is I found the bed very bouncy, probably not very good quality so not a particularly good nights sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

one of the best!Quiet easy to find.

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Location perfect, staff lovely despite being slightly flustered at breakfast which is slightly manic! Facilities great, everything we needed.
Cons: temp control on top floor, whilst nice and quiet it was SO unbelievably hot in the room and corridor, and the bed was way too soft!
Location: Great location very close to a big shopping centre and Peppa pig world/poultons park. easy to find.Close to the New Forest.
Came up for two nights to visit Peppa Pig world!Had one room for 2 adults and 2 toddlers, lots of space considering and lovely and clean. Very quiet room when window closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Z from London

A great hotel for Peppa Pig world

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here because its only 5 mins drive from Peppa Pig World, and 10 mins drive from Southampton city center. Despite its located beside a motor way junction, I could barely hear any noise in my room. The hotel had prepared a sofa bed beside the double bed for our baby. The complementary breakfast buffet was very proper, comes with sausages, eggs, baked beans, cereal, all kinds of hot drinks, juice, toast, fruits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Philippe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels